Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mititei (Small Ground Beef Sausages) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mititei (Small Ground Beef Sausages)

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on June 01, 2009

      I have the author's cookbook. This is a kosher recipe. I have modified it to according to my Romanian in-law's tastes. I use 1 lb ground beef, 1 lb ground pork and 1 lb ground lamb, 8 cloves of garlic, 1 package of fresh thyme or oregano if no thyme is available. I use more paprika: 1 tbsp if sweet plus 2 tsp black pepper. If hot paprika, then 2 tsp. This is really to the taste. It's better to start off with less initially and add more paprika later. Keep mixture in fridge for 24 hrs before rolling sausages. Then, let meat warm up on table and add soda water before rolling. This is the magic for the texture and makes rolling easier. Fry a little bit of the meat and adjust garlic, paprika and salt as required before rolling all of the meat. Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2010

      Sorry, Kate. This didn't work out for me. But you know Cookgirl-she'll keep trying until she gets it right! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      Lovely! The entire family fully enjoyed this recipe. I followed the advice of others and left the baking soda the same amount and doubled the amount of all the spices. Excellent! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      DEFINATELY take advice from Chef#1283785 review! As these were over FANTASTIC at a party last night too! Used about 3 1/2 pounds beef, TRUE! Next time will try combos of meats as think would bring flavours out even more too! Used 1 1/2 cups of soda water, marniated everything over night, This recipe IS a delight! Placed under griller for about 10 -12 minutes, was done for me, Next time, will try to oil spray and bake....we'll see.. Thank you for this GREAT recipe, Was a real conversation started mentioning "soda water"...people were as E-X-C-I-T-E-D as ME!!!! :) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      Lovely flavor - wonderful texture. Deviated from the recipe in that I made some into small patties - rest into small sausages...but great flavor. Not sure why these turned out unattractive for someone - but they were pretty and tasty to us!! Made for PAC Spring 2009

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      Hate to be the naysayer on this but didn't like it at all. Also, for me, appearance is important and these were not attractive. Yes, I made them as directed but the shape is unfortunate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      GREAT! I made a half recipe as directed with lean ground sirloin and hot hungarian paprika. EASY and TASTY! I really liked this with Cucumber in Sour Cream Salad. Made for the ZWT4- Jefes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      Really good. I omitted the baking soda, but it turned out great anyway. Next time i make these i'll be a bit more generous with the spices. Made for ZWT4 for the Tastebud Tickling Travellers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      This was so good. I didn't know what to expect but am glad I made this recipe for Tastebud Tickling Travellers for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2008

      I think I goofed this up and will have to try again another time. Thank you for posting this! Made for ZWT4 CAFE ZMAAK Gypsies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      Haven't made these little sausages for years! Loved the caraway seed. As one who has made one lot of home made sausage over the years it is said one needs to assure adding enough pepper - which I did. The seasonings were perfect for our taste. We enjoyed.Thank you Kate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2006

      Thanks a million for the recipe. I haven't had these since my last trip to Romania back in 2000, and it really brought back memories. From the second the aroma starting coming out of the pan I knew it was going to be an authentic tasting dish, and it definitely lived up to my expectations! Add a little Mamaliga and it's like being in Bucharest!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      I had a lot of fun with this recipe and had wanted to try it for a while. First, I did not have enough ground beef so I mixed in a little ground pork. Secondly, I did not have paprika but smoked paprika which I thought would be just as good. I did kick up the spices as the others had and even threw in more garlic. I served this with a little sour cream in which I put garlic, smoked paprika and some Adobo to dip the little sausages in. It was to die for!The next time I make it I will add more garlic and even a little more smoked paprika. I think these little sausages would even be good for breakfast. Can't wait to make them again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2006

      I made these tonight. I took others' advice and used more spice than called for. I actually tripled the thyme and paprika and red pepper. They came out very bland. My husband thought they were just ok, and that's after he put his favorite buffalo wing sauce all over them, lol. I didn't like them at all. I'm not sure how I'd play with this one to fix it to my liking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2005

      I was looking around for something different to do with some remaining ground beef. These little sausages did the trick. I heeded the advice of others and upped the seasonings a bit, and then made a sour cream gravy to go with the sausages and mashed potatoes. There were a few leftover sausages, which I froze for a quick midweek meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2005

      Scrumptous! I was reminded of home...my dad made these sometimes out of beef alone or sometimes from half beef and half pork depending on what my mom had in the house. However, Toolie reminded me of the sourcream and dill dollop my mom would love! Oh yes, what a treat that was! I like to serve these with a side of potatoes, browned in bacon and onions.My dad served it with Satarash. Thank you for sharing this wonderful old time treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2005

      I had a bit of an "Aussie moment" and mixed up my quantities. I used just over half the meat with the original amount of seasonings by accident. When I make these again, I will double the seasonings (maybe still 2 teaspoons of soda though) as I think the mix needed to be quite highly seasoned. I couldn't get 1 tablespoon of mix to roll out to a sausage 3 inches long and 1 inch thick, so opted for shorter ones in the interests of keeping them moist. We had sour cream with fresh dill with these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2005

      These were very nice, unusual little sausages, very easy to make. I used more garlic than called for and served these with sour cream which made them extra good - thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2005

      What a great recipe! We love caraway, so this was a super recipe for us. I served this with sour cream and dill as another reviewer suggested and it was delicious. Well written easy to prepare recipe. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2005

      I really liked the caraway and garlic also. I used venison; the spices were just right for that and this recipe kept the meat moist. We all enjoyed these petite sausages. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mititei (Small Ground Beef Sausages)

    Serving Size: 1 (957 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 46.5
     
    Calories from Fat 26
    57%
    Total Fat 2.9 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 14.7 mg
    4%
    Sodium 77.9 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.1 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites