19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I was doing the vegan challenge for ZWT9 and needed a substitute for feta cheese and this worked out well. As a matter fact we liked it better than feta in the recipe I used. Very tasty, I used extra firm tofu and it worked well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morgainegeiser July 24, 2013

I pressed my tofu for a full 15 hours before using it and then squeezed out any excess liquid and pressed it with a paper towel. Taking the advice of some of the reviewers, I doubled the salt and cut down on the vinegar; however, it wasn't vinegary enough for me and I added it back in. I put this all together in a mason jar with a couple sprigs of fresh oregano (I used chopped fresh oregano) and put it into the refrigerator. I marinated it for a couple days, turning the jar and shaking it up so the tofu cubes would all be covered. Today I tasted it and it is delicious. Salty like feta, it even has the texture of feta. Unfortunately, the red wine vinegar turned it colors, but I will make it again with Bragg's apple cider vinegar. What a great recipe. Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gingersnap313 March 26, 2013

Good recipe! I crumbled this and it LOOKS just like feta. Dairy/meat-free items will never be exact replicas, you need to just appreciate them for what they are- delicious stand-ins. This recipe held up well in that regard. I agree the red wine vinegar was a bit overpowering, I reduced it a pinch and still would have left more out. Served in a greek salad and have TONS left (even when halving recipe).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmilyStrikesAgain December 21, 2008

This was so delicious! I was shocked at how delicious this was!!! I was a little nervous about how raw tofu would taste...so I marinated it for 24 hours just to make sure the flavor would all soak in well and it did!!! My friends were even surprised when I told them it was tofu. ;) It must be the vinegar, but the tofu firmed up a little and made it perfectly decieving. I'm so excited about this fake feta and already have ideas on how I'm going to use it next. I used it to make Cucumber Boats and I believe the seasonings from this fake feta actually made it taste even better than real feta cheese would have (and I LOVE real feta). Thanks so much Vino Girl for another great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Enjolinfam June 10, 2008

I made a few modifications and it came out great! I put it on top of spaghetti squash and both my husband and mother in law, who are not vegan, loved it. My husband is even asking me to make the same dish for lunch today so we can have the rest of the "feta."<br/>Here are my modifications:<br/>First, I halved the recipe. For the vinegar I used 2tbs red wine vinegar and 2tbs apple cider vinegar. <br/>I added about 2 tbs nutritional yeast,and<br/>about 1/3 cup almond meal<br/>After leaving it for an hour to set it was still very wet, so I baked it at 350 for about 15 minutes. It was still after that a little wetter than I wanted it so next time I will probably cut down the liquids even more, but besides that it came out great and I definitely will be making it again.<br/>Thanks for the awesome recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
e.sparenberg January 15, 2015

This is a great recipe. I've made it twice, the first time by the recipe, the second time replacing the water with the juice from a bottle of green olives and with apple cider vinegar. I preffered the second version, but both were great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crystal S. August 11, 2014

This tastes really good. I used apple cider vinegar since I'm not a big fan of red wine vinegar. It doesn't taste like feta to me. But it is a good substitute for it prepared this way. I'll definitely use this recipe again in the future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maryandkevinaz September 04, 2013

I used a half a pound of tofu and cubed it very small. I did squeeze some water out of it, but next time I will really try to get it a bit more dry so that it will soak up more of the goodness. I felt that it should have been MUCH saltier to reflect feta better and will add more salt next time I make it. I didn't find the vinegar overpowering. Used this in a greek chickpea salad that we put in a wrap. I think this would be very fun atop a salad which is what I will do with my leftovers :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride June 08, 2012

You have made me a convert to tofu. I have never liked it before. Great recipe for my daughter who is allergic to dairy. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
quitoslady #2 February 29, 2012

We will be using this recipe a LOT-- thanks!
Marinated for an hour in the fridge and then drained through cheesecloth.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsFunner September 24, 2011
Mock Feta Cheese ( Vegan Substitute )