Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Moist and Tender Turkey Breast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Moist and Tender Turkey Breast

    Average Rating:

    114 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 114

    Sort by:

    • on December 28, 2009

      I can't say enough good things about this recipe! I made it for my Christmas Eve dinner, and everyone RAVED over it, saying it's the best they've ever had! It was so moist and still moist days after for leftover turkey sandwiches. And oh my gosh, the gravy! My sister-in-law wanted to bathe in this delicious gravy, lol! To answer another rater's question as to how to make the gravy, this is what I did: I poured the cooking juices from the bottom of the pan into a gravy separater and let the fat rise. I saw that I had 4 cups of liquid, so I skimmed 4 tablespoons of fat off the top of the cooking liquid and mixed it with 4 tablespoons of flour in a cooking pot, making a roux. Mix and stir constantly over medium heat for about 4 minutes or so. Then add the liquid very slowly, stirring constantly. Bring to a rolling boil and then let simmer for a few minutes until it reaches the desired consistency. It was PERFECT! Thank you, Marg!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      I have made bone-in turkey breast using this recipe several times, and it has always turned out moist and delicious! I rub light mayo both under the skin as well as on top, and also add freshly ground pepper, kosher salt (or Lawry's - it tastes great here), and minced garlic under and on the skin as well. I also add about half an onion, a couple carrots, garlic, and a few ribs of celery (all chopped) to the pan to ensure a more flavorful gravy (the veggies can make a nice side after roasting too) - it hasnt failed me so far. In order to make the gravy I go with a roux and whisk the (strained) broth/drippings mix and add a bit of milk to get enough volume. It is perfect every time. I also will tent foil around the bird to keep the broth from evaporating throughout the entire cooking process, and remove it about an hour before the bird is done so that it browns.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2011

      WOW!! Include me with the other Reviewers who were skeptical and loved this recipe. I had a turkey breast, just under 6 pounds and 2 turkey thighs. I preheated the oven to 350 degrees and placed the turkey in a greased casserole, 9x13. I spread the turkey with mayo and some seasonings. I did not add the butter and broth, I try to stay away from gravy. I placed the pan in the preheated oven, uncovered for 1 3/4 hours. Then I removed it from the oven and covered with foil and let it set for 30 minutes. Perfect. The skin was a beautiful brown and the meat nice and juicy. Its a keeper.
      Thanks Marg!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      Excellent! I made it with a 15 pound whole turkey. The only thing I would do differently, is that I seasoned the bird my normal way, with Lawry's Salt. I would omit that, and make it exactly like the recipe, because it made the gravy too salty. Next time I make this it will be with my homemade chicken broth. The mayo made it so that the turkey did not need to be basted, hooray! It came out very moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      Wow! I used this recipe for a 3 lb. turkey breast I bought on sale at the grocery. I cooked it on 325 for 1 hour, then on 350 for 30 minutes and it was moist, tender, and delicious! I used the drippings to make gravy and made mashed potatoes as well. It was easily the best tasting and most inexpensive meal I've made in a while!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2005

      Superb! I loved that I didn't have to baste it since the mayo kept the skin from drying out. I followed the directions exactly (5 lb bone-in turkey) and turned it up to 350 for the last 30 minutes (total cooking time=2 hr, 45 min). The outside was crisp and the inside was moist--perfect texture all around. Next time I'll double the broth/butter so there is enough gravy for all the leftover turkey and mashed potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2011

      My first attempt at making a turkey and it was a home run! I did double the butter and broth but everything else I followed exactly except I used lite Mayo because I did not have the full calorie kind in the house.. Used a 5 pound bone in breast and it was amazing. Can't wait to share this recipe with others. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2011

      The turkey was very moist, no basting, my turkey was 11 lbs, so I cooked it at 325 and cover it with foil at the beginning, then turn up heat to 350 during the last 30 min. The turkey took 4 hours to cook, but very juicy and 13 people finished the whole turkey. Nothing left for tomorrow. And I only had one small piece. My husband wants me to cook it again tomorrow for another birthday party, cause he also had one piece only. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2011

      What an easy take on turkey! We cooked two breasts and one big bird for a big Christmas party. All turned out a beautiful mahogany color and very tender. Forget the old basting ideas...This is a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      YUMMMO! This recipe was the outstanding. This was the best turkey breast I have ever made. So juicy and delish. The gravy was to die for. Will definitely make again. YAY!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2011

      I found a turkey breast in my freezer so I tried this recipe and I want to say WOW, THIS WAS GREAT. Looks like I'll be cooking Thanksgiving this year :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2011

      Best turkey EVER!! I'm not a turkey fan and usually skip out on it at Thanksgiving. First time I have ever cooked a turkey breast, and to top it off, it was a wild turkey that I shot hunting. The only thing that I did different was after spreading the mayo, I sprinkled seasoned salt on it. Delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      This is wonderful!!! I will be making this again...and again...I used low fat mayo and reduced sodium broth. I also used Brummel and Brown instead of butter and it was awesome!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      Gosh, this was fantastic. It's one of those "I'm never doing a turkey breast any other way!" kind of recipes. I put a little of the mayo under the skin, then slathered the rest over the skin along with salt and Italian seasoning. Tented with foil and let it slow roast for hours, removing the foil for the last 45 minutes. The taste was excellent, the skin a gorgeous golden brown. Everyone positively loved this! Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      Delicious! I used a turkey breast and rubbed the mayo under the skin as well as on top. I seasoned it with seasoning salt (contains garlic, celery, onion), black pepper and paprika. I didn't have a chance to make gravy. It was good without it. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      This recipe certainly lived up to expectations...the meat really was moist and delicious, even when the leftovers were reheated in the microwave. I used the suggestion of adding some white wine to the broth, and the gravy was also exceptional. I used a 6 pound breast (weighed after the backbone was removed) and it took 3 hours to cook in my oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2013

      Include me in the list of skeptics, I'd never tried to make a whole turkey or even a breast before. Much less for a holiday meal. Declare me converted! The entire clan commented on how moist it was. Isn't the turkey always dry? Not this one! <br/>I used a bone in 41/2 lb. breast and followed the instructions to the letter. I did put some veggies and aromatics underneath the bird to enhance the flavor of the broth and the gravy. Wonderful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2013

      Absolutely the BEST turkey I have EVER had in 48 years! Added 1/2 packet onion soup to the broth and the other half to the mayo. The flavor was so awesome I didn't even make gravy! Just a tablespoon of drippings drizzled over the sliced turkey and everyone was amazed at the flavor. Never will make a turkey any other way!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2012

      Made this for Thanksgiving and had wonderful, moist turkey! With just a breast, there weren't a ton of leftovers which was great, too. Thanks for sharing the recipe! UPDATE: Used this method for a whole turkey and gravy. Excellent moist turkey, due in part to use of a meat thermometer to ensure I didn't overcook. This really is a fantastic method. White meat was moist and delicious, better than brined turkeys I've made in the past and so much simpler. Strained the drippings and made gravy which was a good, simple turkey gravy. Honestly, no one around here seems to eat gravy so I'll probably just skip that step next time. Will make again! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2012

      I made a turkey breast for the first time with this recipe and it turned out wonderful! I'm not a huge white meat fan because it can be too dry, but this was moist with great flavor. I also added a few sprigs of fresh thyme to give it a little extra flavor. I used dry white wine instead of broth, and the wine and the thyme go very well together. I would highly recommend this to anyone! Try it! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Moist and Tender Turkey Breast

    Serving Size: 1 (225 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 340.2
     
    Calories from Fat 159
    46%
    Total Fat 17.6 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 6.1 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 133.3 mg
    44%
    Sodium 247.3 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.4 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 42.0 g
    84%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites