22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I adapted this for the pressure cooker (which I cannot live without, makes grains so quick and easy!) Didn't have any wild rice on hand so I used 3/4 cup brown rice and 3/4 cup barley, only needed 2T of oil, skipped the butter, used beef broth; sauteed grains and onion in oil. added herbs and cooker for 18 minutes then steamed the mushrooms in the residual heat- it all turned out perfectly, and made tons. I will do this again. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
***chef katie*** July 21, 2009

What a great recipe. I seem to be incapable of actually following a recipe through but I stayed pretty close on this one. I used a whole bulb of garlic and about 2 tsp of grapeseed oil for the whole recipe. I also replaced 1/2 a cup of vegetable broth with dry white wine. I loved the toasted grains, that really made the dish wonderful. I sauteed the mushrooms on side as recommended because I'd think they wouldn't allow the grains to toast properly if you included them in the onion mixture. I sauteed them to until they started to release their juices and then added a generous splash of wine and cooked it down until the mushrooms started to dry out again. This is a great starter recipe too, I was dreaming about all the ways to vary it as I cooked it. Add some chopped pumpkin or squash, vary the grains. Next time I think I'll try using sweet short grain brown rice,more liquid for a cheaters risotto. Excellent healthy vegetarian fare, and so simple.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UnRefined April 29, 2009

Very nice. Had no wild rice, so upped the brown rice a little. I used beef stock for the liquid and quite liked the flavor, but my spouse found the result to be a little too salty and that the stock overcame the flavor of the rice. I needed an extra 20-30 minutes longer for complete cooking than the directions indicated.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Molly53 March 04, 2009

I found this recipe while looking for a way to use up my mushrooms. I followed the recipe exactly (I think, but I only had wild sweet rice). I had to cook it an additional 20 minutes to get the moisture to absorb. Then what I had was rice with what tasted like Italian seasoning. I didn't taste much of the mushroom. I definitely wouldn't call this a Main Dish unless I were eating alone.

I won't make this again. There are too many other recipes out there that really showcase the flavor and texture of mushrooms.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bebefisher July 09, 2012

Very nice dish. The only thing I'd change is sub some of the wild rice for barley or brown. I really like Katie's idea to incorporate with the pressure cooker, I'll try that next time. I really enjoyed the herbs & the addition of the mushrooms, thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mustang Sally 54269 May 24, 2010

Excellent dish! We really enjoyed all the grain and it was filling. The meal is made in such a simple way, but so good to eat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elizardbeth April 06, 2010

This was nice & healthy, however I think I was expecting something really amazing from all the reviews! It was pleasant & would make a nice base with more ingredients. I think I'll make the leftovers into a salad! Thanks for posting :o)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mellowpuff May 12, 2009

Yum! I added extra lean ground beef, used beef broth and sauteed the onions and celery with the beef. Did not use butter or oil....I love the mixed grains though. So healthy! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookinhealthy December 10, 2008

I wasn't overly impressed. I made it with all brown rice because I didn't have the barley or wild rice, so that might have made a difference. I was expecting more flavor and didn't get it. Maybe I didn't put enough salt in it. I don't know, but I know it wasn't my favorite!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bipbip November 05, 2007

We really enjoyed this dish. I took another reviewer's advice & used only 1/2 of the oil & butter, and sauteed the onions, garlic, and mushrooms at the same time. Then I added the grains for 1 minute. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaramelPie October 11, 2007
Mixed Grain Mushroom Casserole