Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mole Pinto Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mole Pinto Beans

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on April 06, 2011

      So quick and easy to put together. I didn`t use the 1 1/2 cup broth at the end. This did make a lot of mole. This would be great served over rice. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2011

      This is a really great vegetarian Mexican dish! It has a rich, complex flavor and hearty texture. I used canned tomatoes and accidentally used carob instead of cocoa powder (but then added 1/2 tablespoon of cocoa too when I discovered the mistake). Like a previous reviewer, I used polenta instead of masa harina, and I omitted the anise because I didn't have any on hand. I served this on a tortilla with tomatoes, avocados, vegan cheese, and vegan sour cream. The recipe made a LOT, but it was even better the next day and the next. Made for Veg*an Swap.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2011

      I roasted the dry spices first then added to a pot of canned Westbrae organic pinto beans-rinsed and drained. Brought almost to a boil, partially covered and simmered on very low heat for 1 hour. Served with a spoonful of baked brown rice and a simple salad on the side. I think this would equally well substituting black or pink beans, too. Very easy! Don't let the long list of ingredients stop you. Thank you, Chef Kate! Reviewed for Veg Tag February.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2006

      Oh, yumm. This is fantastic. It got a really big "MMmmm" from hubby on the first bite. I love the sauce for this and it is amazing how quick and easy it is to make. I used home-made pintos that I keep on hand in the freezer. Only subs I made was to use corn meal instead of masa harina. Thank you so much for this recipe, we will make it again for sure.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2006

      First time I made Mole and it was great. I also made some changes because I couln't find all these ingredients here in Greece. I used barlotti beans in place of the Pinto, cocoa powder instead of chocolate, flour instead of masa harina and no ground aniseed. I lvoved it. Mexican food was always one of my favorites! Thanks, Kate!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2006

      This is an extremely fast mole recipe. I've made another mole recipe once called Mole Poblano de Pollo and it took me all day! The recipe for Kate's Pinto Beans (I had to substitute red kidney beans because our supermarkets don't sell pinto beans) is as I said extremely quick for a mole, but if you have the time I suggest that you cook it longer (you may need to add a little water then), as its flavour will certainly improve further by that. I used the beans as a filling for wraps with sour cream and cheddar cheese. After having made two mole recipes I have to admit that eating mole once in awhile is ok for me, but I am just not a big mole fan. However, if you love moles you should certainly try this one because you will hardly find one that takes less time than this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2014

      This recipe was very easy to make, and I personally am a fan of Pinot Beans and Mole so I was really excited to make this dish. Pros: easy, fast, healthy and the left overs have made tasty "street" type tacos for luch. Cons: next time I make it I will alter the seasoning and maybe start with adding more chocolate. For myself I would like a little more WOW factor, but overall a very cheap and easy staple to keep throughout the week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2011

      This was fantastically easy! I don't recall ever making mole before, I'm amazed at how closely this resembles mole sauces I have tasted in restaurants. This does make a large pot, but I'm happy for the leftovers, even to have like 'beans on toast' will be great. Tonight we're having with rice and salad. I didn't bother with the last 1 1/2 cups of broth, I found the liquid from my tin of tomatoes was plenty, and I was slightly short on the beans (2 tins = about 3 3/4 cups). I had to skip the green pepper because I didn't have one on hand, I'm sure that would be a great addition. Will make again, thanks Chef Kate!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2011

      Flavorful and delicious bean dish, and very quick and easy to make. I love the added veggies in the sauce with the tomatoes and the green pepper. This makes a lot - I think we're going to get at least 8 servings out of this by the time we've enjoyed it all :) I've served it a couple of different ways so far, including with rice and pico de gallo and as a taco filling. Thanks for sharing! Veggie Swap 40

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2010

      Good, but for me I think it needs more spices. I very much liked the richness of the chocolate (I used cocoa powder) and the toasty sesame seeds. However, I thought the use of spices was pretty conservative, and though I added a bit extra, next time I think I'll basically double everything, add cumin, saute the spices in a little oil to bring out more flavor, and saute some diced onion while I'm at it. To be fair, I couldn't find any powdered ancho chiles at the grocery store, so I used chili powder, which I'm sure cheated me out of a lot of flavor. :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2009

      Excellent dish. The kids gobbled it and for a bean recipe, that's something. Like Aunt Cookie, I thought mine was too liquid so I took the lid off for about 15 more minutes to let it thicken. Worked great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

      This was a very tasty bean recipe, and it was pretty quick to make. I served it with cornbread, and dinner was a hit. I thought the beans were a bit too saucy after the 20 minutes cooking time, so I took off the lid and let it simmer down for a while. The results were maybe a little too bitter for my taste (I think that is just the nature of mole; no fault of the recipe), but the other diner gave it 5 stars. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2006

      This was very easy to make. Mole is a new experience for me, so I didn't make any substitutions except for regular chili powder. I served this in bowls with cheddar cheese and mixed with taco meat in tacos. It does have a complex flavor, as other reviewers have said, and seems to get better with time. I liked it and would make it again, except my family (with the exception of my 3 year bean addict!) would not even try it. Thanks for sharing this one though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2006

      Yummy. This quick mole really did have the characteristic complexity of the Mexican sauce. Being in the States, I managed to include all of the ingredients stated and added 1 tablepoon of pepitas as well. At the end of 20 minuts of cooking, the mole tasted quite raw to me. Flavors were all there but had not merged into a single spectacuar flavor. Cooked an additional 20 minutes and that seemed to take care of it though I then had problems with the beans over cooking. Next time, I think I will simmer the sauce for 10 minutes before adding the beans and broth. Thanks Chef Kate!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2006

      Like Mrs. B, I had to make a few minor changes to accommodate the lack of availability of some ingredients here in Europe. My changes were to use Barlotti beans in place of the Pinto, smoked paprika (1 tablespoonful) instead of the ancho chili powder and polenta in place of the masa harina. Having said that, let me say how wonderful this recipe is and how quick it is to put together! I had soaked my beans all last night and cooked them this morning. I finalized the recipe a couple of hours ago and can not believe the complexity and depth of flavour these beans have for such little work! Love the blender trick. I used cocoa powder instead of chocolate and I know we will be enjoying these with our Mexican Dinner in a couple of hours - if there are any left - I keep 'trying' them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2006

      The sauce is so good I reckon I could become addicted. Lukily I made a bit batch and have put some in the freezer. The only INTENTIONAL change was to use less chile powder than specified and make up the difference with powdered cumin (I love cumin). But I'm afraid I then had to make a number of substitutions due to ingredients (or lack of ingredients) on hand. I think I kept sufficiently close to the spirit of the recipe to give it a meaningful review. Chef Kate, I hope you agree the following were reasonable subs! Linseeds did the job of sesame seeds; masa harina became polenta; ground aniseed became dried fennel and barlotti beans subbed for the pinto beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2006

      Awesome! This smelled divine before I even started the blender! AMAZING! LOVED them! Will make again and again! Thank you Chef Kate for this awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mole Pinto Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (228 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 275.8
     
    Calories from Fat 52
    19%
    Total Fat 5.8 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 427.7 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.3 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 14.9 g
    59%
    Sugars 5.6 g
    22%
    Protein 14.3 g
    28%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites