Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Molasses Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Molasses Bread

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on March 19, 2003

      I love molasses and this bread was full of that dark rich taste. Some currants were waving at me in the pantry as I was gathering my ingredients, so they got added to the bread. Instead of making one large loaf, I used my mini pans and made three small ones, putting two in the freezer and bringing one as a treat for a friend. Next time I make this bread, I'll add some spices and it will taste like gingerbread. I like that this bread has no oil, uses whole wheat flour and the molasses for some good nutritional value as well as good flavor. A truly fine recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2004

      I really liked this recipe. I only had skim milk on hand and I thought it still worked wonderfully. I added two teaspoons of cinnamon and 3/4 teaspoon of nutmeg. It is very easy to make and I enjoyed the fact that it uses whole wheat flour. Next time I make it I will add raisins, I would have this time but I didn't have any on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2005

      Can I give this 6 or 7 stars? I followed the directions except I used all all-purpose flour and I added about 1/3 cup of raisins. I will be making this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2014

      I've made this twice now, and I think it's simply delicious. I do not add spices and I like the flavour as is. I decided to add a handful or raisins to the loaf I have in the oven right now. The first time I made it, I thought the recipe had errors because no eggs or oil were included in the ingredients, but I was pleased with the bread so I knew it was not a mistake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2014

      I love this bread. I did of course make a few changes to suit my family. I used 1/2 brown and 1/2 white sugar and added just a 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of vanilla. It is delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2013

      I wonder how this would taste with buttermilk

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      This Molasses Bread is fantastic. I used nonfat milk and added 1c dates and 1/2c walnuts. I didn't have any whole wheat flour and used 2c of all-purpose flour and the bread came out wonderful. I can't wait to give these beautiful loafs as gifts for Christmas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2007

      I am sorry to give such a low review but we found this bread dry and not very tasty at all. Butter or cream cheese helped, but we will not make this again. Thanks anyways! Good luck chef! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2006

      My wife is not much on cream cheese - so she had this with butter and said IT'S WONDERFUL! I had it with cream cheese and think she's missing out, it was absolutely delicious! Reminded me of this bread my mother use to buy when I was little...I believe it was Date-Nut bread. She ate it with cream cheese as well. I like this bread exactly as the recipe has it.. but can certainly see possibilities for adding whatever you like! My wife thinks it would be fantastic with Sultanas! As I like the soft delicate flavors inherent in this bread I don't believe I will be adding nutmeg or cinnamon.. but maybe will try some nuts and/or dried fruits... But I love it as it is! Would be interesting to substitute in a little rye flour, caraway seeds and a bit of cocoa powder and/or black coffee... be easy to make this in to a wonderful pumpernickle bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2005

      WOW, this was good. I did some substitutions to make it a bit healthier; I used 1/4 cup Splenda sugar, and 1/2 teapoon salt. It was still good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2005

      This bread is very moist, but kind of bland all by itself. It was good with cream cheese and jelly, butter and jam, and I even made a turkey & cheese sandwich with it and it was yummy. I think next time I'd try putting some cinnamon and cloves in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2005

      Excellent recipe, and very easy to make. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2005

      I have been looking for a good molasses bread recipe for a long time. I still haven't found a good one, I found a great one! I had my doubts about cooking this for 1 1/2 hours, but it came out great. It is moist and full of flavor. Thanks Tgirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2005

      i used skim milk because it was all i had and i had already started mixing the dry ingredients. i added some extra chopped up organic apples i had so that they would not go to waste. even with the skim milk this was a delicious bread. i will, however follow the recipe next time as i think that the whole milk must be what gives it a more dense; bread like consistency. i think the skim milk gave it more of a lighter cake consistency and i wanted dense. taste was excellent and a great easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2004

      What wonderful bread! It has a lovely moist and dense texture and sweet molasses flavor. I happened to have whole milk on-hand, so I did use that per the instructions of the recipe, but I did make 2 other substitutions. I replaced the white flour with whole wheat pastry flour (although I am not sure this bread would not be just as wonderful with all regular whole wheat flour) and replaced the sugar with Sucanat. I managed to get everything to combine just fine without using an electric mixer- I just folded the ingredients together by hand. I did use less salt (just a couple shakes from the salt shaker) but that may be personal taste. I also baked in a 9x5 tin and it rose to a rather large loaf even in the larger pan. Lovely, lovely breakfast or snack. Next time I may try others' suggestions of adding spices (this would make a killer gingerbread recipe, I'm sure) or dried fruits or nuts! I really like that this doesn't have any oil or eggs but has such wonderful texture. Thanks for a great quickbread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2004

      What a delicious recipe! Yesterday I bought sorghum molasses from a crafts fair, and I looked for something yummy to bake...I'm so glad I chose this. The whole family likes it and gives me a reason to look forward to autumn chores like raking the leaves (gasp).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Molasses Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (89 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 186.8
     
    Calories from Fat 15
    14%
    Total Fat 1.6 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 5.1 mg
    1%
    Sodium 386.2 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.9 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 10.0 g
    40%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites