13 Reviews

These really are tasty and I LOVE cheese! But since it took me 3 tries to get it right, let me offer a bit of advise: 1) let cool on cookie sheet for about 2 minutes before removing. Silly me tried to take them off the sheets when they were still hot... does not work! 2) they will stick to paper towels some, I found waxed paper to work better. 3) definitally grab some sour cream, because they are heavenly with it! 4) I found that spreading the cheese out about 1/16 of an inch thick instead of making a little mound worked better for me, otherwise the middle was still not done when the edges were. 5) just a thought for those going low carb: I had one that really spread out, I bent it into a taco shell shape by accident when putting it on the wax paper. I was able to load this baby up with sour cream, salsa and some chicken! Tacos anyone? Thanks for sharing Maureen! I have to go make some more, because these were supposed to be my lunch tomorrow, but it seems they are already gone! ;)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Bekah~ November 18, 2003

Very yummy! Of course, they are just bits of toasted cheese, so I didn't expect them to magically transform into something different. I happen to absolutely love crispy bits of cheese so these were right up my alley. I forgot to grease the parchment but cheese is pretty greasy so they didn't stick at all. I'm LCing and this is perfect. I'll be doing this often, since it's so easy and tasty. Thanks for posting this fabulous idea!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheffie M September 24, 2015

I read through all the reviews and took the needed info to prepare these tasty cheese bits...with that said...they tasted like bits of cheese...so in the future I think I will just slice a piece of cheese off the old block and enjoy it...I do think this would make a great taco shell if you increased the amount of cheese and made a large circle to fold over...thanks for posting the recipe...=)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas November 09, 2013

I also will microwave a slice of cheese, for one minute on parchment paper. Can cut in fourths for smaller crackers and microwave. Or following directions toast in oven. Love them for a low carb snack.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kstor1 December 28, 2009

I had so many problems with this recipe. I followed some of the comments about spreading out thinner, but they did not get crispy. I even baked one batch for 12 minutes and it was still oily and not crispy. I thought it may of been the cheese, (it was a 2% milk blend), so switch to a regular sharp shredded cheese. It was somewhat better, but still had to bake longer, and it still seemed oily. Would of been easier to have had a Cheese-it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Always in the kitchen Connie February 18, 2007

extremely quick, easy, and they DO taste like cheezit crackers!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
torgse February 16, 2007

Very very good! Suggestion: Make sure you keep them a half dollar size, and sort of spread them out - that way they get crispier! Loved with salsa..mmmmm

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lovemyfam February 06, 2007

These are great!! only thing i would suggest is to level out the cheese on the pan instead of heaping it.. makes it really crisp.. Thank you soooo much for the recipe!! Five stars all the way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daggle December 30, 2006

I agree that these are good. Mine never crisped all the way through either, but I liked them that way. Super easy snack! Thanks so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loves2Teach June 15, 2005

I make these in the microwave, but you can only make them one at a time! Put a piece of non stick baking parchment on a microwaveable plate and pile the cheese on top just the same as the oven recipe. Zap it on full power for as long as it takes to get crispy...it will vary according to your microwave, but it is always longer than you think it will be. Don't be tempted to take them out too soon as they won't crisp. You'll soon get used to the time it takes after the first couple. I usually just make a few at a time quite large ones and break them into pieces and put them into an airtight container to munch instead of potato chips.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patchwork Dragon June 03, 2005
Mock Cheese-It Crackers