9 Reviews

Wonderful glaze, have tried many over my long years, but non have been better than this, and most not lived up to it. Would tell anyone to give it a go, you won't be disappointed. Many thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annebooth22 January 27, 2006

Very nice ham, a nice change from the usual, the apple jelly,dejon and ginger were wonderfull as a glaze. I cut the brown sugar in half and used sugar twin brown. We really enjoyed the apple jelly, dejon, ginger flavour. Served it with a separate side of fresh pinapple spears roasted with humongus white mushrooms and a little butter. The two dishes really complimented each other. We will certainly use the apple jelly glaze again, very tasty. Thanks for sharing a great Easter ham recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf April 12, 2004

I made this recipe last night as part of a belated Easter dinner for a party of 5. WHAT A HIT!!! Everybody was impressed with how wonderful the sauce turned out. For some odd reason the grocery store I went to didn't have regular apple jelly, so instead I purchased "apple butter jam". This substitution was well worth the investment! I served this ham with Classic Green Bean Casserole (Classic Green Bean Casserole), Sweet Potato Mash (Sweet Potato Mash), and Spinach Apple Pecan Salad (Spinach, Apple and Pecan Salad). Very Nice! Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mayhem March 27, 2008

This recipe was delicious! I used this recipe for a 8 lb Spiral Ham and it turned out very good! My husband said this was the best ham he ever tasted. Thanks for the great recipe! I will definetely use it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitty 2 December 31, 2007

This really was yummy. I used it on a 9 lb ham and used my own homemade jelly. Mmm ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OLJ December 17, 2007

I made this ham for Thanksgiving and it was fantastic - almost a week later, my company was still talking about it. My glaze did not get thick and didn't cling to the meat (I don't know if it was supposed to), but turned more into a thick syrup that I just basted over the ham. But it's even great cold. I will definitely make this again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
delaneysmom December 11, 2007

This Thanksgiving, ham won the toss. So I looked for "something very specia;" I'm not a fan of apple jelly (too sweet) but with this combo, there are not enough words to describe how good this ham was. I had a 10 pound, bone-in ham fully cooked, followed the directions to the letter and came up with "the best ham we ever had." This comes from the family, not just me. Thank you so very much Kim. Five stars are so lame for this Mmmmmmmmmm-Ham!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kitelady November 27, 2006

This was a wonderful glaze! I made this for Easter dinner and it was so good. I have never used apple jelly before, but it was over the top! It would be good on pork or chicken I would imagine. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carole in orlando April 23, 2006

This was WONDERFUL! Made it for Easter. Screwd up at the grocery store and bought peach preserves instead of apple jelly, and it turned out beautifully anyway! Like the other reviewer, I too used Sugar Twin brown sugar. Pointless really, since I used a whole jar of peach preserves, but whatever. It made such a nice glaze for the ham, and a wonderful sauce. And SO easy. I will definitely make this again. Thank you for a GREAT recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jmelyn March 27, 2005
Mmm-Ham