21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

mmm used to have this as a child and completely forgot about it until I stumbled upon this recipe, it isn't bed time here but I just had to make this! Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jade M. March 22, 2014

yummmm yummm yummy... its 11 pm on the east coast and i am trying do do anything to get some sleep and stumbled on this recipe.... and who would have thought that this drink would be as yummy as it is.. this is really tasty and sooo warm in the tummy.. i think i will need to make this for my son whenever he is antsy and cant sleep... so glad i tried this,, if i could give you 10 stars i would.. all should try this.. well off to finish my cup and go straight to bed for me

thanks Um for posting this... took a picture of this .. but will have to wait till tommorrow after i catch some well deserved Zzzzz's

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ssej1078_1251510 January 19, 2012

I often have this when I want a little comfort before bed - but we never had it with butter. Will try the next time and damn the few extra calories!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Acceptance June 09, 2010

Works like a charm! Thanks for posting this. My German mother and German-Polish Oma used to make this for me when I was a small child.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BecR February 26, 2010

I loved this! Mmmmm. Slept like a baby!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PearTree October 01, 2009

Delicious and very soothing for my sore throat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Autsayder August 31, 2009

Easy, yummy and effective! I am part Polish and we always added butter to our warm milk in cereals. I never knew why, I just knew it was delicious. I had to use 1% milk for this so I made sure to use the butter and it was great. I was off to sleep as soon as I was finished. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzy_Q June 25, 2009

This is very homey and relaxing; maybe even better than a cup of tea. And it's Polish which makes it even better! *wink*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mystere2e March 30, 2009

I've heard of a glass of warm milk being good for insomnia. This is WAY better. I loved the flavor and since I've been feeling a little under the weather, I added the butter. I just might be making this for myself before bed every night. Thanks for posting. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marney February 14, 2009

This is an old insomnia "cure" in my family. It's very good and very relaxing for some reason. I never knew it was a Polish thing though! Sometimes I add a tiny bit of fresh mint to mine. Works just fine with lower % milk too :) Thanks Um Safia! I never would have known.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma October 16, 2008
Mleko Z Miodem - Polish Milk & Honey Bedtime Drink