Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Moist Banana Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Moist Banana Bread

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on May 22, 2011

      I have tried many, many banana bread recipes over the years and really found this one to be about the best. I almost always modify a recipe as I enjoy the experimentation. My simple changes included adding generous amounts of cinnamon and nutmeg, extra vanilla; I also used a greek vanilla yogurt. For nuts, I used very finely processed pecans, which I then toasted. I know some reviewers felt toasting had little impact, but I do think it heightens the flavor of the pecans -- plus it's so easy to do in a toaster oven. I have a definite sweet tooth, but try to reduce the amount of sugar we eat whenever possible, so I used a generous half cup of Splenda, a 1/4 cup of white sugar and a 1/4 cup of brown sugar. Like others, it didn't take as long to bake, which I did so in a 370 oven. Thanks so much for a truly great recipe. My husband, my son and I all enjoyed it and I encourage anyone to try this one next if you're in search of a delicious banana bread!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2014

      DO NOT MAKE THIS RECIPE! I just made it and it is in the garbage can! I am so mad! As the reviews suggested I only baked it for 55mins and it almost burned! Then I let it cool, it fell and I cut into it to discover the inside was raw! It should have baked at 350 for an hour!!! I feel so deceived and deprived.... What a waste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2013

      Ooops! Did not read the comments before trying this recipe. The recipe is fine but when I checked the big loaf pan after 65 mins it was overdone by about 10 mins. Yikes. Would be nice if the original recipe instructions for baking time could be changed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2013

      Loving it! Favourite banana bread to date. Used roasted pecans and 3 black bananas I had squirreled away in the freezer. Also added nutmeg. Cooked for 55mins on 180 Celsius. Moist :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2013

      Followed this recipe but modified it with 3 cups brown sugar, 6 bananas-sliced, not mashed, and a cup of Strawberry yoghurt-the only one available in the fridge. I also added a cup of dried cranberry. My Sliced Banana-Cranberry Bread was an instant hit! Moist, and yummy. My family agrees that it's an improved taste from a former recipe which asked for 2 cups of flour, 2 eggs and mashed bananas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2013

      I made this bread/cake a couple of times now. We love it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2012

      YUMMY!!!! Made a twisted version...instead of plain yogurt I used coconut, added a little chocolate chips and cinnamon and OMG...family and friends want me to bake this for them weekly!!! Will never use any other recipe again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2011

      I have made this countless times and it is always very moist inside with crispy edges...delicious! The recipe is somewhat flexible. I've made with plain or vanilla yogurt, regular or whole wheat flour, more or less bananas, extra yogurt (1 cup), walnuts or pecans, and it's tasty every time. Watch this closely, the cooking time in the recipe was far too long and first batch I ever made burned on the outside (the inside was still moist and yummy!). My large loaf in a glass pan cooks in 50-60 minutes. I will never make dry banana bread again with this go-to recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2011

      awesome recipe! Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      Yumalicious! Easy recipe to master. Instead of plain yogurt and vanilla extract, I used banana yogurt which just added more flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      It was quite delicious although I think I'll cut the amount of sugar next time and we used low fat yogurt and Smart Balance Butter and it still came out excellent! Next time I want to cut the sugar and try fat free yogurt. I also cut the baking time to 1 hour ten min. for one loaf in a 9x5 glass loaf pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2009

      I've been using a ton of yogurt in my cooking cuz it's so good for you and so I searched for a recipe like this one. I doubled the recipe and the only thing is that 80 minutes was a little too long. I actually took them out at @ 70 minutes and they were already dark. Next time I will watch them closer and take them out @ about 60 minutes. Beside the darker edges, the bread is awesome!! I added 1/2 tsp of nutmeg and 1 tsp of cinn. to the batch and they are fabulous. I will always use this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      Just tried this recipe, and it is delicious! I've been looking around for a good banana bread recipe, and this is the best I've found so far. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2005

      I added more bananas than noted but I really think the yogurt made this very very moist. It is a sure thing for me to use this recipe so why switch! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2005

      Easy and quite tasty. I used butter (I love its flavor) and added about 1/3 cup plumped raisins (simmer in water or microwave for a few minutes), and sprinkled the top with oatmeal rather than wheat germ. I would like to try substituting some whole wheat flour for the white flour (would have to use very large eggs or add some additional yogurt to prevent dryness), or substitute blenderized dry oatmeal for some of the flour. This bread toasted very nicely and made a fantastic breakfast bread. Toasting the nuts in a dry pan for a few minutes is always worth the time as it adds such richness. Raw nuts are just not the same. I used a combination of walnuts and pecans to use up what I had but would probably prefer pecans only the next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Moist Banana Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1101 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1743.5
     
    Calories from Fat 811
    46%
    Total Fat 90.1 g
    138%
    Saturated Fat 37.6 g
    188%
    Cholesterol 319.9 mg
    106%
    Sodium 2058.0 mg
    85%
    Total Carbohydrate 211.5 g
    70%
    Dietary Fiber 10.6 g
    42%
    Sugars 117.1 g
    468%
    Protein 32.3 g
    64%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites