Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mochi Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mochi

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on February 07, 2009

      yummy, very sticky, but manageable. only makes about 6-7 smallish mochi, so if you've bothered to make a kilo/2lbs of red bean paste, you're going to need to multipy the recipe considerably!! also, i only needed to stir the dough for about 30 seconds til the lumps were gone. i only microwaved for 2.5 minutes and kneaded the dough for 2 minutes (wrap the ziploc bag containing the hot dough in a towel to be able to start kneading straight away). greased scissors or knife is a MUST. also, i filled mine with homemade red bean paste (pretty good); others with flaked, roasted almonds and brown sugar, then rolled the balls in toasted sesame seeds... REALLY good! nice recipe, but quite a lot of work. the great thing is it's cheap, fun, and you probably already have the ingredients at home :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      easier than other recipes, but too sticky to fill and roll into balls...the only thing I could make out of it was to grease the scissors and just cut the dough into pieces.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      this is so easy to make! taste exactly like the muah chee sold in pasar malan in Singapore. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2008

      So quick and easy to make! I put a little guava jelly in it and it was wonderful. My cat even liked it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      I liked the subtle flavor. I used honey instead of sugar and I ended up needing more flour. I don't recomend multiplying it too many more times at once. I multiplied it seven times and working with that much more increadibly sticky dough nearly made me bonkers. I took the recomendation to cut a hole in the zip bag and squeeze the dough out then cut with a kitchen scissors. That worked decently well. I also wraped some sweet bean paste in some of the mochi balls and I like that better than the plain. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2008

      These were really quick and easy to make and turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      I love that I can now make this at home, so quick, cheap and easy! Love the micro and bag methods! The only problem I had was that 5 T of water wasn't enough, I think I added 3 or 4 more to the mix, other than that it was perfect! My toddler is in love and wanted more more more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2007

      What a neat recipe! This was simpler to make than I expected, especially the part where you knead the dough in a plastic bag. I sprinkled a little sugar on top of the peanut-covered mochi immediately before serving -- I didn't have a problem with the mochi being too sticky. Thanks for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2007

      This was okay. It was extremely sticky while making. If you want a traditional taste of Japan, go for it. My modern tastebuds definately did not crave more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2007

      Perfect perfect perfect. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2006

      Yesh! ^^ I am doing a report on Mochi and this was exactly what I was looking for! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2006

      This turned out very well! Easy to do too. However it isn't what I once tasted - black and white mochi balls in a sweet sauce .. tasted like it contained coconut milk. I will keep searching for sauce recipe and use your basic mochi recipe. Thanks a lot

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2006

      These were really fun and easy to make and turned out wonderfully for me. When I made mine, I used more rice flour instead of peanuts to coat. Also, I didn't have any red bean paste ready and wanted to eat them right away, so I filled them with a little bit of strawberry preserves which tasted great. Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2005

      I grew up in Hawaii and love mochi too, with the sweet red bean paste inside. Have bought from grocery store, but want to try it on my own. So happy to have found your recipe and thank you for your post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2005

      I grew up in Taiwan and I LURVE mochi. I never thought of making it myself, but as long as I can find the right rice powdre, I'd love to try...also don't have a microwave...hmmm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mochi

    Serving Size: 1 (94 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 247.4
     
    Calories from Fat 78
    31%
    Total Fat 8.6 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.1 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 7.0 g
    28%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites