Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Molasses - Iron Builder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Molasses - Iron Builder

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on January 31, 2008

      Great idea for using molasses! Use of milk with this will make the iron much less accessable, unfortunately, as calcium and iron work against each other. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2012

      Delicious with almond milk!
      Made it first with water,didn't like it this way.It brought out the iron flavor of the molasses.
      update: made with full fat coconut milk and drank a small espresso cup full before bed-its even better with the coconut milk

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2011

      While it does possess good flavor, this beverage will not help iron dietary issues if made with milk. The calcium in the milk inhibits any significant iron absorption. To absorb the iron better with the water part this recipe is better enjoyed with something containing Vitamin C.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2010

      This is so yummy. I like molasses and I had to try this. I tried it with whole-milk. I drank it in less than 2 minutes. A bit too fast. Next time I'll have to take my time to enjoy it longer. I had regular molasses. Thanks Rita :) Made for Photo tag game

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2007

      Love this! A few sugguestions: I don't drink milk, so I use soymilk. Still very good! I actually use cold soymilk - I cover the blackstrap molasses with a bit of hot water and mix it up, then add soymilk. Tastes kinda like latte! For my kids, I use chocolate soymilk or add some organic chocolate syrup (as long as it does not have HFCS)!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2007

      Molasses is considered to be a blood tonic and therefore is absorbed into the bloodstream. This action of the molasses ensures a longer and healthlier life.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2012

      I used Unsulferred Blackstrap and Unsweetened Coconut Milk. If I don't think too much I can sense I'm back to my old coffee drinking ways! Thanks for an idea I NEVER would have thought of...now maybe I'll actually use my molasses. I'll try it will water tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2012

      Thanks for this. For me I think 1/2 tbsp to 3/4 cup is best. I didn't think about how the calcium in milk will inhibit the iron. So, I'll make it with oat milk or almond milk. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2011

      Great drink.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      I'm an anemic gastric bypass patient 7 years post-op, and, if this helps, Yipee!!! I tried it with hot water 1st, as I don't need the extra calories from milk. It was okay flavor, but definitely I could get used to it! The iron working against dairy is something that I believe to be true, so I will probably try and drink it with a little soy, rice or coconut milk. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      I saw a recent review of this and decided to give it a try. I just had regular and not blackstrap. I tried it in hot water and it was pretty tasty! I never would have thought about molasses in water or milk! It was a nice change from tea. Thanks Rita- Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      What a lovely drink! I wasn't sure what to expect, but this was tasty and comforting - perfect on the first snowy night of the year. I made it with hot milk -- haven't tried just water yet -- and the regular non-blackstrap molasses I had in the pantry. I will definitely be making it again. I love molasses in baking, but it's still surprising how well the flavor holds up on its own. I'm not sure how much it's doing for my iron levels (my molasses bottle says it's got about 4% of daily recommendation), but it tastes good enough that I don't care.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      WoW! I was just looking for a different hot beverage. Just so happens I need to build my iron count for surgery. I love Chai tea it is however, it is expensive. This is tastes just as good and is a lot less expensive.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2009

      This is so relaxing! I made it with milk. So smooth. Mmmm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      I love you Rita!! I tried this a couple nights ago with fancy molasses and I liked it so much that I went out the next day to buy a jar of blackstrap molasses so I could benefit from more than just the amazing taste. I made this exactly as you wrote it, with hot water, and I don't really think it needs the addition of milk. Then again, I'm already a very big milk drinker, so this makes for a nice change. Such a comforting beverage!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      4 1/2 stars with water but I put 5 because it made me feel better when I was down. It was comforting and warm in the chilly weather and DD (toddler) loves it! We are dairy free so I just used water. I think this drink grows on you by the minute. I went back and made some more. I'm sure this would be an automatic 5 stars with milk. I may make this with a dairy substitute if I can find one I like that fits our diet. I did use fancy molasses and it was the perfect amount. I wonder how easily absorbed the iron is from this drink. I have had anemia in the past but I am drinking this for comfort even if I dont need iron. I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      Wow, this is excellent. I have been drinking hot milk for breakfast since the weather turned cold last month, usually with some cocoa or vanilla stirred into it, but I never would have thought of using molasses. I'm sorry to report that I only have dark molasses in the pantry, as I have never seen blackstrap in any of the stores here. But still, it makes a really delicious breakfast drink with at least SOME iron in it. Thanks for a great idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      MMMMMM! Delicious! So easy. I used milk and at least 1 1/2 tablespoons of regular molasses. I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      Awesome! I made it with hot skim milk this morning. Tomorrow I'll use it to make my oatmeal! Thanks for a great idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2007

      As a pregnant vegetarian who is a little anaemic, this drink is a godsend.I hate iron tablets as they can be constipating so between the liquid iron supplement, the cast iron cookware, and making sure I pick the higher iron foods, this is a very easy way of getting iron that requires very little thought and effort. The kids also like it so it is also a good way of getting extra iron into them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Molasses - Iron Builder

    Serving Size: 1 (257 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 58.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    10%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 14.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.9 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 11.1 g
    44%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites