Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mole (Mo-lay) Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mole (Mo-lay) Sauce

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on July 26, 2010

      This sauce is to die for! I made it with about a tbsp. of cocoa powder instead of the chocolate and I cooked chicken breast in it. Served with rice and peas it is a beautiful meal. I will definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2004

      This was my first experience making Mole sauce, and I must say that it turned out pretty well! I think the chocolate flavor was just a bit strong, so I would reduce that next time, but other than that I loved it! I served it in pork wraps with guacamole, cheese and sour cream. Thanks L! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2012

      Love it but some changes I made:
      First off, I made my own vegetable broth from organic carrots, onion, turnip and celery. This is much more flavorful base.
      I ground cumin seeds and cinnamon stick. I used quite abit more. I also put in a few dry thai chilis for heat.
      I strained the sauce before putting in the Dark Organic Chocolate.
      The sauce is going to go over grass fed meat wrapped in corn tortillas.
      The grass fed meat was cooked in crockpot in an array of seasonings to the point of shredding.
      Then I will top with shredded organice jack cheese and bake briefly in the oven.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2012

      This is SO good! I use Hershey's Dark Syrup at the end. I cook my chicken in the oven at 350 for about an hour, with Pam sprayed on it so it won't dry out. After the chicken is done I put it in this mole sauce. The chicken and sauce is then served over rice. Yummy to the max! I've been told my Mole Sauce is "the bomb!"

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2011

      Excellent. It's not absolutely perfect, but the taste is right. I used cocoa (almost 2 Tb) and put it through the blender when it was done cooking. I should have cooked it down further than I did, and used less salt, but it is very good and I think I will cook some chicken in the leftovers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2013

      Wow!!!! Really good. Served it over Squash and it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2012

      This was a wonderful sauce! I made as directed except for the chocolate - I used unsweetened chocolate and only used 1 oz instead of 2 oz as I didn't want to overpower it. And it's true... hang in their until the sauce has cooked and reduced. The flavor isn't at its full potential until then. I'm a salt nut, but I sparingly added salt (maybe 1/2 t) at the end and I wish I wouldn't have added that much. The other flavors compensate and are very rich and strong, so don't turn it into a big salt lick. I placed a dozen tamales in a baking dish, topped it with the cooked mole sauce, sprinkled a mex-blend cheese on top and baked for 10 minutes to heat. I served with a side of mexican rice and refried beans. Fabulous recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2012

      To die for mole recipe!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Throw away those drinking glasses full of mole sauce that you get at the supermarket. This is the one!!!!!
      you will not regret it except for short changing your collection of mole drinking glasses after you are done using the mole sauce. Haven't you collected enough of those mole glasses?????

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2012

      OK, I know this may sound strange, but to me, this recipe just didn't cut it, as-is.
      It was dull-ish.
      To really give this some richness....add
      2 tsp salt (approx)
      go a little heavier on the cumin and cinnamon
      *add 2tbsp of 'Smart Balance Peanut Butter' (or any other no-sugar-added peanut butter)
      I also added about a tbsp of honey.

      You wont be disappointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2012

      Loved the simplicity of this one, though a very exocitc flavor! It was my first time making or even tasting mole sauce! :) My husband and I really enjoyed it with chicken and quinoa. It was good on my broccoli too! I made a few tweaks...but probably the most important ones I did were at the end after tasting it first (and reading some other mole sauce recipes): I added 2 T of almond butter and 2 T of tomato paste. Really made it extra delicious!!! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2012

      Tried this recipe last night. I've never made a mole before this. Followed it exactly as written. Used as a sauce over pan fried pork chops. Far too sweet for my liking. Wife suggested picking up some ice cream to drizzle this over. She was joking, but probably was correct. I won't rate this recipe, so as not to skew the "likes" it has picked up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2011

    • on September 16, 2011

      It was pretty good. I added more garlic, used honey and about 2T sugar to mix in because I used bitter powder cocoa. It tasted wonderful over whole grain brown rice! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2011

      Hi, your recipe sounds lovely. Just one thing: it's not pronounced Mo-lay. It's more like Mol-eh

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2011

      Thanks for posting this .
      My DH and I went to an amazing Mexican restaurant last week and fell in love with the cheese enchiladas with mole sauce and salsa verde.
      We used your recipe and only change we made was cutting down on the chocolate by @ half.
      It was still very rich and plenty sweet for our taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2011

      I was excited to try this recipe, I have had mole' at a restaurant before and have made my own from a seasoning mix but wanted to make it from scratch. This is a good recipe, very easy to make. I used cocoa powder since I was out of chocolate but think I will use the dark chocolate next time. The mole' was good and was even better day 2 and 3. I warmed a corn tortilla, put a few tablespoons of shredded chicken and mole's on top. It was awesome, I will make this again and soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2011

      I had such high hopes. I followed the recipe exactly as printed with one exception..I strained my sauce before adding the chocolate, as the majority of moles that I've had were all smooth in texture. It looked great, but I would say that the flavor was merely average. The one thing that might have made this taste better was perhaps using a very high quality ground chili powder, but the typical run of the mill powder didn't fare very well, IMHO. Rating 4 stars only due to the fact of it's simplicity (otherwise would be 3 stars), but I won't make this one again. Will keep looking, but thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      This recipe is great! I am a new foodie and had never made a mole sauce before. In tasting this sauce you would never know how simple it was to make. I used Better than Bouillon veggie broth instead of chicken broth, as I am a vegetarian, and about a tablespoon of Carob powder in lieu of the dark chocolate, since I didn't have any handy. I also added about a little over a teaspoon of maple syrup to mellow out the saltiness. I served this over black bean and yam enchiladas and took it to a "hen party." All of the 50-something year old ladies raved over it! I thought that was quite the compliment, so kudos to this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      This recipe was amazing! I have had good mole and bad mole and this was definitely good. I didn't have hershey's dark so i used simi-sweet, but had to double it to get the taste I liked. Will try the dark next time. Thanks so much for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      I made this over the weekend and used it for enchiladas. Very tasty, but I would make one change next time. The semi-sweet chocolate made it a bit too sweet for my liking. Next time I would use unsweetened chocolate or cocoa powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mole (Mo-lay) Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (1426 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 356.5
     
    Calories from Fat 240
    67%
    Total Fat 26.7 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 8.7 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1239.0 mg
    51%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.5 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 7.0 g
    28%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 12.7 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes