60 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were GREAT! I listened to a previous reviewer and added an egg. I also mixed some instant coffee granules with the water. The egg made it rise beautifully. I wanted to make these for my bestfriend's birthday, and i'm sure she'll love them. These will be part of my chocolate cupcake collection. And i also forgot to add, i added about a 1 tsp vanilla.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nika The Mad Baker May 15, 2012

I came here just to say... THANK YOU SO MUCH for this recipe! I've always been bad at making cupcakes (not kidding). I've tried so many recipes before, some were even from books, and they came out either bland, dry, sticky or tough. I'm so happy that I stumbled upon this recipe. It's just perfect and very easy to make. The cakes were moist, soft, and flavorful. I also added a very little amount of coffee for a hint of flavor. This will be my go-to chocolate cupcake recipe from now on.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
belle17 April 17, 2012

Delicious and simple. Nice that you don't need a mixer to make this, a wooden spoon was enough to blend the ingredients. I substituted applesauce for the oil and 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour for 1/2 a cup of the white. Also added 1/2 cup of chocolate chips. DECADENT!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Veriance September 17, 2009

This recipe is simple and delicious! I had buttermilk to use up, so I substituted that for the water and vinegar. I also used a 1/2 cup of spelt flour. With the coffee and vanilla the chocolate flavor was enhanced. A favorite go to recipe now! Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisawoodart July 01, 2013

I cut the sugar in half thinking it would be sweet enough but I was wrong it really needed the whole cup of sugar.The way they puffed up was really nice and the taste not bad at all for it not having eggs nor milk.It didn't come out that moist for me and I do not know why but it was still not that dry.I have been eating them with honey drizzled on top since I didn't add the sugar necessary and they are so good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blacksky_ms November 20, 2010

I omitted the vinegar, used milk instead of water, and added a beaten egg as well as a handful of chocolate chips because I only had one 25gr pack of cocoa. Despite a schizophrenic one-sided fan oven, the cupcakes all rose beautifully and managed to be fluffy, soft and moist. I had enough left over to make one rather strangely-shaped sponge round as well. Thank you so much LaTigress!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tigrrboxer November 17, 2009

I really liked this recipe. I took the recommendation of other reviewers and added an egg, vanilla. However, I found the taste a bit bitter. It's not as sweet as I like. When I followed the recipe I thought the sugar wasn't enough but I thought I'll follow the exact recipe. Next time I will add more sugar, probably half a cup more. I also loved the mess free one bowl mix. Thanks a lot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fatima_dannoun April 01, 2015

I would greatly recommend this cupcake recipe. I added an egg to make the batter a little more moist, and they turned out great ? also, don't freak out if after about five minutes the cupcakes look like there caving-in in the middle. After about twenty minutes they look great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizmo2019 March 10, 2015

I love these they are great and I have turned them into my own by adding new stuff like walnuts or fruit like add a banana or applesauce instead of using sugar and they turn out great I made them for my guy friend for his birthday along with my homemad cream cheese frosting and he LOVED them

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chey C. February 10, 2015
Moist Chocolate Cupcakes- Super Easy- Budget