22 Reviews

These were wonderful Leta. I used fresh ground ginger rather than powder and I am so glad I did! My entire family raved! I also quadrupled the recipe, but ended up with more like 12 dozen cookies rather than the 8 dozen I had anticipated. They were done in exactly 10 minutes (still slightly chewy, which is the way we like them). This recipe has inspired me to try a couple different things as well. If they work out as I expect, then I'll post the final recipe and credit you for the inspiration! Thank you for sharing this recipe Leta!!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cindy Lynn February 18, 2003

Bless you Leta!!! These were so simple and so yummy! I've been searching for a similar recipe to Einstein Bros. white chocolate ginger cookies and this fit the bill!!!! Just a tad bit more ginger and its a match! Obviously, this means I added white chocolate chunks to the recipe, but other than that and I made it as-is. I had to freeze them almost immediately...I ate 5 of them before the last batch was even out of the oven!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MackinacBride November 05, 2002

Wonderful cookies! I used butter flavor Crisco for the shortening. I didn't roll them in sugar but sprinkled sugar on them while they were cooling. The amount of spices were perfect. I scooped the cookies out with a small cookie scoop. I'm adding this recipe to my recipe box.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doods November 17, 2013

An old-fashioned (and delicious) cookie. I discovered this recipe in an old "Favorite Brand Name Recipe Cookbook." It was first printed by Brer Rabbit Molasses. I always double-check Food.com for reviews before trying anything out of cookbooks nowadays--glad to see so many five stars for this one. And I agree whole-heartedly. I couldn't stop eating them. Thanks, Leta for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers April 09, 2012

With a few changes, these turned out really great! I first found the recipe from allrecipes which used margarine instead of shortening and doubled up the spices, so that's how I made it. I also froze the dough for 2 days before using; someone said that helped, though I can't vouch *what* it helped or even *if*. I'd found myself with simply no time to finish making them when I initially started, so into the freezer they went. ;o) They were fantastic! I'll be back for more of these, Leta!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandi (From CA) March 14, 2009

Simply wonderful! The perfect soft and chewy gingersnap. I substituted vegetable oil for the shortening with perfect results when baked for 9 minutes @ 375.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedSoxInMD November 16, 2008

Well, I baked them for 9 minutes at 375 and they were burnt, crispy and flat as a pancake. My next batch I lowered the temperature of the oven and baked them not quite as long. They were a little chewy like I like them but still flat as a pancake. They actually fell through the cooling rack that I placed them on. The flavor was good but not a thick, chewy cookie that I was anticipating.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crazycook in PA November 02, 2008

I've never tried molasses sugar cookies until now. How awesome! I didn't have any shortening, so I used low fat butter, also subbing splenda for sugar. These smell amazing when baking and the taste lives up to expectation. I can see dipping these in chocolate, or adding chips like another reviewer mentioned. I ended up getting 32 cookies out of the batch. So tasty! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MechanicalJen March 29, 2008

Very, very nice. I love the fact that you can make a few of these at a time, too. I make them in the toaster oven!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheBurgerDude March 15, 2008

i loved these cookies ! I thought they were delicious, so delicious I made these instead of my regular gingerbread cookies this christmas

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rivas98349 December 22, 2007
Molasses Sugar Cookies