18 Reviews

Very good recipe!!!! I added 1.5 tbsp garlic powder, 3 more tblsps hot red chile powder and a tblsp Mexican oregano. Very good!!! A must try!!! Also very easy!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susy Q June 06, 2010

I tried this recipe and is very easy to make. I bought some of my dried peppers and added a bit of chocolate that I bought in the Mexican Candy section at http://www.alegrofoods.com/mexicancandy.aspx . When the mole is too spicy or hot you can add a bit of chocolate and I perfer to add the Chocolate Ibarra.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ar1213 August 06, 2013

Not quite what I was expecting. This dish was OK, but I wanted a more traditional mole dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris Reynolds November 28, 2012

Not quite what we were expecting from a mole dish, but it was good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ursie639 June 03, 2011

I thought this was fabulous and very easy but it got a thumbs down from my 2 teenaged boys and DH. I didn't change any ingredients but made it stovetop. Served on rice but if I made it again I think I'd go with tortillas for rollups.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheepdoc February 02, 2011

Wow! I've never tried a Mole dish before, but they always intrigued me. I made this last week, and it's my new favorite. I only used half the recommended chili powder, since we're a family of spice wimps. It was nice & simple to put together. I started with frozen chicken, then cooked it on high for 4 hours and low for about 2 more. Before serving, I cut & shredded the chicken, which was nice for my toddler, plus it helped it soak up the delicious, tangy sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jamie B March 29, 2010

Very good- a simple mole that I made with things I had on hand. I made it on the stovetop and took tips from another reviewer who did the same--doubled the sauce (except the salt). I used fresh cubed tomatoes, which worked fine. Cubed the chicken, cooked in fry pan, removed to a bowl. Added everything else and cooked covered for 10 min or so then added the chicken back in and simmered 20-30 min. Added some cornstarch to thicken and simmered uncovered for 10-15 min. We thought it was a little sweet, so we'll cut the honey in half next time. Otherwise very good- tangy, mildly spicy...mmm

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clarely March 21, 2010

Very flavorful chicken recipe and so easy to make in the crock pot. I followed a suggestion in one of the reviews and drained my canned tomatoes and had plenty of thick sauce for the chicken. Just wondering where the poblano in the title comes in? I think next time I make this, I will add some poblano peppers to the crock pot. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarolAT January 24, 2009

Very good! I don't have a crock pot so I made this on the stove. I browned both sides of the chicken, set it aside and doubled all the other ingredients for the sauce. I simmered the sauce for 30 minutes and pureed with a hand blender and returned the chicken to the pot for 15 mins. I shredded the cooked chicken and served it with the sauce over a rice and corn mixture. Wonderful! Leftovers were good the next day too! Thanks so much for posting! update: I have a slow cooker now and tried this again also adding 1/4 cup peanut butter (at the suggestion of another reviewer). Chicken shredded easily, the flavor was even better and it was so much easier with the slow cooker.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vino p.o. prn February 12, 2008
Mole Poblano Chicken