13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I just made my second batch a couple of weeks ago. This is the BEST! I definitely use the coriander and cardamom and the only change I make is I use pre-ground cinnamon (2 teaspoons). This is so much better than store-bought "Apple Pie Spice" or "Pumpkin Pie Spice."

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lauren H-C May 28, 2011

I got this in a spice swap last year and realized as I emptied the bag that it came that I have never submitted a review. This is a wonderful combination of flavors that goes well in baked goods or anything calling for mixed spices. Thank you much French Tart for sharing with me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG September 19, 2011

Another winner from my friend the Tartlett. A superb spice blend. I freshly ground all the required spices very fine, in my motar and pestle. The aroma, oh the aroma of the freshly ground spices was so comforting. I used it in Perfectly Chocolate Hershey's Hot Cocoa for an incredible mug of cocoa. Thank you so much for sharing another of your treasured recipes, I can't wait to try this blend with sour apples.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato February 19, 2011

I made half the recipe just so i could make -- Tasty's -- Deluxe Cinnamon Toast for ZWT6. I did not use the cardamon and coriander, This is similar to pumpkin pie spice and was excellent on the toast. Thanks for posting FT.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElaineAnn June 21, 2010

Made this a few days ago in preparation for use in an applesauce that Cookgirl posted. I did use the cardamon and coriander as I planned to use the spice also in a mango chutney that I was making but only used 1/2 tsp of coriander as I'm not a fan. So I figured if I was going to test this out I'd try some other things also. I made matzo balls using a big pinch of this spice. Very nice but will try with a bigger pinch next time. The chutney seems to be very good also but needs time to meld for the real flavor to come out. I think this would be good in a spice cookie and will try that down the road. Now I'm off to make the applesauce! Well, thank you FT for increasing my flavor palate!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Happy Harry #2 March 03, 2010

Very nice, complex spice! I have never had it before, so this was a treat. I used it in your pumpkin scones :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride January 27, 2010

I made this up for my swap partner in the Herbs and Spices Swap using all the optionals and while doing so, the heavenly aroma that filled my kitchen persuaded me to make a little for myself, too for trying it out in a pudding or other baked goods. This is such a lovely combination of flavours and really a special gift! Perfect for spicing hot chocolates, too! :) Very seasonal and so easy to make, too! THANKS SO MUCH for sharing this great recipe with us, FT! Ill certainly have this spice mix in my pantry from now on. Made and reviewed for the VIP in Veggie Swap #18 January 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula January 06, 2010

I've been preparing for fall/winter cooking today and made up a small batch of this spice mix for recipes. I was down to my last 1/8 teaspoon of ground coriander and I went ahead and added juniper berries. (I hope you don't mind.) Tried to use whole spices: cinnamon, allspice, cloves, juniper, etc. as much as possible. Looking forward to trying this spice mix in a variety of recipes. Today I'm using the spice mix with melted butter mixed with muscovado and ground up walnuts as a quick topping for baked butternut squash. Thanks for posting. cg

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl September 23, 2009

I agree with Annacia that this is a very potent spice mix. I made half a batch without the cardamom and coriander and it was very intense when made from freshly ground spices. However, when I used it in Hot Cross Buns it was wonderful and really gave that distinctly English aroma and flavour. To be honest I was never fond of mixed spice before but I have now become a convert.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Perfectionist cook June 14, 2008
Mixed Spice - Traditional Old Fashioned English Pudding Spice