8 Reviews

Excellent dressing Kari!! The sundried tomatoes really intensifies the tomato taste and complements the ginger,garlic and balsamic (my favourite) vinegar, without overpowering. We used a nice mix of romaine, redleaf and curly cabbage. This will certainly be added to my hard copy, thanks for sharing.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf November 03, 2002

This was an interesting blend & not bad at all. I think that I would prefer it as a veggie dip as opposed to a salad dressing. To me it was a little thick for a dressing (or maybe I did something wrong), but that doesn't have anything to do with the flavor. Just a personal preference. I just love munching on raw veggies and a good dip makes them even better.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jellyqueen July 01, 2003

I tried this because of all the positive reviews, but found it to be very thick for a dressing, and as much as I love ginger, did not really enjoy its flavoring with tomatoes. Make sure you like that combination before trying (now I know). This seems more a dip or condiment than dressing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers June 09, 2009

This dressing may be the best one I've ever had. We used a couple of cloves of garlic that were pickled instead of fresh (it tends to give my DM indegestion fresh), and also added a little of the garlic "juice" from the jar. It was so great. The texture was perfect. We added a little honey because we overdid it on the vinegar. It was still perfect! It's definitely a recipe we'll make often. My only recommendation is that you use the absolute best tomato you can find. Thanks so much! (oh, and I agree with the other reviewers that it makes more than 4 servings, but I promise you it won't go to waste!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moot0009 June 10, 2007

This dressing combines several of my favorite flavors: ginger, garlic, balsamic vinegar, and of course, tomatoes! I used a beautiful tomato from a farmer's market, and the result was delicious. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
viking May 14, 2006

After having a phenomenal tomato-ginger dressing at a restaurant recently, I went searching for something similar. Well, I think I found it! I used a lovely organic heirloom tomato, which I didn't bother peeling or seeding- I just cored it. The clove of garlic I used was too big (for some reason the head of garlic I used only had HUGE cloves), so the garlic flavor is a little strong, but its great nonetheless. It's amazing how well tomato (and sundreied tomato) flavors combine with ginger and how well the combination goes with balsamic and garlic. A wonderful and healthy dressing! The creamy texture makes it as satisfying as a cream dressing like ranch or cesear, but it sits lighter in your stomach. Excellent with the organic mixed greens that I buy at the health food store. Missy's right- a delicious fresh-flavored recipe like this is worth it to get lovely fresh organic veggies. Thanks for a great one- will make again!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roosie September 23, 2004

It's for recipes like this that I really appreciate having access to good organic vegetables. Makes it well worth the extra cost to have a good tomato. There is a fair amount of dressing so it will probably go further than 4 servings.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Wombat August 11, 2004

Excellent dressing. Can be made in a few minutes. It would be even better if I was able to find a flavorful summer tomato.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MEAN CHEF May 17, 2004
Mixed Greens with Tomato-Ginger Dressing