Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mix-In Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mix-In Muffins

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on March 17, 2003

      OOH OOH OOH were these great. I put in a chopped bananna and some pecans. Fabulous flavor, you could really taste the banana and pecan. I was in the process of mixing when I realized my sour cream had gone bad. I used plain lowfat yogurt instead, and it worked great!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2013

      Great muffins! These were very light and moist and airy. I added dried cranberries and white chocolate chips and they took about 22 minutes to bake. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2011

      The sour cream made the muffins so moist. I added mushed up banana, chocolate chips and a few blueberries. The kids at our playdate loved them! Not too sweet, either. Will make this my go-to muffin recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      This is a great recipe. I used almond extract instead of vanilla, and substituted self-rising flour for the flour, baking powder & salt. (I used 1 1/2C plus 2 tsp.) I added 2/3 C of butterscotch chips and 2/3 C of of pecans. And then used my cookie scoop to put them into muffin cup liners that I had sprayed lightly with Bakers Pam, and they came out perfectly. I will definitely be using this recipe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      A very good recipe. I used dried cranberries and chopped walnuts; the flavor was great. And I liked the consistency and that the muffins were not too sweet. The batter was quite thick; what is great about that is that it is very neat to scrape into the muffin cups. No slopover onto the pan! The photos are exactly what the muffins look like. Thanks for posting . . . . . Janet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      Doubled the recipe. Made with dried cherries and milk chocolate chips. Excellent!!! ~edited to add~ Made with fresh blueberries and husband said they were the best blueberry muffins he ever had! I'm out of sour cream (I think I'll sub yogurt), but I want to try the banana/choc. chip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2008

      Wow, these muffins were good. I added fresh blackberries to them. I am sure I will be making these often, trying different fillings. Thanks Tracy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2007

      These muffins are fantastic! The muffin part is tasty and moist and yet a little dense so it is perfect with coffee. I misread the add-in part of the instructions and mixed in 3/4 c. chocolate chips, 3/4 c. dried cranberries and the orange zest. They were outstanding! I am using this combo for mini loaves to give as Christmas gifts as well as making them again for us. Next time I'm trying the dried cherries and chocolate chips. I'm also going to try the dried blueberries and some pecans. Can't wait! Thanks for sharing this marvelous recipe! Update: The dried cherry, chocolate chip, almond extract combo is our favorite so far. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2005

      Exeptional! For half of the flour I substituted cake flour, then followed the recipe exactly, adding dried cranberries. These delicate muffins need no butter, but a sprinkling of coarse sugar on top would add a wonderful tooth and sweetness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2005

      These muffins are great. They remind me a little of scones. I added blueberries and also a 1/2 teaspoon of orange peel. YUM! Thank you for the great recipe which I will use again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2005

      These were very easy and quick to make. It's a nice basic recipe that you can build on. I added spices like cinnamon and nutmeg for just a plain one. Apples and bananas added in are the best! I only got 6 though. I like larger muffins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2005

      Nice and moist! I love that they are not too sweet, the sour cream is awesome in these. I made one batch with frozen diced up cranberries and one with banana and chocolate chips. I also used 1/2 cup whole wheat flour and only 1 cup white. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2004

      very easy to make, and very good instructions too. They were delicious and I will make them again, for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2004

      These muffins were very, very good. I made minature ones and cooked them for 15 minutes. They don't have the same look as your traditional muffin (that's why I only gave 4 starts) The taste is awesome(well worth 5 stars)! My recipe box thanks you for the new addition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2004

      These were very nice muffins. I made them with fresh blueberries. I did one pan of mini muffins to bring to church & had enough batter left over for 3 more regular sized ones. The batter produced a nice, tender muffin. As Tracy indicateed, these are not sweet. So I sprinkled some sugar over the tops & was glad that I did. With the chocolate chip version, I'm sure they would stand alone on their sweetness. I look forward to trying this with different mix ins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2004

      I made these with dried cranberries and grated orange zest. Delicious! Look forward to trying other combinations.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2004

      Good muffins, Tracy! The muffins were tender and golden and just as you say, not-too-sweet. I used the combination of dried cherries and chocolate chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2004

      I, too, used plain yoghurt, because German sour cream is not like the one in the States. My add-in of choice for this first try was dried cranberries. This recipe is a definite keeper! Very nice crumb, tender, not too sweet, simply delicious. The kids polished off every single crumb of 11 of the 12 (I got one).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mix-In Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (1262 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 310.3
     
    Calories from Fat 165
    53%
    Total Fat 18.3 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 10.9 g
    54%
    Cholesterol 45.8 mg
    15%
    Sodium 145.4 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.5 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 20.4 g
    81%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried cherries

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites