17 Reviews

I have tried many, many banana bread recipes over the years and really found this one to be about the best. I almost always modify a recipe as I enjoy the experimentation. My simple changes included adding generous amounts of cinnamon and nutmeg, extra vanilla; I also used a greek vanilla yogurt. For nuts, I used very finely processed pecans, which I then toasted. I know some reviewers felt toasting had little impact, but I do think it heightens the flavor of the pecans -- plus it's so easy to do in a toaster oven. I have a definite sweet tooth, but try to reduce the amount of sugar we eat whenever possible, so I used a generous half cup of Splenda, a 1/4 cup of white sugar and a 1/4 cup of brown sugar. Like others, it didn't take as long to bake, which I did so in a 370 oven. Thanks so much for a truly great recipe. My husband, my son and I all enjoyed it and I encourage anyone to try this one next if you're in search of a delicious banana bread!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Foodie Italia May 22, 2011

This is probably the best banana bread I have ever made based off of this recipe! I mixed whole spelt, white spelt, white rice and sorghum flours and used 4 shriveling brown bananas mashed lumpy. Cut the sugar (sucanat) down to @ 3/4 cup and only added about 1/2 the about of (blueberry cardamom) yogurt that the recipe calls for. Mixed in a few walnuts and pecans and as always cinnamon and extra vanilla! I usually don't like banana bread crust, but this is so YUM! I was doubtful after reading some of the reviews. Out of common sense, because I live at higher altitude, I lowered the oven temp from 375 to 355 after about 30 of the 80 min.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rhymthym March 18, 2016

This recipe is a total FAIL. I followed exactly and it came out totally flat and burned and raw on the inside. What a waste of time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kpens98 January 15, 2016

DO NOT MAKE THIS RECIPE! I just made it and it is in the garbage can! I am so mad! As the reviews suggested I only baked it for 55mins and it almost burned! Then I let it cool, it fell and I cut into it to discover the inside was raw! It should have baked at 350 for an hour!!! I feel so deceived and deprived.... What a waste!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erin S. March 30, 2014

Ooops! Did not read the comments before trying this recipe. The recipe is fine but when I checked the big loaf pan after 65 mins it was overdone by about 10 mins. Yikes. Would be nice if the original recipe instructions for baking time could be changed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brian C. November 28, 2013

Loving it! Favourite banana bread to date. Used roasted pecans and 3 black bananas I had squirreled away in the freezer. Also added nutmeg. Cooked for 55mins on 180 Celsius. Moist :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rebel_mc May 03, 2013

Followed this recipe but modified it with 3 cups brown sugar, 6 bananas-sliced, not mashed, and a cup of Strawberry yoghurt-the only one available in the fridge. I also added a cup of dried cranberry. My Sliced Banana-Cranberry Bread was an instant hit! Moist, and yummy. My family agrees that it's an improved taste from a former recipe which asked for 2 cups of flour, 2 eggs and mashed bananas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Late_Bloomer March 28, 2013

I made this bread/cake a couple of times now. We love it!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
belladonna6633 March 17, 2013

YUMMY!!!! Made a twisted version...instead of plain yogurt I used coconut, added a little chocolate chips and cinnamon and OMG...family and friends want me to bake this for them weekly!!! Will never use any other recipe again!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cinnamonjess September 12, 2012

I have made this countless times and it is always very moist inside with crispy edges...delicious! The recipe is somewhat flexible. I've made with plain or vanilla yogurt, regular or whole wheat flour, more or less bananas, extra yogurt (1 cup), walnuts or pecans, and it's tasty every time. Watch this closely, the cooking time in the recipe was far too long and first batch I ever made burned on the outside (the inside was still moist and yummy!). My large loaf in a glass pan cooks in 50-60 minutes. I will never make dry banana bread again with this go-to recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heyreb September 04, 2011
Moist Banana Bread