Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mock Feta Cheese ( Vegan Substitute ) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mock Feta Cheese ( Vegan Substitute )

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on July 24, 2013

      I was doing the vegan challenge for ZWT9 and needed a substitute for feta cheese and this worked out well. As a matter fact we liked it better than feta in the recipe I used. Very tasty, I used extra firm tofu and it worked well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2013

      I pressed my tofu for a full 15 hours before using it and then squeezed out any excess liquid and pressed it with a paper towel. Taking the advice of some of the reviewers, I doubled the salt and cut down on the vinegar; however, it wasn't vinegary enough for me and I added it back in. I put this all together in a mason jar with a couple sprigs of fresh oregano (I used chopped fresh oregano) and put it into the refrigerator. I marinated it for a couple days, turning the jar and shaking it up so the tofu cubes would all be covered. Today I tasted it and it is delicious. Salty like feta, it even has the texture of feta. Unfortunately, the red wine vinegar turned it colors, but I will make it again with Bragg's apple cider vinegar. What a great recipe. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      Good recipe! I crumbled this and it LOOKS just like feta. Dairy/meat-free items will never be exact replicas, you need to just appreciate them for what they are- delicious stand-ins. This recipe held up well in that regard. I agree the red wine vinegar was a bit overpowering, I reduced it a pinch and still would have left more out. Served in a greek salad and have TONS left (even when halving recipe).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      This was so delicious! I was shocked at how delicious this was!!! I was a little nervous about how raw tofu would taste...so I marinated it for 24 hours just to make sure the flavor would all soak in well and it did!!! My friends were even surprised when I told them it was tofu. ;) It must be the vinegar, but the tofu firmed up a little and made it perfectly decieving. I'm so excited about this fake feta and already have ideas on how I'm going to use it next. I used it to make Cucumber Boats and I believe the seasonings from this fake feta actually made it taste even better than real feta cheese would have (and I LOVE real feta). Thanks so much Vino Girl for another great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2014

      This is a great recipe. I've made it twice, the first time by the recipe, the second time replacing the water with the juice from a bottle of green olives and with apple cider vinegar. I preffered the second version, but both were great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2013

      This tastes really good. I used apple cider vinegar since I'm not a big fan of red wine vinegar. It doesn't taste like feta to me. But it is a good substitute for it prepared this way. I'll definitely use this recipe again in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2012

      I used a half a pound of tofu and cubed it very small. I did squeeze some water out of it, but next time I will really try to get it a bit more dry so that it will soak up more of the goodness. I felt that it should have been MUCH saltier to reflect feta better and will add more salt next time I make it. I didn't find the vinegar overpowering. Used this in a greek chickpea salad that we put in a wrap. I think this would be very fun atop a salad which is what I will do with my leftovers :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2012

      You have made me a convert to tofu. I have never liked it before. Great recipe for my daughter who is allergic to dairy. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2011

      We will be using this recipe a LOT-- thanks!
      Marinated for an hour in the fridge and then drained through cheesecloth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2011

      This was very tasty. Per some other reviews I modified it a bit. I reduced the olive oil a bit and the water too. I reduced the amount of vinegar and used half Braggs apple cider vinegar and half red wine vinegar. I also used extra firm tofu. I made it for delightful vegetable pasta salad and it was a big hit. Many asked me what kind of cheese it was! So easy. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2011

      Great recipe. I used apple cider vinegar instead of red wine vinegar and that may have helped it have less of an overpowering taste. I'm not a big fan of feta, but one of my favorite recipes calls for it. This is a great substitute to give the same bite and salt as the feta, without any of those unfriendly dairy ingredients. Thanks for bringing back my grape and feta salad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      Great substitute! Of course not exactly like the real stuff, but a great stand in if trying to avoid dairy. Thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      Wow! This really worked! I was in a bind and needed feta but could not take the 1 hr round trip to the store. This was very close and worked well. I would use this again if I was in a pinch. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2008

      This was good but the red wine vinegar was a bit overpowering. Also with all the liquid ingredients in this recipe the mixture was a bit soupy. After letting it sit overnight to meld, I drained all the extra liquid I could off. Next time I will omit the olive oil and cut the red wine vinegar to 1/4 cup. This tasted great on cucumber slices and also on crackers. Tomorrow I'm going to try it in a Greek salad. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      Great flavor and so simple and easy to make! I enjoyed the flavors of the herbs. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2008

      Really good...I have cheese issues and am a recovering cheese addict...this recipe is a wonderful withdrawal aid {{lol}}- I 1/2-ed the batch and let it sit in the marinade for over a day...my tofu was properly pressed as prepped and absorbed the flavor nicely...quite cheese like...I ate it with a rustic wheat sprout bread ala essene style and with a sprouted salad with oven dried herbed garden tomatoes...wonderful...thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      Very tasty and very easy to make. I let it sit in a thin mesh strainer for awhile. Enjoy being a vegan but miss the cheeses! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2007

      I LIKE this! No, it's not a dead ringer for feta, but it's close enough, at least when I used it to replace the feta in my greens and pasta recipe from Molly Katzen (posted on Zaar). I used frozen greens and instead of feta, used the mock variety. Enjoyed it very much! I plan to do many times, perhaps changing the vinegar and/or spices to create other flavors. Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mock Feta Cheese ( Vegan Substitute )

    Serving Size: 1 (43 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 51.6
     
    Calories from Fat 41
    79%
    Total Fat 4.5 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 294.9 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.6 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 2.3 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites