23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this for company using a devil foods cake mix, "Light" cherry pie filling and about 1.5 t almond extract, I baked this recipe @ 325 for 46 minutes..I also whipped up some cream as a topping w/vanilla extract then dusted the top of this masterpiece with cinnamon..every single person was in awe over this dessert cake! Thanks much for the recipe @ngdarlen..will be made again, happily!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaMere September 20, 2009

I love this cake! My favorite combination so far is spice cake w/ apple pie filling, although chocolate/cherry is also really good! I tried vanilla cake w/ raspberry and wasn't a fan, but overall this is a great, simple crowd pleasing cake.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchen Little March 04, 2008

I used Devil's Food cake mix and cherry pie filling. I added 3 tablespoons of applesuace and a tablespoon of vegetable oil because the batter was just too dry. It was VERY moist and delicious and I didn't use the saran wrap.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DoremiAZ February 04, 2008

I loved this! I used a lemon cake (with pudding in the mix), lemon extract and store brand cherry pie filling. I would use "good" pie filling next time. The cherries in the store brand filling just didn't have enough flavour or texture for this recipe. I loved the ease of this recipe and it will go into my permanent cookbook. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Saturn November 22, 2007

Easy to make and delicious! I used yellow cake mix, apricot pie filling, and almond extract. Covering in plastic wrap while the cake cools resulted in a wonderfully moist cake with intense flavor. I drizzled a white chocolate glaze over the cake before serving. Next time I will skip the glaze. This cake is so moist and flavorful that a glaze isn't needed. I will make this cake again and again. Thanks for posting this great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sanzibar ;-) May 01, 2007

Easy, easy!! I wanted to try out my new bakery-style muffin tins so I tried out this recipe and really liked it. I made my muffins with butter cake mix, vanilla and sugar free cherry pie filling. I didn't add any pudding and it was fine. Also, I added streusel topping to my muffins and they looked fresh from the bakery! Next time, I'm thinking of doing something with mandarin oranges...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nyc4me03 March 15, 2007

I used Cinnamon Swirl cake mix and Pumpkin Pie filling. YUM!! I also made a glaze for the top.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DoveChocolatierinKY March 15, 2007

OK, This is TOO awesome! I used this recipe with a cherry pie filling, a yellow cake mix, and vanilla extract. Then, I put the batter into muffin tins - THE BEST MUFFINS EVER! Just like costco - only better! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Reality February 28, 2007

A very moist cake; I baked this one for 1 hour even though as another reviewer said, the toothpick came out clean after 50 minutes. I used spice cake, apple pie filling and almond extract. About midway through the baking time I thought it wasn't going to rise like it should and even tho it didn't rise as high as other cakes that I have prepared, it tastes wonderful. Thanks for posting such an easy and great tasting recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carolinafan February 12, 2007

I made this the other night. White cake mix with lemon extract and blueberry pie filling. Everyone loved it. I was about to wrap it up for the night and my husband said wait don't wrap it up I need to make sure I like it, he had to have another piece. He loved it! I can't wait to try another version. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
children from A to Z September 30, 2006
Mix and Match Bundt Cake