16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Mike loves YOU!!! and of course Miss Helen! LOL I made thos for him to take to work. He called to say I had to make more because everyone ate it up! So made a 2nd one Sat morning for him to take to the cottage whilst doing the opening up with some buddies. um he did not share LOL he said it was too good so he ate some for breakfast, then lunch then after dinner and on Sunday morning again! OMG! Ok so today, MONDAY I made a 3rd one and split the batter in 2- 8" rounds. One is for tonight when he gets home as FIL is coming over for dinner and I plan to put scoops of ice cream on top and the other round is for him to take to work again if it makes it. LOL
SO my dear friend 5 stars all around the house 3 days in a row!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef1MOM-Connie April 04, 2011

Disappointing. Recipe seemed like it had potential, but it took almost 50 minutes to at least bake it and it was tasteless, dry, and the topping was strange and taste flour. I had to add a bunch of cream cheese to at least bring out the flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jmiovine January 18, 2013

NurseJaney please thank your DMIL for sharing Miss Helen's recipe for this coffee cake! We loved it and I very much liked how easy it was to make. I also love cinnamon and added a couple shakes more then the recipe called for. This is not an overly sweet cake but is light and tender, perfect with a cup of coffee or tea any time of the day. Made and reviewed for the Aussie/NewZealand Forum's RECIPE SWAP #64 - May 2012.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 June 04, 2012

Mine was dry and not much flavor. Disappointed this time but may try again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound May 23, 2012

I'm giving 4 stars because, although I got a marvelous cake, I made a couple of additions because my son wanted a simple cake for his birthday (no frosting and a sheet cake). I added lemon extract since he loves lemon and I made a topping with butter, graham cracker crumbs, flour, cinnamon and sugar. It all came out very well with a lovely texture and yummy light lemon flavor. It was a hit:D

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia May 21, 2012

Does Miss Helen have any other recipes ?? If so, can they please be posted as this one was a cracker !! Easy to do and quite an interesting technique with the butter. I adore cinnamon so I doubled that made no other changes than that. This is a marvellous and simple cake, so many thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew March 06, 2012

This gets 5 stars for the simplicity alone! It's a great recipe to have in my back pocket for unexpected guests. All of the ingredients are things that I always have on hand. The coffee cake is tasty, too! Thanks. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood October 20, 2011

I made this with my 4-year-old granddaughter...she loved pushing the butter chunks into the batter. :) I baked it in a 9 x 13 pan, but my cake didn't turn out as thick as the other ones in the pictures. This makes a delightful cake to go with a cup of coffee or tea. It's not to sweet and has just a hint of cinnamon. I gave some to my in-laws, and my FIL ate almost all of it. Made for July 2011 Aus/NZ Swap.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 July 14, 2011

This certainly is easy and quick to make. We didn't care for the dry topping, and next time will probably mix in a bit of brown sugar and a bit of butter. Other than that, we thought it was quite good. Thanks Janey. This is a great treat to serve to unexpected company.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana #2 April 05, 2011

What a lovely cake NurseJaney. A new experience for us. We enjoyed this light and fluffy cake. It was buttery and had a very subtle cinnamon flavor. The texture was excellent, even if it was slightly dry, perfect with a cup of hot tea. I will make this again. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato November 12, 2009
Miss Helen's Coffee Cake