16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Toni - boy you have a winner here of a coffee drink! I really enjoyed all the flavors of the chocolate and the spices with the coffee. Because of how my coffee pot works I could not add the spices to the grounds so I made my coffee and put the spices in with the milk mixture on the stove. It probably was not as pretty mixing spices that way than brewing it but it still tasted fabulous! Thanks for sharing this gem! Made for the Potluck Tag Game :~)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom July 31, 2009

Made for the *Best of 2008* cookbook game, DH & I enjoyed this treat as dessert coffee last nite. My version was not non-fat as you intended since I used reg milk & choc syrup. I also reversed Prep Steps 1 & 2, made the milk mixture 1st, poured it into my coffeepot & brewed the coffee right into it so it was hot for easy refills. I esp liked the nutmeg & 2 of us drank every last drop! Thx for sharing this recipe w/us. :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis February 23, 2009

Another grand coffee treat for me to love. I think that the "secret" to this blending is the brown sugar. It adds a lovely earthy sweetness, I used Splenda brown in 1/2 the ask for amount and used cocoa that I pre mixed with the milk for the chocolate syrup,also to save sugar . I used Vanillin and added it to the brew basket. Was tempted to drop a cinnamon stick into the cup but resisted that impulse this time, lol. Wonderful sipping and dunking coffee. In this case the dunkee's were 2 Butter Pecan Biscotti :D.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia December 22, 2008

5 Stars, delightful, we like our coffee sweet, with chocolate. The cinnamon and nutmeg made this very special with very little effort, and I was not overwhelmed by the amount of nutmeg as the water brewed through it, the full amount was not sitting in the resulting coffee. It was a snap to use the drip coffee maker this way. The only change I made was to pour the milk-chocolate-sugar mixture into the coffee pot so the rest would stay hot as we drank our first mugs. (I used decaf coffee so I won't be bouncing off the walls!) Thank you for posting this, toni, it's wonderful! Made for HokiesLady’s 30 Minutes or Less Party in Potluck Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL November 29, 2008

Toni, I would definitely make this again, because I think it has great potential, but we found the nutmeg to be overpowering. Next time I'll use just a pinch. Made for Went to the Market tag, please see my rating system.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup February 06, 2008

A lovely way to enjoy your morning coffee, or anytime you choose to share a cup with a friend. I used decaf coffee, Organic Skim milk and regular Hershey's syrup. I will surely be enjoying this again and again thanks to you, justcallemtoni!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev February 05, 2008

Chosen for Potluck Tag Fall 2007! This is awesome! Made it this morning, no fuss, simple and deeelicious. Not as heavy as many chocolatey coffee drinks. I did not have lite chocolate syrup, only had Hersheys Special Dark Syrup, and it worked just fine. Thanks for a great one, Toni. This will go into the book! ~Messy44

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Messy44 October 06, 2007

What a lovely treat Toni, my dh & I loved this coffee, it was sweet with a nice subtle spice & chocolate flavour. I used fresh ground spices & homemade vanilla, I find it makes a big difference to the overall flavour. Thanks so much for sharing this quick and easy to make recipe Toni, it will be enjoyed often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato February 01, 2007

I cut the recipe in half, loved it. My daughter tried it and said it reminded her of pumpkin pie! This will make a great gift for my coffee loving friends. Thanks Toni!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 October 29, 2006

My husband and I are coffee lovers that always try to experiment instead of spending 4-6 USD for a cup of coffee at starbucks. This recipe is just as good if not better than starbucks mocca. We didn't have chocolate syrup so we subsituted it with cocoa powder. We also used bottled ground cinnamon & nutmeg. Definetely will make it again next time with freshly ground & also chocolate syrup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manerly February 17, 2006
Mocha Spiced Coffee