81 Reviews

These were awesome. I was thinking of how beautiful they looked so beautiful while I was making them. Im glad I messed up the frosting because without them, these things were really really sweet. I'd probably knowck the sugar back down to 1 cup if I make these again. Thank you so much these were very very moist and reminded me of a firmer version of flourless chocolate cake. They were incredibly rich and Im pretty much set on one. Again, awesome recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Confetti September 21, 2007

After three attempts I think I've finally got it just right for my family. I subbed 1/4 c. applesauce and 1/4 c. oil for the shortening, reduced the sugar by a 1/2 c. and did 2 whole eggs and 2 egg whites. Final cooking time was 20 minutes and they were perfect!!! Thank you so much for a brownie recipe that everyone loves no matter how many times in a row I make them!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cause4chubbyhubby March 09, 2007

My favorite brownie! Both the icing and the brownie are excellent. I made the brownies with all butter and with instant espresso instead of instant coffee and they came out fine. I did find the icing to be a bit sweet (this may be bc I had to use almond extract instead of vanilla), so I sprinkled some instant espresso on top and that really balanced the flavors. Another note about the icing: it is very heat sensitive, so you may want to put them in the fridge to get it to set, and if you are traveling in a warm car, you might want to have them in a cooler so the icing doesn't run.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oenophilly July 05, 2010

I can't truly rate this, as I didn't make the brownies, but made the frosting to go with Ultra Moist Starbucks Chocolate Cake (Or Cupcakes) But the icing was sooo good! I didn't have instant coffee, so I split the milk in half and used brewed coffee instead. Then to give more of a coffee flavor I added some of the coffee granules right into the icing, gave it an amazingly stronger coffee taste! Made 1 batch of icing for 12 cupcakes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaurieL. May 10, 2010

I knew when I saw the picture and the reviews that I was gonna love this one and boy...I wish I could give it ten stars. YUMMMY!!! The only thing I did different was I added 1 tbs.cocoa to the instant coffee and 2Tbs. hot water to mix for the frosting. OOOOOOh these are terribly tempting-

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizAnn April 04, 2007

Marg, these are wonderful! I am a coffee lover, and these deliver! I cut sugar to 1 cup, because it is an issue for me, they turned out perfect!! Thanks for posting!! (I used a milk chocolate thin frosting, just right)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tracyeileen April 27, 2013

Great recipe! Easy to make and this is my favorite frosting ever. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chippygirl January 20, 2013

The brownies could use more coffee flavor (I'll double it next time), and the frosting is good, but a little on the sweet side for me. I'm a little bummed at how easy the frosting melts, so you can't have anything but a fridge-cold brownie. :-(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Three Kids Make Me Crazy July 22, 2012

Incredibly sweet...and that was after I cut half a cup of sugar from the brownie mix. The frosting is also really sweet. 1 or 1.5 cups of confectioner's sugar is probably enough for the frosting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ht289 October 19, 2011

These are delicious! I used all butter in the brownies, because I didn't realize I was out of shortening. Otherwise, I kept everything the same. I wouldn't change anything. This satisfies the chocolate lovers and the coffee lovers in our house. I made these for a bake sale, but knew that I would want some for myself, so I made an extra half batch and baked it in an 8" x 8" pan and baked the smaller pan for 20 minutes and it was perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bridget Leigh November 18, 2010
Mocha Brownies With Coffee Frosting