18 Reviews

I just made these muffins for my family and OH MY GOODNESS, these are absolutely delicious! I ground my oatmeal in the blender before adding to the recipe for the texture and used 3 whole eggs as suggested in another review as I didn't want to waste the yolks and had nothing to use them in right away. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. This is such an easy recipe for children to help make. This is definitely a keeper! Thank you! **A tip I have found helpful with the muffin liners, if you are having trouble with muffins sticking, I spray the papers with cooking spray before adding the mixture and the papers pull right off.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hltravis96 June 16, 2009

Wow, these are great! I am hooked! I added 1/2 ww flour, and some flaxseed, and there were tasty! next time, i think i will add 2 tbsp's more molasses and cut out 2 tbsp's oil... i really loved the molasses flavor. Also, next time i will use semi-sweet chocolate chip instead of milk chocolate chips... i think the bitter chocolate will compliment the molasses. When i mixed the batter up, it was thin which concerned me, but they turned out wonderful! cant wait to make again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I Can't Believe It's Healthy November 04, 2008

We must be used to a lighter and moister muffin than the other reviewers that gave this recipe four and five stars. We found this muffin to be dense and dry. Before it went into the oven, I had a bad feeling- the batter was too wet (not thick like a muffin batter should be). Sadly we wound up throwing them out. What a waste of ingredients! We are so disappointed, especially since we bake two batches of muffins a week (one healthy batch that we have previously baked and loved, and the other batch is a new healthy recipe to try).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Theresa787 March 29, 2013

These are AWESOME! Easy to make and tastes great! I was a little Leary when the mix was so loose but I read all the reviews and just went forward. I did substitute Splenda Sugar Blend for the sugar; I added 2 tbsp of cocoa to the batter and I used 3 whole eggs (I don't use yolks for anything and thought it would be a waste). I also thought about adding a little more Splenda Blend because when I tasted the batter it wasn't that sweet and the molasses flavor was a little strong. But again I went forward...glad I did! DH had 3 and he is not a big fan of molasses period!! I think next time I'll use mini chips next time...maybe add some white raisins...oh my! Can't wait to let the grands try these. Thanks so much ladypit!! This is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heartspell July 29, 2011

great

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lovebangy September 28, 2010

Good muffin. I cut down the recipe to only make 6 muffins and I used eggbeaters instead of egg whites. I also used 1 t. oil and 2 t. applesauce to cut down on calories. Nice molasses flavor and I will make these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pardeemom May 20, 2008

Great muffins for anyone who likes the taste of molasses -- I made them with 3 whole eggs, instead of just egg whites. I also added a little more veg. oil than called for in the recipe. They disappeared quickly. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauriecjones April 19, 2008

My batter was a bit thin, so I added another 1/2 cup flour. Also added a bit more sugar - 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar. My DH really liked these muffins! I make muffins every week to share with friends. DH & I will split a muffin to see if we like it. Well, after splitting mine, he went back for 2 more! He said he liked that they were filling. Thank you very much for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Feej January 11, 2008

This really is a great little recipe. Made half -- 12 muffins at a time is fine! Used the converter onsite to cut 1/3 cup sugar to 3T. Did find I needed to add about 1/4 c. more flour for the consistency necessary for a wonderful muffin...and they are. As others did -- used 1/2 whole wheat pastry flour. Will make again..often...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kauaian cook December 28, 2007
Molasses Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Muffins