42 Reviews

A wonderfully versatile and delicious recipe that makes including plenty of vegetables in one's diet all the easier; and enables one to add into it any other vegetables that are in abundance or needing to be used up. As a garlic and herbs fiend, I just had to include minced garlic and some herbs - rosemary, sage and thyme, a favourite combination - and I followed mums the word's suggestion and used half mayo and half low-fat sour cream. Apart from that I made this exactly to the recipe and portioned it into four small round casserole dishes: three destined for the freezer at the end of step 3 and one cooked for about 15 minutes. Great to know that those other three portions are in the freezer waiting to be enjoyed in the future. :) Thanks breezermom for a great vegetable recipe. Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder August 10, 2009

This was a great casserole! I brought it to a dinner banquet and someone stood up asked who had made the vegetable casserole because they had to have the recipe! We did make a few changes. Doubled the vegetables, but kept only 1/2 stick of butter in the recipe. A lot of people wanted the recipe that night! I will definitely substitute sour cream or yogurt for some of the mayo next time to help cut back on the fat. Thanks tons!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosemere November 22, 2012

Delicious! Imade the recipe as directed using "Summer Mixed Vegetables", A mixture of asparagus, carrots and squash. I used only 1 cup of cracker crumbs mixed with 3 Tbls of melted butter. We loved this dish.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorac June 19, 2012

I made this recipe the first time as part of our family Christmas dinner. I made it as written with one exception, I took the suggestion of another reviewer and used half mayo and half sour cream. My husband really enjoyed it and it has been added to my recipe file. I decided to turn it into a main dish casserole by adding cooked & shredded chicken breast and reducing the mixed vegetables by using a 10 oz. bag. I left the other amounts the same & baked for the same amount of time. It makes a nice sized casserole for two people with a reasonable amount of leftovers. All in all it is a tasty and easy recipe that I will be making again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ajmoak January 14, 2015

Wonderful, versatile veggie casserole. This is a great one to use up leftover veggies. I used a frozen asparagus medley (asparagus, red peppers, summer squash, broccoli and cauliflower. I used crushed Ritz and panko crumbs for the topping. Very easy to put together. Thanx!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* September 16, 2012

I've made this two times now and loved it both times! The first time I made the recipe exactly as written but the 2nd time I added a 10oz can white chicken to it to make this a main dish. Thanks for such a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jdubb07 February 03, 2009

Can't believe that I've not tried this yummy side before. I made a half amount and 3 of us cleaned it all up along with pork cutlets. Loved all of the ingredients and they are delicious together. I've printed the recipe and put it in my Holidays folder. Thank you very much breezer for this fab dish. Made for: For Your Consideration game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia April 07, 2015

My sister-in-law made this almost every holiday and I LOVE it. Even family members who did not eat a lot of vegetables, ate this!! Thank you for reminding me! In our many moves, I lost this recipe but this is the one we used!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carolina8 November 16, 2014

Loved this! I've made it twice now. The first time as written and it was yummy, hubby loved it. Since I thought this was just a bit too much mayo, the next time I used a can of condensed cream of mushroom soup instead. Its a definite keeper and has been added to our dinner rotations. Thanks so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TCosteniuc October 07, 2014

An easy yummy side dish! I skipped the onion and celery & used less mayo. I had guests coming over & made this dish & they were really impressed & asked me about the recipe. Definitely a keeper. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sara M. February 13, 2014
Mixed Vegetable Casserole