Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mocha Buttercream Chocolate Espresso Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mocha Buttercream Chocolate Espresso Cake

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on May 04, 2009

      This is a beautiful chocolate cake and I am not a chocolate lover. May I suggest using coffee liqueur rather than the glaze suggested - gives a more pronounced flavor. Thanks for submitting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      Made this one this weekend. It was even better than we anticipated. It was so moist! sometimes buttercreams are too buttery for me , but this frosting was a great balance of sweet and buttery. We used instant espresso and the coffee flavor wasn't over-powering at all. It did exactly what it needed to do: enhanced the chocolate flavor and and added another flavor dimension. Highly reccommended!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2012

      I used semi sweet instead of bitter chocolate in the cake and butter cream, so it im not sure what it was suppose to taste like, but it was pretty good! I love anything espresso flavored! I deocorated it with toffee and chocolate sprinkles! Huge hit at my office potluck!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2012

      I wanted to make a mint mocha cake so, I replaced the vanilla extract with peppermint (1 for 1) and this is the best cake I've ever made, it was amazing, and I'm not a big cake lover. The end result was really light and refreshing with subtle flavors, and I can't wait to make it again. In the cake mix I used 1/4c cocoa, 3 tbls oil and 1/4c sugar to replace the baking chocolate (which yielded a nice dark brown cake), though I did use baking chocolate in the frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      Every time I make this cake my friends rave endlessly. The buttercream is perfect. I know it looks like a lot of frosting but because it's not overly sweet you can use all the recipe makes. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      I modified the recipe to be gluten free, but otherwise followed it as well as I could. The icing was the best! I couldn't stop licking my fingers. If I make it again, I'll put a bit of cocoa powder in the batter to make it nice and dark. As is, it's a light brown.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      made this for a Mom's day party, what a great response, not to sweet, very moist and stood up to all the Moms there. I followed the suggestion and used coffe liquer along with a very condensed coffee flavoring. am definalty keeping this one! thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      Awesome cake! I love coffee and chocolate, and this is no exception!! I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 butter flavored shortening for the cake but all butter for the frosting. I only had to use 3 cups of powdered sugar in the frosting and 2 T. of the coffee milk mixture as it was sweet enough. The coffee enhances and deepens the chocolate flavor for a blend that is superb! Thanks, Annacia!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      This was good, but I was expecting better. I couldn't taste the coffee glaze. Also, if I 'm going to put that much butter in something, I expect it to be heavenly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mocha Buttercream Chocolate Espresso Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (145 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 495.8
     
    Calories from Fat 221
    44%
    Total Fat 24.6 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 15.1 g
    75%
    Cholesterol 108.5 mg
    36%
    Sodium 414.3 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 66.4 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 53.3 g
    213%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes