42 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good way to use left over, fresh or frozen vegetables depending on how much time you have. I added mushrooms (cooked them partially first until tender). <br/><br/>One package of frozen vegetables did not provide enough vegetables compared to the other ingredients so like others, I used two packages plus the mushrooms, kept 1/2 cup butter, and used a mixture of olive oil mayonnaise with low fat sour cream. The recipe, as is, also lacks seasoning and since our family likes a little kick, I added a mixture of seasonings along with a couple of tbsp of chopped jalapenos (not too hot but a little extra flavor).<br/><br/>I gave it 4 stars because of the lack of seasoning and the ratio of vegetables to other ingredients. Otherwise it is a very versatile quick and easy way to serve your family a lot of tasty vegetables.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jo Ellen T. December 26, 2013

I made this for Thanksgiving and it was really good and very easy to make. The topping could be reduced by half but depends on what size baking dish you use.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karenfar December 02, 2013

I've been making this for years. My family always requests it, especially during the holidays. I do make one small change - I half the mayo and add sour cream instead. It gives it some zest and reduces the fat. You can use light sour cream easily but the mayo seems to break if you use light. Enjoy! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kkgmckay November 27, 2013

Family loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetstar4 November 13, 2013

Great for a pot luck. I used light mayo and sour cream to cut the calories a bit. A cauliflower, carrot and broccoli mix worked great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CanadianEmily October 15, 2013

Yes, we share the same grandmother! So I couldn't help but post a review for this one. This casserole is so yummy. Even when I was 8 years old I gobbled it up. Yum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hersheykiss4me September 02, 2012

This was really good! I used the steam fresh veggies and made two alterations, used the suggestion of half sour cream and half mayo and I replaced half of the cheddar cheese with pepper jack to give it a little bite. YUMMY! Will be making this often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GS Leader May 21, 2012

Love this recipe. It's been a favorite in our family for over twenty years. Recently began omitting mayo and substituting cottage cheese for protein. We also like Cheez-its or other cheesy crackers instead of Ritz.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coffeebean1964 April 24, 2012

Everyone really seemed to like this at the family dinner I made it for. I followed the instructions fairly closely, though I left out the celery and added about the equivalent amount of fresh carrots chopped small. I also added some salt & pepper, cut down the mayo to about 3/4 cup based on the other reviews and just covered the top in seasoned bread crumbs instead of buttered crackers. It is definitely a keeper. Next time I think I would add some herbs such as oregano or thyme or dill to take it to the next level.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen67 July 04, 2011
Mixed Vegetable Casserole