16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love molasses and this bread was full of that dark rich taste. Some currants were waving at me in the pantry as I was gathering my ingredients, so they got added to the bread. Instead of making one large loaf, I used my mini pans and made three small ones, putting two in the freezer and bringing one as a treat for a friend. Next time I make this bread, I'll add some spices and it will taste like gingerbread. I like that this bread has no oil, uses whole wheat flour and the molasses for some good nutritional value as well as good flavor. A truly fine recipe.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geema March 19, 2003

I really liked this recipe. I only had skim milk on hand and I thought it still worked wonderfully. I added two teaspoons of cinnamon and 3/4 teaspoon of nutmeg. It is very easy to make and I enjoyed the fact that it uses whole wheat flour. Next time I make it I will add raisins, I would have this time but I didn't have any on hand.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Xiney February 22, 2004

Can I give this 6 or 7 stars? I followed the directions except I used all all-purpose flour and I added about 1/3 cup of raisins. I will be making this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pamma Lamma May 09, 2005

I've made this twice now, and I think it's simply delicious. I do not add spices and I like the flavour as is. I decided to add a handful or raisins to the loaf I have in the oven right now. The first time I made it, I thought the recipe had errors because no eggs or oil were included in the ingredients, but I was pleased with the bread so I knew it was not a mistake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elizabeth T. November 16, 2014

I love this bread. I did of course make a few changes to suit my family. I used 1/2 brown and 1/2 white sugar and added just a 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of vanilla. It is delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lwtichey January 04, 2014

I wonder how this would taste with buttermilk

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
D4rkst4r October 30, 2013

This Molasses Bread is fantastic. I used nonfat milk and added 1c dates and 1/2c walnuts. I didn't have any whole wheat flour and used 2c of all-purpose flour and the bread came out wonderful. I can't wait to give these beautiful loafs as gifts for Christmas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrshodge December 11, 2008

I am sorry to give such a low review but we found this bread dry and not very tasty at all. Butter or cream cheese helped, but we will not make this again. Thanks anyways! Good luck chef! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
God's_sugarcookie July 04, 2007

My wife is not much on cream cheese - so she had this with butter and said IT'S WONDERFUL! I had it with cream cheese and think she's missing out, it was absolutely delicious! Reminded me of this bread my mother use to buy when I was little...I believe it was Date-Nut bread. She ate it with cream cheese as well. I like this bread exactly as the recipe has it.. but can certainly see possibilities for adding whatever you like! My wife thinks it would be fantastic with Sultanas! As I like the soft delicate flavors inherent in this bread I don't believe I will be adding nutmeg or cinnamon.. but maybe will try some nuts and/or dried fruits... But I love it as it is! Would be interesting to substitute in a little rye flour, caraway seeds and a bit of cocoa powder and/or black coffee... be easy to make this in to a wonderful pumpernickle bread!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoversDream January 01, 2006

WOW, this was good. I did some substitutions to make it a bit healthier; I used 1/4 cup Splenda sugar, and 1/2 teapoon salt. It was still good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelby, the wannabe chef August 10, 2005
Molasses Bread