119 Reviews

I can't say enough good things about this recipe! I made it for my Christmas Eve dinner, and everyone RAVED over it, saying it's the best they've ever had! It was so moist and still moist days after for leftover turkey sandwiches. And oh my gosh, the gravy! My sister-in-law wanted to bathe in this delicious gravy, lol! To answer another rater's question as to how to make the gravy, this is what I did: I poured the cooking juices from the bottom of the pan into a gravy separater and let the fat rise. I saw that I had 4 cups of liquid, so I skimmed 4 tablespoons of fat off the top of the cooking liquid and mixed it with 4 tablespoons of flour in a cooking pot, making a roux. Mix and stir constantly over medium heat for about 4 minutes or so. Then add the liquid very slowly, stirring constantly. Bring to a rolling boil and then let simmer for a few minutes until it reaches the desired consistency. It was PERFECT! Thank you, Marg!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mistydisa December 28, 2009

I have made bone-in turkey breast using this recipe several times, and it has always turned out moist and delicious! I rub light mayo both under the skin as well as on top, and also add freshly ground pepper, kosher salt (or Lawry's - it tastes great here), and minced garlic under and on the skin as well. I also add about half an onion, a couple carrots, garlic, and a few ribs of celery (all chopped) to the pan to ensure a more flavorful gravy (the veggies can make a nice side after roasting too) - it hasnt failed me so far. In order to make the gravy I go with a roux and whisk the (strained) broth/drippings mix and add a bit of milk to get enough volume. It is perfect every time. I also will tent foil around the bird to keep the broth from evaporating throughout the entire cooking process, and remove it about an hour before the bird is done so that it browns.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bethany January 25, 2010

WOW!! Include me with the other Reviewers who were skeptical and loved this recipe. I had a turkey breast, just under 6 pounds and 2 turkey thighs. I preheated the oven to 350 degrees and placed the turkey in a greased casserole, 9x13. I spread the turkey with mayo and some seasonings. I did not add the butter and broth, I try to stay away from gravy. I placed the pan in the preheated oven, uncovered for 1 3/4 hours. Then I removed it from the oven and covered with foil and let it set for 30 minutes. Perfect. The skin was a beautiful brown and the meat nice and juicy. Its a keeper.
Thanks Marg!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BABYBOP January 30, 2011

Superb! I loved that I didn't have to baste it since the mayo kept the skin from drying out. I followed the directions exactly (5 lb bone-in turkey) and turned it up to 350 for the last 30 minutes (total cooking time=2 hr, 45 min). The outside was crisp and the inside was moist--perfect texture all around. Next time I'll double the broth/butter so there is enough gravy for all the leftover turkey and mashed potatoes.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Literary Mom August 20, 2005

The turkey was very moist, no basting, my turkey was 11 lbs, so I cooked it at 325 and cover it with foil at the beginning, then turn up heat to 350 during the last 30 min. The turkey took 4 hours to cook, but very juicy and 13 people finished the whole turkey. Nothing left for tomorrow. And I only had one small piece. My husband wants me to cook it again tomorrow for another birthday party, cause he also had one piece only. Thanks for the recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elisapoon October 09, 2011

Excellent! I made it with a 15 pound whole turkey. The only thing I would do differently, is that I seasoned the bird my normal way, with Lawry's Salt. I would omit that, and make it exactly like the recipe, because it made the gravy too salty. Next time I make this it will be with my homemade chicken broth. The mayo made it so that the turkey did not need to be basted, hooray! It came out very moist.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SandyJasmine December 09, 2009

Wow! I used this recipe for a 3 lb. turkey breast I bought on sale at the grocery. I cooked it on 325 for 1 hour, then on 350 for 30 minutes and it was moist, tender, and delicious! I used the drippings to make gravy and made mashed potatoes as well. It was easily the best tasting and most inexpensive meal I've made in a while!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lookin4ideas January 28, 2009

I found a turkey breast in my freezer so I tried this recipe and I want to say WOW, THIS WAS GREAT. Looks like I'll be cooking Thanksgiving this year :-)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisakaykay September 30, 2011

What an easy take on turkey! We cooked two breasts and one big bird for a big Christmas party. All turned out a beautiful mahogany color and very tender. Forget the old basting ideas...This is a winner!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kerrlm January 04, 2011

My first attempt at making a turkey and it was a home run! I did double the butter and broth but everything else I followed exactly except I used lite Mayo because I did not have the full calorie kind in the house.. Used a 5 pound bone in breast and it was amazing. Can't wait to share this recipe with others. Yum!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lesley_cooks November 13, 2011
Moist and Tender Turkey Breast