Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Modern Minestrone Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Modern Minestrone

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on July 08, 2009

      This was so easy and delicious as well! I threw it all (except the cheese) in the crockpot and used a can of Italian stewed tomatoes instead of crushed and it turned out great! My new go-to minestrone recipe...will definately make it again with different veggies...I think it could take just about anything. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      Loved this recipe! So simple and quick! I used boullioun as we didn't have stock and it turned out great (although a little salty). I added kidney beans as well as some celery. YUM! Served w/ crusty bread = just perfect! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      SO easy and SO delicious: WOW! And like all soup recipes, very adaptable: if you don't have something on hand you can easily substitute something else. I made this pretty much to the recipe, except for using baby carrots and increasing the basil and garlic a tad. If I hadn't been planning on taking this to work for lunches during the coming week, I would have added some wine, perhaps inappropriately! I used my Vegetable Stock Vegetable Stock instead of water. Still amazed by how quick this was to make. Thanks, KelBel. I'll be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2007

      easy and good. what more could we ask for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2006

      I put green beans instead of peas and forgot the parmesan. It was a tasty simple meal with fresh buttered bread. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2005

      First minestrone I have tried that had peas in it. Next time I will use less peas and macaroni so there will be more broth. This soup was quick and easy with a tasty broth. I could eat just the broth it had such a nice flavor. Thanks KelBel. Bullwinkle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2005

      This was so easy to put together and great for a take to work lunch. I used homemade beef stock and the flavor was really incredible. Freezes and reheats well, too. Thanks for posting, KelBel.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2005

      This was fast, easy and delicious! What more can i say?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2005

      A wonderful, comforting soup. Even with some substitutions, this turned out delicious! I couldn't find crushed tomatoes, so used canned diced tomatoes instead. I have a can of red kidney beans sitting around, so I used that. Used frozen corn instead of peas (I don't like peas) and omitted the parmesan, due to personal taste. Thanks KelBel; I'm glad I tagged this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2005

      Modern Minestrone may be easily put together but comes to the table tasting like an old fashioned country soup! I used beef broth in the making but I'm sure it would be equally good using vegetable broth. We enjoyed this soup and thank you for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2005

      This had to have been the easiest thing i've thrown together to date. I used alphabet pasta (per my son's request) and lots of fresh basil. The water to broth ratio was perfect and it tasted so good with our grilled cheese and tomato sandwiches. Thanks for this great timesaver!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2005

      A nice warming soup for a dreary day! I used a beef base mixed with water and added 1 additional carrot. There was some left over corn in the fridge which went in the pot with the other veggies. Did not have elbow macaroni so I used small shell pasta. Served this warming soup with Fresh Roma Tomato, Basil and Oregano Bruschetta Fresh Roma Tomato, Basil & Oregano Bruschetta for a very satisfying meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2004

      Very good - I have been eating lunch all week on this. I only had one can of beef broth so used a can of mixed vegetables, undrained with it, and used only one clove of garlic (personal preference.) Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Modern Minestrone

    Serving Size: 1 (403 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 217.0
     
    Calories from Fat 25
    11%
    Total Fat 2.8 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 5.3 mg
    1%
    Sodium 619.6 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.9 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 7.7 g
    30%
    Sugars 5.7 g
    23%
    Protein 12.3 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes