16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent flavour and appearance and wonderful on potatoes. The first time I made it, it curdled and didn't look right, but the memory of the flavour stayed with me. I made it a second time last night, and this time I made sure to do things more carefully to get a smooth, creamy sauce which did not separate. I subbed sherry vinegar and that worked fine. Any vinegar would. Superb!

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jangomango December 11, 2002

This is sooo good and authentic. Identical to what I tasted many years ago on holiday in Gran Canaria. Had recipes for this before, they are in the bin, bacause this is the best! Made it twice now, first time used with potatoes and last night with large prawns, so it was time to send in a review!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pets'R'us January 09, 2003

I served this over plain ol boiled taters. FANTASTIC! I can't wait to try it on baked fish and bread. Thanks kid!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riffraff December 09, 2002

My husband and I LOVE this! We had it with Manchego cheese first. Then with canarygirl's Papas Arrugadas Papas Arrugadas. It might be even better after a day or two, but WE don't know. It didn't last that long!!!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GinnyP November 13, 2002

This is the best thing i have EVER had!!!!!!!!!!! My mom (riffraff) made it for a party we went to-- she served it with Majorero, which was good!. I also liked it with sesame sticks and can not wait to make some for myself!!!!!!! Yummm thanks so much for posting this!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loves2Teach January 06, 2003

YUM! This was tricky for me to make, only because my mortar wasn't big enough. I will probably try it in the blender next time (which will be soon!). It's got a wonderful and complex bite to it that went perfectly with steamed artichokes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa Pizza April 17, 2004

OK, tHIS is good!! I have just made it and don't know what I am going to put it on besides a spoon...:) I can't stop eating it! I am going to try out chicken in a skillet with this sauce and some yellow rice... I'm SURE it will taste GREAT!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie Traynor April 06, 2004

went great on our cuban sandwiches! thanks for sharing this recipe!! used the smaller amounts for all ingredients. used 5 garlic cloves but they were huge. will use a little less next time. didn't have any small chili peppers so used ancho. garlic flavored evo. otherwise pretty much the same. even used on my usual blah lunch sandwiches for work. thanks again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef GreanEyes July 15, 2013

Excellent !! I lived in the Canaries for many years and have tasted lots of versions of Red Mojo, however yours is one of the best I have tasted. Thanks very much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sharonjackson August 13, 2009

A must try

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brandidt April 26, 2009
Mojo Picon (Garlic Sauce)