10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow. I've been eating cornbread my whole life and this is by far the best cornbread I've ever made or even eaten! Since becoming vegan I've searched endlessly for a good Northern-style cornbread recipe. This recipe is better than any vegan or non-vegan cornbread I've ever tried. I'm too cheap for maple syrup, but using agave instead worked just fine. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morenasa72@hotmail.com July 08, 2011

I don't know why I have taken so long to review this one - I've made it three times now! I love it. My only complaint is that it doesn't hold together very well. It's pretty crumbly. I think I'll try adding some egg replacer next time to see if that helps bind it together a bit more.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meliska November 11, 2009

This is fantastic!! I used EVOO instead of the canola oil & vanilla soymilk (because I had both onhand). I also added about 1 cup frozen seasoned corn/pepper/onion blend. My husband & I will have no problem eating this within 2 days.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
echina August 19, 2008

excellent! My new favorite cornbread recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheilaalston December 25, 2014

Shockingly simple and amazingly good. It came out nicely using the maple syrup. Its definitely not an inexpensive recipe but follow the directions as given and use good ingredients and you will be rewarded with results that will surprise you. Satisfaction!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TastyBite February 28, 2014

Great recipe! I added a bit of applesauce and made muffins. They baked up nicely, very moist, and a bit crispy on the outside.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Duke of Fork October 27, 2012

Great recipe-thought it tasted better than my "regular" cornbread. I made the recipe and baked in mini-muffin pans for about 12 mins. Guests loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pbmulligan December 30, 2011

Excellent and easy. I added diced onions and peppers on the top before baking. Very tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riducka April 12, 2008

This was really good... very moist! It turned out perfect and delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lee_rebecca January 30, 2008

I loved this corn bread. It is delicious and moist, though a bit too sweet. I will cut back on the maple syrup next time. Not that I mind it, but hubby isn't fond of sweet foods. I actually ground my own corn meal for this. We grew Indian corn last summer and that is what I used. It gave the cornbread a bit of a deep red speckled look and a hardy taste. I used white wheat bread flour also. I can't eat dairy this recipe was perfect. I will definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Joey Z. April 12, 2007
Moist Vegan Cornbread