Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mississippi Mud Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mississippi Mud Cake

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on February 04, 2010

      I have been using this recipe for years..It makes the best Mississippi Mud cake I have ever tasted....very moist and flavorful....also quick and easy....I usually melt my butter in the microwave in a mixing bowl, then pour all of the cake ingredients into the bowl and stir with a spoon until well blended..doesnt get any easier....thanks for posting...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2006

      I made this and added 1 t coffee and 1 t baking powder and half baking soda as wasn't sure if needed it or not. It was really yummy and my children and I gobbled it up in record time. Please can anyone let me know if it is supposed to have baking powder in???

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2003

      This Recipe is just like the one I use except the icing is cooked like fudge. 2 c sugar 2 tbls. cocoa 1 st. butter 2/3 cans ev. milk 1 tsp. vanilla Bring everything to a boil cook 10 min. and pour over marshmellow's My baby brother's favorite Chocolate cake! Thanks for reminding me about this cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2010

      Made into cupcakes and turned out wonderful. Thanks for sharing..

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2007

      Recipe identical to the recipe I've for at least 30 years, with a couple of exceptions, mine calls for 1 cup walnut, and only 3 cups miniature marshmallows. I prefer pecans, in Texas we use pecans anytime it calls for nuts. This is a wonderful cake that everyone loves.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2006

      Yummy! Rich, sweet and decadent. Made for a pot luck and everyone enjoyed it. I've made several different mud cakes, this is the first one that used marshmallows instead of marshmallow cream. I found that when the cake was cooled prior to frosting, the marshmallows stayed whole and were easily discerned in the finished product which is OK if you like marshmallows. Next time I'll warm briefly in the oven to soften them before adding the frosting, and lightly swirl together. Southern Living recipes are always good. They're the only ones I'll make for company without trying first. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2013

      Blech! This is not at all what I expected, and nothing like any Mississippi Mud Cake I've ever had! I am very disappointed. And, frankly, too embarrassed to serve it to anyone. I love sweets, but this is just too sweet! I made everything to the letter, to no avail. Not only is this cake not good, it's simply awful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2013

      Just made this for my daughter's birthday. it was totally awesome, more moist than my old recipe. I did substitute a jar of marshmallow creme for the miniature marshmallows

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2011

      I was so excited about this cake as I had these marshamallows to use in the house from a recipe that didn't get made. I'm sorry to say that we just didn't like this at all. I used high quality cocoa and everything. It just didn't taste good for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2010

      I have used this same similar recipe for at least 35 plus years. I too, got this recipe from my grandmother, whom made this recipe all the time when we were young. It has a brownie texture with a rich-sweet marshmallow and chocolate frosting. I always swirl the frosting a little bit into the marshmallow to make it look like mud.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

    • on October 15, 2005

      Wonderful cake - chewy - dense.. a real treat. Served warm with ice cream on top. Great for those chocoholics in the family. The 2nd time I made it, I used Donna's suggestion for icing except I used sweetened condensed milk by mistake and ended up poking holes in the cake to let this incredibly sweet icing get inside. Topped with mellows and placed in the warm oven long enough to melt the mellows. WOW! Not for the calorie or sugar concious that's for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2004

      This is my grandmother's recipe exactly - except she adds nuts to icing as well - but it's probably the best Mississippi Mud Cake I've ever had - me and my 47 first cousins!! It's always gone before dinner or supper starts!! SOOO GOOD!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2004

      This has a nice moist, dense texture and I really like it! I left out the pecans, my husband doesn't like nuts in his cake! My kids liked it too! Thanks for a nice cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mississippi Mud Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (138 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 487.2
     
    Calories from Fat 157
    32%
    Total Fat 17.5 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 10.3 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 91.4 mg
    30%
    Sodium 180.1 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 80.4 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 64.0 g
    256%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes