40 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love this recipe. I substituted 1/2 of applesauce for the oil. I used spelt flour instead of regular flour to make it gluten free. I did embellish on the spices adding cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and cloves. I also added dark chocolate chips. They are yummy and moist.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cstauers September 12, 2009

What a nice treat! I had to find a healthy and tasty muffin recipe for my husband and this certainly filled the bill. I did make a few changes. Since he eats the muffins for a full breakfast, I made them in my jumbo muffin pan and it yielded 9 he-man sized muffins. I used 1/4 C oil/1/4 C of applesauce to replace the 1/2 C oil. I used 1/2 C brown sugar/1/2 C molasses to replace the C of brown sugar. I used 3/4 C of oats/1/4 C of 100% bran in place of all oats and I added a bit extra pumpkin pie spice and an additional tsp of cloves hoping to add flavor as many reviewers stated they were bland. I have just about finished my muffin and it is very filling...I won't have to eat lunch today! Yummy! Oh...if you choose to use the jumbo muffin pan, I reduced the cooking temperature to 350 degrees and baked for 27 minutes. The result was perfect!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NJNannie June 22, 2009

This recipe was easy and the muffins super moist. Very healthy ingredients and my family absolutely ate them up...literally. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Penny in TX November 01, 2002

This is a great recipe that is easlily adapted. I made these muffins using half WW pastry flour, 1/4 c applesauce and 1/4 c oil. For the spices I used 2 tsp cinnamon, 1tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tsp ginger and 1/4 tsp cloves. I also chopped 1/2 c. pecans up really fine and tossed them in there for some added protein. DD doesn't like nuts, but I like the extra protein they add so I hide them! Sshh, don't tell her! I just had one warm from the oven and it was yummy. I think that next time I will add a diced, tart apple. My kiddos will love these for breakfast in the morning. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bilette February 22, 2009

Delicous. Added1/4 cup of water and used whole wheat flour. Used 1 cup of raisins and 1 cup of walnuts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anoushka November 04, 2014

Made a lot of muffins that we enjoyed for snack and breakfast. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drinkmore October 26, 2014

Great recipe, not too sweet. I didn't have pumpkin pie spice, so I subbed the recommended subs. Also used one 15oz can of pumpkin. Thanks for the keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz November 14, 2012

These were good but nothing out of the ordinary. I subbed half applesauce for oil , and used whole wheat pastry flour. Even using old fashioned oats they weren't very oaty. I used 4 tsp of cinnamon 1 tsp ginger and 1 tsp nutmeg with a little clove and the still weren't too spiced. I think a little orange zest would give them some zing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momaphet September 30, 2012

I was looking for something quick for breakfast for me and my 18-month old, and we both LOVE these muffins!!! I substituted applesauce for the oil, blue agave for half of the sugar, and used 1/4 cup of water. I didn't have pumpkin pie spice, so I used a combination of cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg, and allspice. Delicious and satisfying!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Argyle September 25, 2012
Moist Oatmeal Pumpkin Muffins