12 Reviews

THIS IS THE BEST RECIPE EVER! LOOK NO FURTHER!!!! I have never made gingerbread cookies before, and this was SO easy and SOOOO DELICIOUS! I will be making them again in a couple of days and will be sure to take photos to upload! :) This is now on our list of holiday traditions!! Thank you so much for this recipe! Everyone LOVES these!!! I rolled them out and used a gingerbread man cookie cutter -- so cute! We frosted some, but they are SO ridiculously good they don't need it!!! Definitely our new favorite cookie!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RemixYourFitness.com December 21, 2010

I enjoyed these cookies but they hardly tasted like ginger. I made a few alterations: I left out the brown sugar and used an extra 50gr of white sugar instead (they were still too sweet!) and was less precise with the spices (I like spices). They tasted exactly like "pepernoten", a treat we have on the 5tf of December in the Netherlands. Besides that my dough crumbled and the cookies were quite dry. I loved the taste, though next time I might cut the sugar down even further.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bojana A. February 11, 2016

The taste is good but the texture is really hard to work, I had to add extra flour to be able to roll it and its quite soft once cooked too. I changed the sugar to Truvia to reduce the sugar content and it worked pretty well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erika M. December 10, 2015

This cookies are great! When I was making it, I added a half of cup of pumpkin with the egg and added a few extra spices. It was fantastic! Really good job!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
juliana d. March 27, 2015

VERY DISAPPOINTING!!!! First of all I had to double the amount of flour to get a decent consistency and to be able to roll, it was more like a batter than cookie dough. Even so, the shapes didn't hold during baking and we ended up with just a big splatter of dough, the only possibility was to "go the lazy way" and make a roll and cut rounds out of it, but it still spread out a lot. Finally taste was good, but nothing spectacular. Like I said very disappointing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mar C. December 29, 2014

Made these today for Christmas. Added 2T of water as another reviewer suggested and they were perfect. Absolutely delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loriaks December 26, 2014

I've found that adding 2 TBSP of water to the mix before rolling into a ball makes it the perfect consistency! Delicious cookies!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
16deguiamina December 24, 2013

Mine crumbled, too. Perhaps adding a second egg might help?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mellogirl5 December 18, 2013

I give this recipe no stars because I tried to put in in the ball form and it didn't work! When I was making them gingerbread men, they crumbled to prices so I had to throw the whole batch away! This wasn't helpful at all!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
19duffye December 14, 2013

This recipe seemed easy. I had to add 1 tsp of corn syrup to get it to actually stick together. I chilled it for almost 5 hours and it was still impossible to roll out. And when I baked it, the shapes completely puffed up to three times their size and were totally unrecognizable. I had 4 very disappointed children, all due to a horrible recipe. Don't bother with this one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VGibs November 27, 2013
Molasses-Free Gingerbread