Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mojo Picon (Garlic Sauce) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mojo Picon (Garlic Sauce)

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on December 11, 2002

      Excellent flavour and appearance and wonderful on potatoes. The first time I made it, it curdled and didn't look right, but the memory of the flavour stayed with me. I made it a second time last night, and this time I made sure to do things more carefully to get a smooth, creamy sauce which did not separate. I subbed sherry vinegar and that worked fine. Any vinegar would. Superb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2003

      This is sooo good and authentic. Identical to what I tasted many years ago on holiday in Gran Canaria. Had recipes for this before, they are in the bin, bacause this is the best! Made it twice now, first time used with potatoes and last night with large prawns, so it was time to send in a review!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2002

      I served this over plain ol boiled taters. FANTASTIC! I can't wait to try it on baked fish and bread. Thanks kid!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2002

      My husband and I LOVE this! We had it with Manchego cheese first. Then with canarygirl's Papas Arrugadas Papas Arrugadas. It might be even better after a day or two, but WE don't know. It didn't last that long!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2003

      This is the best thing i have EVER had!!!!!!!!!!! My mom (riffraff) made it for a party we went to-- she served it with Majorero, which was good!. I also liked it with sesame sticks and can not wait to make some for myself!!!!!!! Yummm thanks so much for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2004

      YUM! This was tricky for me to make, only because my mortar wasn't big enough. I will probably try it in the blender next time (which will be soon!). It's got a wonderful and complex bite to it that went perfectly with steamed artichokes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2004

      OK, tHIS is good!! I have just made it and don't know what I am going to put it on besides a spoon...:) I can't stop eating it! I am going to try out chicken in a skillet with this sauce and some yellow rice... I'm SURE it will taste GREAT!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2013

      went great on our cuban sandwiches! thanks for sharing this recipe!! used the smaller amounts for all ingredients. used 5 garlic cloves but they were huge. will use a little less next time. didn't have any small chili peppers so used ancho. garlic flavored evo. otherwise pretty much the same. even used on my usual blah lunch sandwiches for work. thanks again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      Excellent !! I lived in the Canaries for many years and have tasted lots of versions of Red Mojo, however yours is one of the best I have tasted. Thanks very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      A must try

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2006

      Another Five-Star Review! This was excellent! Very spicy, but the taste was wonderful, I loved the vinegar note. Together with your papas arrugadas definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2006

      This was heaven and just what I was looking for. I actually used it for a hot sauce to go with my pork chops. Can't wait to try it with potatoes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2005

      Very good, but difficult to mash everything with mortar and pestle, so I used the blender. Will keep and make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2004

      This is different from what I usually make, but so good. I used the food processor to mix the spices, then added the vinegar and olive oil. I had this as a dip with baked onion rings and deep fried zucchini fingers. Thanks canarygirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2004

      A yummy change of pace from the "usual" far around here... Works well in the food processor, too! I didn't have whole chilies, so I substituted a little bit of hot-pepper flakes instead. Also... I didn't have red-wine vingear, so I had to use balsamic. Even so, the sauce came out delicious with a wonderful velvety texture. It was delicious over the fish I served it with! I'm going to take your advice and try the leftovers on some Papas Arrugadas next!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2004

      Wow, I love this! I made it to use for a dipping sauce for fondue meat, and it was added great flavor with a nice kick. I did use smokey paprika. We used some of the leftover sauce two days later tossed with baby potatoes, and they were just wonderful. It does take some work to get everything crushed to a smooth paste, but it was worth the work! Thanks, cg!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mojo Picon (Garlic Sauce)

    Serving Size: 1 (33 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 85.9
     
    Calories from Fat 64
    74%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 40.8 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.7 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 0.9 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites