12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this coffee for my boyfriend and he liked it a lot. It was a very enthusiastic response. I also added brown sugar after I read Chef Kate's review and I think it worked well. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Allyx October 23, 2008

I made this exactly as stated, using fresh ground French roast. I tasted it hot and loved it, but really wanted to try it iced. FABULOUS! I do like my coffee sweetened so added some dark brown sugar. I'm sipping it now and loving it. I bet it would also be fabulous as the coffee part of a latte breve. Many thanks, Engrossed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kate July 23, 2008

A very nice way to start the day! I used my coffeemaker and decaf coffee. With a touch of sugar, this was mmm-mmm good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 June 30, 2008

I tried this for ZWT and since it was a hot afternoon, I iced it. I think realbirdlady was right about the spices being too pronounced cold, but I have it in a stack to try hot on a cool morning. I bet it will really hit the spot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan June 26, 2008

I just had to try this! This went with Crispy French Toast, and what a special treat it was! I never knew about cardamom pods (could be used for coffee) but I am glad I found out! The cloves were certainly not overly pronounced in the taste and the cinnamon was perfect. I used my coffeemaker and now that was the yummy part of the day! Thanks Engrossed! Made for *ZWT4* June 2008.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm June 26, 2008

Engrossed I enjoyed this flavorful coffee very much. I made Hawian Kona Coffee, very strong. Then I put the coffee and spices in a pot and simmered for 10 minutes. It was absolutely wonderful, the spices blended perfectly, nothing was overpowering, but I was able to taste each spice. I added a little sugar and didn't even miss the milk. Thanks for sharing, I'll be making this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato June 25, 2008

An easy way to get an exotic coffee flavor. I just used a drip coffee maker, with our usual amount of coffee for 2 cups of water. I put the spices in the pot, and let them steep about 10 minutes. I did try the last cup iced, which was not so good, the spices are a little harsh.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
realbirdlady June 25, 2008

Well, you knew that I was going to fall completely in love with this. I made in the pot because I just couldn't wait for the 20 mins to do it the other way. The cinnamon stick was transfered from the pot to my cup (after rinsing,lol). The cloves are identifiable but not over strong at all. Thanks Engrossed for a lovely cup. Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia June 25, 2008

I used my automatic coffee make for this and put the spices in with the coffee. I used 2 1/2 tbsp of coffee. I also added a tiny bit of spenda. The flavors are very mellow. Thanks for a nice coffee break this afternoon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susie cooks June 23, 2008

Very good flavor. The coffee was just a little weak for our tastes. We made in the automatic coffee maker so next time will either use more coffee or try the steeping method. Also, I did not have cardamom pods...only powder. I used about 1/2 tsp of that and just threw it in with the other stuff and it worked fine. BF said it reminded him of tea, I guess because of the spices and the fact that it was weaker than our usual coffee. We sweetened it with just a bit of Splenda and enjoyed it very much. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
little_wing June 23, 2008
Mombasa Coffee