21 Reviews

Made this for the first night of Passover for a HUGE group, naively hoping to have some left over for the coming week, it was simply devoured. It was extremely easy to make and delicious, I used white potatoes, well scrubbed, and grated them with the skins on as Mirj suggested. BIG HIT and definitely a keeper.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leah K. April 01, 2002

I can see why you would have this often! It is so simple to make and very tasty. I will certainly make this again and will try it with some cheddar on top too. I made it as a side dish for brunch. It disappeared in a hurry. Kugels are fairly new to me so I am happy I started out with the expert Thanks Mirjam

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy February 15, 2003

This was so good .. I spent a lot of time grating by hand though ... I didnt add enough paprika and salt, but it was still good .. thanks :)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa July 29, 2002

Great kugel. Moist and makes really good leftovers too. I used extra light olive oil, kosher salt (about 1 tsp) and cracked fresh pepper. Skipped the paprika. Made a double batch for Passover. A single batch made a very full 9x13 dish, easily serving 12-16 people a single serving. Also grated everything in the food processor, skins included. My only challenge is working fast enough to keep the potatoes from getting a grayish hue from the air before I got the eggs and oil mixed in.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen67 April 09, 2009

Great kugel Mirj! It tasted like a giant latke (potato pancake for the unitiated). I intentionally oversalted the raw mixture which resulted in a perfect, flavourful kugel. I will make this again one day for my kugel loving brother. Thanks

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miraklegirl July 26, 2003

We love this! I could eat it every day! Thanks for sharing! I lost my recipe and this is almost identical to it. Next time I will have to try it with skins on.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Moon August 30, 2010

Absolutely delicious. Grated the potatoes and onion by hand which took some time but well worth it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Junk Food April 22, 2009

Maybe I did something wrong? After even 1 1/2 hours of cooking, mine was mushy. The color was this purple/grey- that the kids refused to even consider. My husband and I treated it liked mashed potatoes and put on butter and cheese. The taste was good, but the color and texture were a problem. I used skin on, red potatoes and baked uncovered.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
didyb April 13, 2009

First time kugel but will not be last. We found the amount of walnut oil to be a bit strong but I suspect that that is brand not recipe - next time will substitute some olive oil. Also will be trying another reviewer's idea of adding some garlic. Thanks Mirj

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Dabblers January 15, 2009

This was easy and really yummy! The only "bad" thing was that my first batch was eaten up so quickly I'm now on batch #2!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shosh April 14, 2008
Mirj's Potato Kugel