Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mocha Brownies With Coffee Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mocha Brownies With Coffee Frosting

    Average Rating:

    81 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 81

    Sort by:

    • on September 21, 2007

      These were awesome. I was thinking of how beautiful they looked so beautiful while I was making them. Im glad I messed up the frosting because without them, these things were really really sweet. I'd probably knowck the sugar back down to 1 cup if I make these again. Thank you so much these were very very moist and reminded me of a firmer version of flourless chocolate cake. They were incredibly rich and Im pretty much set on one. Again, awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2007

      After three attempts I think I've finally got it just right for my family. I subbed 1/4 c. applesauce and 1/4 c. oil for the shortening, reduced the sugar by a 1/2 c. and did 2 whole eggs and 2 egg whites. Final cooking time was 20 minutes and they were perfect!!! Thank you so much for a brownie recipe that everyone loves no matter how many times in a row I make them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      My favorite brownie! Both the icing and the brownie are excellent. I made the brownies with all butter and with instant espresso instead of instant coffee and they came out fine. I did find the icing to be a bit sweet (this may be bc I had to use almond extract instead of vanilla), so I sprinkled some instant espresso on top and that really balanced the flavors. Another note about the icing: it is very heat sensitive, so you may want to put them in the fridge to get it to set, and if you are traveling in a warm car, you might want to have them in a cooler so the icing doesn't run.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      I can't truly rate this, as I didn't make the brownies, but made the frosting to go with Ultra Moist Starbucks Chocolate Cake (Or Cupcakes) But the icing was sooo good! I didn't have instant coffee, so I split the milk in half and used brewed coffee instead. Then to give more of a coffee flavor I added some of the coffee granules right into the icing, gave it an amazingly stronger coffee taste! Made 1 batch of icing for 12 cupcakes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2007

      I knew when I saw the picture and the reviews that I was gonna love this one and boy...I wish I could give it ten stars. YUMMMY!!! The only thing I did different was I added 1 tbs.cocoa to the instant coffee and 2Tbs. hot water to mix for the frosting. OOOOOOh these are terribly tempting-

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2013

      Marg, these are wonderful! I am a coffee lover, and these deliver! I cut sugar to 1 cup, because it is an issue for me, they turned out perfect!! Thanks for posting!! (I used a milk chocolate thin frosting, just right)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2013

      Great recipe! Easy to make and this is my favorite frosting ever. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2012

      The brownies could use more coffee flavor (I'll double it next time), and the frosting is good, but a little on the sweet side for me. I'm a little bummed at how easy the frosting melts, so you can't have anything but a fridge-cold brownie. :-(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2011

      Incredibly sweet...and that was after I cut half a cup of sugar from the brownie mix. The frosting is also really sweet. 1 or 1.5 cups of confectioner's sugar is probably enough for the frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2010

      These are delicious! I used all butter in the brownies, because I didn't realize I was out of shortening. Otherwise, I kept everything the same. I wouldn't change anything. This satisfies the chocolate lovers and the coffee lovers in our house. I made these for a bake sale, but knew that I would want some for myself, so I made an extra half batch and baked it in an 8" x 8" pan and baked the smaller pan for 20 minutes and it was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      SOOO amazing! I have tried my hand at SEVERAL brownie recipes, and they were bad! Either way to dry or very crumbly. I even tried each of them twice to be sure it wasnt me! Even the recipe on the back of my Nestle cocoa powder was just terrible. But This was just amazing! I did use two seperate baking dishes, so I could frost mine and not my husbands. Also I only put 1 1/2 cups of sugar. So It didnt take as long either (but I could have let them stay in there 5 more minutes for a chewier brownie, but I was scared to dry them out) . I also added some Cocoa to the frosting mix and cut it down by half, but man I could have used it all on mine! haha.. BRAVO!! 5 stars!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      So delicious and rich! I've made these many times and am ALWAYS asked for the recipe. They are so easy to make too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      These are really easy to make and good too!. My frosting didn't get too thick, but I think it was just too hot in the kitchen. Next time I might have to add a bit more powdered sugar if it doesn't set up right.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      My mother in St. Louis has fallen in love with these. I just mailed a batch to her yesterday. Easy, moist and most of all delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      Yummy brownies. Used about 1 1/2 c. sugar - made coffee flavor more pronounced. Frosting was delicious and SO easy. Will def make again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2009

      I only made the frosting--needed a coffee frosting and was lucky to find this one--easy to do, pipes beautifully and tastes terrific. I used espresso powder dissolved in 1/2 and 1/2. Thanks, Marg!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      Very rich, but delicious. I think I could have halved the frosting, or eliminated it all together. The brownie itself was the perfect consistency and very tasty. I will be making again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2009

      Fabulous dessert! The icing makes the whole recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2009

      What's to say? Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      Seriously, do you know how good these are?!?! Unbelievable. I think I gained 10 lbs after eating one but it was well worth it. Thank you, thank you, thank you....I think.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mocha Brownies With Coffee Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (29 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 48

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 127.9
     
    Calories from Fat 59
    46%
    Total Fat 6.5 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 25.7 mg
    8%
    Sodium 64.4 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.4 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 13.2 g
    53%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes