Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mixed Spice - Traditional Old Fashioned English Pudding Spice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mixed Spice - Traditional Old Fashioned English Pudding Spice

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on May 28, 2011

      I just made my second batch a couple of weeks ago. This is the BEST! I definitely use the coriander and cardamom and the only change I make is I use pre-ground cinnamon (2 teaspoons). This is so much better than store-bought "Apple Pie Spice" or "Pumpkin Pie Spice."

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2011

      I got this in a spice swap last year and realized as I emptied the bag that it came that I have never submitted a review. This is a wonderful combination of flavors that goes well in baked goods or anything calling for mixed spices. Thank you much French Tart for sharing with me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      Yummy. I used this in Carob "cocoa", Hot for a delicious treat as well as Grilled Pineapple and Banana With Honey which was lovely. Originally made for Vegetarian/Vegan Recipe Tag Game - September 2010 in Kittencal's forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2011

      Another winner from my friend the Tartlett. A superb spice blend. I freshly ground all the required spices very fine, in my motar and pestle. The aroma, oh the aroma of the freshly ground spices was so comforting. I used it in Perfectly Chocolate Hershey's Hot Cocoa for an incredible mug of cocoa. Thank you so much for sharing another of your treasured recipes, I can't wait to try this blend with sour apples.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      I made half the recipe just so i could make -- Tasty's -- Deluxe Cinnamon Toast for ZWT6. I did not use the cardamon and coriander, This is similar to pumpkin pie spice and was excellent on the toast. Thanks for posting FT.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      Made this a few days ago in preparation for use in an applesauce that Cookgirl posted. I did use the cardamon and coriander as I planned to use the spice also in a mango chutney that I was making but only used 1/2 tsp of coriander as I'm not a fan. So I figured if I was going to test this out I'd try some other things also. I made matzo balls using a big pinch of this spice. Very nice but will try with a bigger pinch next time. The chutney seems to be very good also but needs time to meld for the real flavor to come out. I think this would be good in a spice cookie and will try that down the road. Now I'm off to make the applesauce! Well, thank you FT for increasing my flavor palate!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      Very nice, complex spice! I have never had it before, so this was a treat. I used it in your pumpkin scones :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      I made this up for my swap partner in the Herbs and Spices Swap using all the optionals and while doing so, the heavenly aroma that filled my kitchen persuaded me to make a little for myself, too for trying it out in a pudding or other baked goods. This is such a lovely combination of flavours and really a special gift! Perfect for spicing hot chocolates, too! :) Very seasonal and so easy to make, too! THANKS SO MUCH for sharing this great recipe with us, FT! Ill certainly have this spice mix in my pantry from now on. Made and reviewed for the VIP in Veggie Swap #18 January 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2009

      I've been preparing for fall/winter cooking today and made up a small batch of this spice mix for recipes. I was down to my last 1/8 teaspoon of ground coriander and I went ahead and added juniper berries. (I hope you don't mind.) Tried to use whole spices: cinnamon, allspice, cloves, juniper, etc. as much as possible. Looking forward to trying this spice mix in a variety of recipes. Today I'm using the spice mix with melted butter mixed with muscovado and ground up walnuts as a quick topping for baked butternut squash. Thanks for posting. cg

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      I agree with Annacia that this is a very potent spice mix. I made half a batch without the cardamom and coriander and it was very intense when made from freshly ground spices. However, when I used it in Hot Cross Buns it was wonderful and really gave that distinctly English aroma and flavour. To be honest I was never fond of mixed spice before but I have now become a convert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2008

      Being the 'scheduled' person that I am, I nevertheless, sometimes wait until the last minute, or at least am not always aware that I should have planned ahead for certain things! So there I was, ready to make a recipe that called for 'mixed spice' & I didn't have any! So, Zaar to the rescue, & especially French Tart! I still wasn't all prepared, but went ahead & made this recipe using already ground ingredients, including the alspice, cinnamon & clove, as well as the 2 optional ingredients! Can't say if the final product is good or bad, but I do know that it using it in the other recipe for a 'fruit loaf' made for a great-tasting treat! Thanks much for your recipes, French Tart ~ They're always so handy & trustworthy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      I really like all the flavors in this. I especially like the addition of coriander and cardamom. Planning on using this in baked goods, and maybe in rice, to go with curry dishes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

      I LOVE spice and this isn't a shy violet mix. It steps right up proclaims it's self in a wonderful forth right manner. I didn't have any cardamom but I did add the coriander and it really gives a new twist to the "Traditional". I used it with a sour cream cake but I think that it would be wonderful on pretty much anything, Honestly I think that I'm going to try it with shrimp! Thanks for a winner FT.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mixed Spice - Traditional Old Fashioned English Pudding Spice

    Serving Size: 1 (22 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 60.0
     
    Calories from Fat 26
    44%
    Total Fat 2.9 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 15.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.3 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 1.0 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes