17 Reviews

So quick and easy to put together. I didn`t use the 1 1/2 cup broth at the end. This did make a lot of mole. This would be great served over rice. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ April 06, 2011

This is a really great vegetarian Mexican dish! It has a rich, complex flavor and hearty texture. I used canned tomatoes and accidentally used carob instead of cocoa powder (but then added 1/2 tablespoon of cocoa too when I discovered the mistake). Like a previous reviewer, I used polenta instead of masa harina, and I omitted the anise because I didn't have any on hand. I served this on a tortilla with tomatoes, avocados, vegan cheese, and vegan sour cream. The recipe made a LOT, but it was even better the next day and the next. Made for Veg*an Swap.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Prose February 14, 2011

I roasted the dry spices first then added to a pot of canned Westbrae organic pinto beans-rinsed and drained. Brought almost to a boil, partially covered and simmered on very low heat for 1 hour. Served with a spoonful of baked brown rice and a simple salad on the side. I think this would equally well substituting black or pink beans, too. Very easy! Don't let the long list of ingredients stop you. Thank you, Chef Kate! Reviewed for Veg Tag February.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl February 04, 2011

Oh, yumm. This is fantastic. It got a really big "MMmmm" from hubby on the first bite. I love the sauce for this and it is amazing how quick and easy it is to make. I used home-made pintos that I keep on hand in the freezer. Only subs I made was to use corn meal instead of masa harina. Thank you so much for this recipe, we will make it again for sure.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VegSocialWorker November 04, 2006

First time I made Mole and it was great. I also made some changes because I couln't find all these ingredients here in Greece. I used barlotti beans in place of the Pinto, cocoa powder instead of chocolate, flour instead of masa harina and no ground aniseed. I lvoved it. Mexican food was always one of my favorites! Thanks, Kate!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katia July 19, 2006

This is an extremely fast mole recipe. I've made another mole recipe once called Mole Poblano de Pollo and it took me all day! The recipe for Kate's Pinto Beans (I had to substitute red kidney beans because our supermarkets don't sell pinto beans) is as I said extremely quick for a mole, but if you have the time I suggest that you cook it longer (you may need to add a little water then), as its flavour will certainly improve further by that. I used the beans as a filling for wraps with sour cream and cheddar cheese. After having made two mole recipes I have to admit that eating mole once in awhile is ok for me, but I am just not a big mole fan. However, if you love moles you should certainly try this one because you will hardly find one that takes less time than this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tigerduck July 14, 2006

This recipe was very easy to make, and I personally am a fan of Pinot Beans and Mole so I was really excited to make this dish. Pros: easy, fast, healthy and the left overs have made tasty "street" type tacos for luch. Cons: next time I make it I will alter the seasoning and maybe start with adding more chocolate. For myself I would like a little more WOW factor, but overall a very cheap and easy staple to keep throughout the week.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JewelzAnn June 10, 2014

This was fantastically easy! I don't recall ever making mole before, I'm amazed at how closely this resembles mole sauces I have tasted in restaurants. This does make a large pot, but I'm happy for the leftovers, even to have like 'beans on toast' will be great. Tonight we're having with rice and salad. I didn't bother with the last 1 1/2 cups of broth, I found the liquid from my tin of tomatoes was plenty, and I was slightly short on the beans (2 tins = about 3 3/4 cups). I had to skip the green pepper because I didn't have one on hand, I'm sure that would be a great addition. Will make again, thanks Chef Kate!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner December 06, 2011

Flavorful and delicious bean dish, and very quick and easy to make. I love the added veggies in the sauce with the tomatoes and the green pepper. This makes a lot - I think we're going to get at least 8 servings out of this by the time we've enjoyed it all :) I've served it a couple of different ways so far, including with rice and pico de gallo and as a taco filling. Thanks for sharing! Veggie Swap 40

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews November 14, 2011

Good, but for me I think it needs more spices. I very much liked the richness of the chocolate (I used cocoa powder) and the toasty sesame seeds. However, I thought the use of spices was pretty conservative, and though I added a bit extra, next time I think I'll basically double everything, add cumin, saute the spices in a little oil to bring out more flavor, and saute some diced onion while I'm at it. To be fair, I couldn't find any powdered ancho chiles at the grocery store, so I used chili powder, which I'm sure cheated me out of a lot of flavor. :(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Podkayne August 11, 2010
Mole Pinto Beans