Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mix and Match Pound Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mix and Match Pound Cake

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on September 23, 2002

      This is an excellent recipe. I used yellow cake mix with vanilla pudding and used milk instead of water (just because I always do that with cake mixes). I glazed it with just a powdered sugar glaze. Took it out of the oven about 10PM last night. I went to bed and left my husband and 3 teenage boys alone with the cake. There is about 3 inches of cake left this morning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2002

      OMG! I made this with Yellow cake mix and pistachio pudding and it was AWESOME!!! My dh loves pistachio pudding, so he couldnt get enough of this cake. Iwill definatly make again and try different combos!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2014

      I love this recipe! So many different combinations: yellow cake mix & butterscotch pudding, chocolate/chocolate, yellow/pistachio - it's endless! I also like to drizzle it with icing. Canned frosting melted for a few seconds in the microwave works great! Thanks, Mona!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

      I've used this recipe for many years, but never with the substitution of sour cream, as another member suggested. I tried it today and the cake was wonderful! I used a devil's food cake mix and vanilla instant pudding, because that's what I had on hand. The recipe made two nice 8"x4" loaf cakes. Delicious! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      This is so great and easy! I used a yellow cake mix with a sugar-free chocolate pudding mix. I also used the suggestion of someone else and used about a cup of sour cream instead of the water, and 1/4 cup of oil (instead of 1/3 cup). I also added 1 1/2 cups of mini chocolate chips to the mix. It was moist and tasted SO great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      A very handy recipe. I used devil's food cake mix and chocolate pudding. And water. Very good. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      Easy and delicious! I wouldn't call it a pound cake though because it's light and fluffy. I used yellow cake batter and chocolate pudding, which gave it a nice mocha color. I used 1 cup milk instead of 1 cup water, added 3/4 cup semisweet chooclate chips, and about 1/4 cup kahlua. I especially like how this recipe usedsonly 1/2 cup metled frosting. Using vanilla frsoting, I drizzled it over the cake using a fork and the presentation looked great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

    • on July 25, 2008

      Highest cake I ever baked! Very moist, used milk as suggested by several others. Used dark chocolate pudding and chocolate fudge cake mix. I glazed the top with a simple powdered sugar,cream and cocoa powder glaze. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      I love doing this!! This recipe makes me look like a wonderful cook, but it is sooooo easy. I am going to try this with all kinds of mixes! My family ate half of this cake in hours! Thanks for posting Mona.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2007

      This cake was fantastic. I added vanilla and almond extracts for extra flavor. I baked in a 9x13 pan for 27 minutes. We sliced in 1" slices and used with strawberries for strawberry shortcake but much better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2007

      Mona what great easy cake! Who would think adding pudding to a box cake? I took the suggestions from other reviews and used milk instead of water and added a little vanilla to the batter. I will use this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2007

      I recently made this cake for my daughter's birthday. It's a sturdy cake and worked well for the construction of the barn I did for her cake. I too used milk instead of water, but I also added just a small amount (1 tsp. or less) of almond flavoring. I used white cake and vanilla pudding. It was very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2007

      Instead of water or milk, use 8oz of sour cream, and change the oil to 1/4 cup and add a teaspoon of vanilla. Also, add a cup of chips such as chocolate or butterscotch, peanut butter, etc. Spice cake is especially good made with banana pudding and white choc or cinnamon chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2006

      One of my favorite standby recipes. I also use milk with all of my cake recipes, they seem to be moister. I also found that this works best with the Duncan Hines brand cake mixes. I also love the flexibility of this recipe. Excellent with strawberries and whipped cream for a modified strawberry shortcake. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2006

      This wasn't as moist as I like my pound cakes. I made it with pistachio pudding and white cake mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2005

      This is a great recipe. My mom gave it to me years ago. I've made this cake for many a bake sale!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mix and Match Pound Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (103 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 397.2
     
    Calories from Fat 151
    38%
    Total Fat 16.7 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 84.6 mg
    28%
    Sodium 530.1 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.0 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 44.4 g
    177%
    Protein 4.8 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes