Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Everyday Party Ideas >

    Weeknight Dinner Winners

    Weeknight Dinner Winners

    27 Easy, Crowd-Pleasing Recipes
    Popcorn, 25 Ways

    Popcorn, 25 Ways

    Movie Night Just Got Way More Fun
    37 Ways to Party With Pizza

    37 Ways to Party With Pizza

    It's Not Delivery, It's All You
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mock Sushi- a childrens treat Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mock Sushi- a childrens treat

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on November 15, 2002

      These were soooo adorable! I can't believe how cute they turned out and I even thought they tasted great! I got 4 rolls out of mine and had a little strip of plain rice krispie treats left, which did not go to waste. I still got 48 out of the recipe, since it was a 12" wide pan and you cut each of the 4 rolls into 1" pieces. I used sour neon gummy worms (only needed 3-4 in each roll, and they were overlapping a bit) and strawberry fruit by the foot (needed 8 rolls). The kids loved them and the flavors actually go well together (I thought they would be kind of yucky...oh no, I am turning into a kid after eating them! :) Anyway, thanks dayla, so much for posting this. I will be making this over and over again for parties, bake sales, etc. P.S. I would suggest letting the mixture set for a couple minutes before pressing into pan. Then allow to set a few more minutes before attempting to roll...my first roll was a bit messy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2012

      I cannot tell you how much I (and everyone else) LOVED this recipe! It was so simple that I had my 8 year old working on a tray while I worked on a second one. I got a pack of multi-colored Twizzlers and sour gummy worms for filling and I used the tie-dye Fruit Roll-Ups for a funky color on the outside. I used a large sheet pan (I think it's 12x18 or something like that) and I got 5 rolls but I do not remember how many pieces I cut them into so I don't know the final count. I was enough to fill the tray that I made them in, though. I made them for my sister's Asian themed 14th birthday party and they got rave reviews from all of the guests. A few of the girls asked me to make them for their birthday parties. I served them with chocolate syrup for soy sauce and they disappeared so quickly that I didn't even get a picture! Thank you so much for posting. I already have plans to make them again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      Made these to take to a chinese themed cub scouts banquet. Honestly, who can't resist rice crispies.... especially when these little critters are so stinkin' cute? Used the yo-go rollups for wrapping around and topped with colored sweedish fish for a little flare.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

      This recipe is so cute! We are taking our children on a trip to Japan soon. My son's teacher has asked him to do a presentation once we get home. I will make these to take in to the class with chop sticks. LOL! I am so excited about this recipe! Thank you so much for sharing it! Oh and I am not worried about the taste. It has masrshmallows, gummy worms and fruit leather. What's not to love?! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2008

      I used this recipe for my Wednesday night kid's in the kitchen night at our church and these went over really well. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      Everyone at my party loved this one...super easy and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2007

      This was so fun. I made these for April Fools Day dessert. When I told the kids we had sushi for dessert their noses all turned up until I uncovered these. I have been asked to make these for my DD's birthday parties. They were fairly easy to put together and tasted better then I expected. They really do look adorable, I will be making them often, as this is a treat I don't mind the kids having.....thanks so much....Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2006

      Many raves! Before making Rice Krispies squares, we prepared the rollups by unwrapping them and stacking them. I cut the Rice Krispies into squares 4 inches by about 3 inches, placed a worm in the center of each square, and wrapped it in a Rollup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2006

      Awesome my dayhome kids loved them. I bought the wrong rollups but we improvised. I only one piece. Thanks for sharing these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2005

      This is probably one of the most creative treats I've ever seen. And they're a delicious blend of tart from the fruit and sweet from the rice crispy treats!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2004

      These were a big hit with the kids. A bit messy to make, but a huge hit when my son took these to his school party.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2004

      this is the cutest thing EVER.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2003

      A real hit with my family, along with the comment "could you make these for my school party?" My only concern is how STICKY they are when putting them together. Between the krispies, gummies, and fruit strips, invariably something gets stuck where it doesn't belong. Even after allowing the krispie treat to rest a while, I was still up to my elbows in butter trying to keep everything from sticking -- any suggestions on how to keep the sticky quality to a minimum. Thanks for the recipe. I'm certain I'll make it again (maybe when the humidity is lower.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2003

      These were alot of fun. The kids all loved them. I made the rice krispie rolls and let them set up a bit, then I wrapped the fruit rollup around the rice krispie logs, gave them a squish to pack everything in and let them sit for a bit more before I sliced them. They sliced perfect and looked just like a sushi roll. I will make these again. Thanks for a fun recipe...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2003

      This was such a fun recipe! As long as you know how to make rice crispie squares, it's easy to set everything up. The recommendations I can make? 1)Dont make the rolls too wide, otherwise it's hard to get the fruit roll up around it without tearing it. I had to give mine an extra squeeze or two to narrow them down...of course, it also helped in making them more round. 2)Try to buy fruit roll ups that don't have shapes. I unknowingly did and they tore easily on those lines. When that happened, I just squeezed the roll smaller and smoothed the tear over. 3)I suggest removing the fruit roll ups from the packages and laying them out flat, seperate from each other and that plastic film. It'll make things move faster, and you hands get sticky and slippery from this. Just makes it easier. That's all I can think of for now. This really is a creative, fun, and nummy recipe. I definately give it 2 thumbs up! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2003

      This was the hit of Thanksgiving weekend. I had 5 kids helping me make them and all five eating them as we went along. They took the "sushi" in their packs when they went skiing and it provided a great snack while on the mountain. Make SURE you buy fruit rolls and not leather, as I did. I had to cut it into strips but it worked out. My SIL asked for the recipe right away after seeing how adorable they were. Thanks so much-especially from Claire (the 6-yr.-old)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mock Sushi- a childrens treat

    Serving Size: 1 (573 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 560.1
     
    Calories from Fat 109
    19%
    Total Fat 12.1 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 7.4 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 478.0 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 113.4 g
    37%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 53.8 g
    215%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fruit leather

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes