Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mixed Grain Mushroom Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mixed Grain Mushroom Casserole

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on July 21, 2009

      I adapted this for the pressure cooker (which I cannot live without, makes grains so quick and easy!) Didn't have any wild rice on hand so I used 3/4 cup brown rice and 3/4 cup barley, only needed 2T of oil, skipped the butter, used beef broth; sauteed grains and onion in oil. added herbs and cooker for 18 minutes then steamed the mushrooms in the residual heat- it all turned out perfectly, and made tons. I will do this again. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2009

      What a great recipe. I seem to be incapable of actually following a recipe through but I stayed pretty close on this one. I used a whole bulb of garlic and about 2 tsp of grapeseed oil for the whole recipe. I also replaced 1/2 a cup of vegetable broth with dry white wine. I loved the toasted grains, that really made the dish wonderful. I sauteed the mushrooms on side as recommended because I'd think they wouldn't allow the grains to toast properly if you included them in the onion mixture. I sauteed them to until they started to release their juices and then added a generous splash of wine and cooked it down until the mushrooms started to dry out again. This is a great starter recipe too, I was dreaming about all the ways to vary it as I cooked it. Add some chopped pumpkin or squash, vary the grains. Next time I think I'll try using sweet short grain brown rice,more liquid for a cheaters risotto. Excellent healthy vegetarian fare, and so simple.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      Very nice. Had no wild rice, so upped the brown rice a little. I used beef stock for the liquid and quite liked the flavor, but my spouse found the result to be a little too salty and that the stock overcame the flavor of the rice. I needed an extra 20-30 minutes longer for complete cooking than the directions indicated.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2012

      I found this recipe while looking for a way to use up my mushrooms. I followed the recipe exactly (I think, but I only had wild sweet rice). I had to cook it an additional 20 minutes to get the moisture to absorb. Then what I had was rice with what tasted like Italian seasoning. I didn't taste much of the mushroom. I definitely wouldn't call this a Main Dish unless I were eating alone.

      I won't make this again. There are too many other recipes out there that really showcase the flavor and texture of mushrooms.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      Very nice dish. The only thing I'd change is sub some of the wild rice for barley or brown. I really like Katie's idea to incorporate with the pressure cooker, I'll try that next time. I really enjoyed the herbs & the addition of the mushrooms, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      Excellent dish! We really enjoyed all the grain and it was filling. The meal is made in such a simple way, but so good to eat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      This was nice & healthy, however I think I was expecting something really amazing from all the reviews! It was pleasant & would make a nice base with more ingredients. I think I'll make the leftovers into a salad! Thanks for posting :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      Yum! I added extra lean ground beef, used beef broth and sauteed the onions and celery with the beef. Did not use butter or oil....I love the mixed grains though. So healthy! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2007

      I wasn't overly impressed. I made it with all brown rice because I didn't have the barley or wild rice, so that might have made a difference. I was expecting more flavor and didn't get it. Maybe I didn't put enough salt in it. I don't know, but I know it wasn't my favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2007

      We really enjoyed this dish. I took another reviewer's advice & used only 1/2 of the oil & butter, and sauteed the onions, garlic, and mushrooms at the same time. Then I added the grains for 1 minute. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2007

      Wow, was this delicious! I didn't have wild rice, so substituted Quinoa. I will be making this again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2007

      This was totally awesome! I made this as a side dish but it could easily be a main dish with a salad and some garlic bread. Definately a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2007

      Very good. I made this using barley, quinoa, and white rice, since they were what I had on hand. I also had no thyme, so I used 3/4 t crushed rosemary and 1/4 t sage instead. The rosemary went very well with the mushrooms, so I think I might use that in place of thyme when I make this again. I also used vegetarian beef-flavored broth, but I think chicken-flavored would have been better. Since other people mentioned cutting down on the butter, I used 2 T olive oil for sauteing (1 T for mushrooms and 1 T for onions/garlic), and it worked well. Next time, I might throw in some TVP for a little more protein. The recipe called for a 2 to 3 quart casserole dish, so I was worried that it was going to be a tight squeeze into my 2 quart one, but it was a nice fit with a little room left over. Thanks for mentioning the foil too - it worked like a charm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2007

      My husband (the mushroom lover) thanks you from the bottom of his heart. I'm not a huge fan of mushrooms, but I LOVED this -- this was absolutely delicious. I tried to cut back a bit on the fat content; I used 3 Tbsp. butter, and only 1 Tbsp. of oil. I doubled the garlic and used chicken broth. It smelled absolutely heavenly while it was cooking ... DH asked me to sprinkle Parmesan on at the end, and I did, but we both agreed (once we'd tasted it) that it didn't needed it. It was very flavorful just as the recipe was written. We'll definitely be making this again (and again and again ...)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2006

      This is quite tasty and super easy to make. We thought that the mushrooms turned out kind of slimy, however, so next time I will cut down on the butter. I love the grains and seasonings in this and will make it again for sure. I served this as a main dish with a side of spaghetti squash. Yum, yum. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2006

      This is delicious - the grains maintain their texture and you have something to chew - nothing mushy here. I used a mix of button and shiitake mushrooms, also used fresh herbs. Used the water from rehydrating the shiitake for part of the liquid. I love this as a main dish, but it would also be an excellent side. Also, I made the recipe up to the point that you would add the broth, and then finished making it when I came home. Nice to be able to have it underway on a busy day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2006

      This is a wonderful meal! I used vegetable stock and portabella mushrooms. Absolutely delicious on french bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2006

      Very yummy! It was savory, earthy, and filling. I used chicken broth and lentils instead of wild rice. (that's all I had) I decreased the oil to 2 tbs and the butter to 2 tbs. I also added the mushrooms and butter right to the onions and garlic instead of cooking separately. Added the grain mixture to that and it was wonderful. (saved some time and another pan to wash) :-)Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2006

      This is an excellent dish full of gorgeous rich flavours and suitable for the vegans amongst us. I used a mix of swiss brown mushrooms and shitake both fresh from the growers which only increased the deep earthy flavours. Thanks for posting, this is definitely a keeper :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2006

      Not being a vegetarian, I used beef stock for this dish. It was excellent. I wrapped this up in a tortilla and had a great dinner. Thanks Dusty Gold.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mixed Grain Mushroom Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (98 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 254.0
     
    Calories from Fat 120
    47%
    Total Fat 13.4 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 4.7 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 15.4 mg
    5%
    Sodium 323.3 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.8 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    14%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites