24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very easy to make and so yummy. For those that don't have pumpkin pie spice and want to make it use 1/2tsp cinnamon, 1/4tsp ground ginger,1/8 tsp ground nutmeg and 1/8tst ground clove

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
merwojo73 October 19, 2011

Excellent. I have wanting to make this for some time and made it for my holiday trays. Very moist. I could not find pumpkin puree and used canned pumpkin. I made one loaf and mine baked in 55 minutes. I cooled in pan for 10 minutes and then removed to cooling rack. I dizzled topping on and let cool before wrapping. The hard part was waiting 24 hours to taste it and it smelled wonderful. Thanks for another great recipe Emily.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
happynana December 19, 2008

This recipe turned out wonderfully! I modified it by adding walnuts to the batter as well as the topping. I also made it into muffins and reviewed it here:
http://sctosf.com/pumpkin-walnut-muffins/

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SCtoSF October 31, 2012

This bread was shipped and packed well, stayed moist and was gone shortly after. I added roasted walnuts, softened some raisins in vanilla and water drained them and also chopped up some pecans to throw in the mix. Very straight forward, my oven time was a bit longer but this is a clear winner in my book. Thanks for sharing Seasoned Chef!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brautiganreader October 11, 2012

I made this bread yesterday and it is one of the very best pumpkin breads I have ever made!!! I did not have pumpkin pie spice, but I used freshly grated nutmeg and a dash of ground cloves. I also used white sugar for the topping (used all the brown sugar I had for the recipe), and it was just fine. I will definitely make this again and again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Twoheart November 14, 2011

This Pumpkin Bread is excellent. It was easy to make and turned out perfect. I did increase the spices a bit- It was by far one of the BEST pumpkin bread receipes I've made....A big hit!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmberMoon October 19, 2011

yum! this will be the only pumpkin bread i ever make again. the cooking time took a bit longer for me, maybe 15 minutes longer. the end result was fantastic and i could eat the topping with a spoon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauren.watson February 26, 2010

I've made this recipe 4 times now, each with the intention of taking it to a gathering or the neighbors, and each time my husband has finished it all! We love it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LindyFlugelman November 06, 2009

According to my wife this is delish, I being diabetic can't have any,but, I enjoyed the making of the recipe. Not naving pumkin pie spice I mixed my own, and used walnuts, Pecans are not to be found in the supermarket her in Spain. The topping is very good and gives a little something else, texure and flavour. Thanks for the recipe, now what can I make with the rest of the pumpkin ? Brian H

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brian Holley October 31, 2008

I made this recipe exactly how it was written and it is moist, with a delicious topping. It was, however, too spicy and hid the subtle flavor of the pumpkin. I will make this recipe again and reduce the spice content.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KAPM October 31, 2014
Moist Pumpkin Bread