22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

More than wonderful!! DELICIOUS! I doubled the coffee and still thought it a very mild coffee taste. But I love how the chocolate layer gets so fudgy!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn April 17, 2009

thanks been searching EVERYWHERE for this recipe!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aprilmayhem June 25, 2010

So easy and yummy! I made these last night as part of my early Christmas baking, and I'm so glad I decided to try them. The only change I made was to substitute finely chopped pecans for the walnuts because that's what I had on hand. I'm really impressed with the fudgy-cinnamony flavor, and the "crumbles" on top are nice and crispy. Twenty minutes was the perfect amount of bake time for me. The only thing I may change in the future would be to add more instant coffee, because I can't really taste the coffee as the recipe is written. I've only had them room temperature so far, but I really look forward to trying them chilled and frozen after reading the previous reviewers' suggestions. Thanks so much for posting...I'm sure these are going to be a big hit!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Outnumbered By Peanuts November 19, 2008

These were so unbelievably good! I had to adjust my cooking time because I only had a 9x13 pan available (added probably a good 20 minutes) but they still came out well. TIP: Do chill before cutting. It's great cold! So moist and fudgy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shasha June 29, 2008

I bake a lot for work cookies,cakes, etc. My co-workers say these are their favorite. I adjusted the recipe by adding a little vanilla flavoring and sprinkle more walnuts with the chips on top along with just a touch of finishing salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eodonnellp_340727 March 27, 2015

I loved these. But I thought the coffee flavor was too mild. I would say to double the amount. Very rich and very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise G. August 30, 2014

These were quite tasty. I doubled the coffee and still didnt think it was very evident. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tamaretta May 05, 2014

These bars taste fantastic! The recipe is almost identical to my grandma's old Mennonite recipe for "Revel Bars" (Her recipe didn't have coffee in it.) I will definitely make these treats again. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHERI LYNN L. January 21, 2013

These are really wonderful! Not too hard to make and I just love the crust! Not too much coffee flavor if you don't like that sort of thing, but easy to add more if you do. I didn't add the nuts for family who have aversions - but we didn't miss them at all! As for the smaller portions - chickens! ;-) Just kidding. Brace yourself, then pace yourself! ;-)-

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandiceb December 05, 2012

Wow! Remember to cut these into small squares because they are RICH!! I refrigerated the whole pan of these overnight before cutting. I took the advice of other reviewers and put more coffee into the mixture. I doubled the coffee amount. This is a real keeper. The crumbles on top are a nice touch. Lining the pan with aluminum foil made for easy cleanup, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvmybge October 28, 2012
Mocha Crumble Bars