Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mirj's Potato Kugel Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mirj's Potato Kugel

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on April 01, 2002

      Made this for the first night of Passover for a HUGE group, naively hoping to have some left over for the coming week, it was simply devoured. It was extremely easy to make and delicious, I used white potatoes, well scrubbed, and grated them with the skins on as Mirj suggested. BIG HIT and definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2003

      I can see why you would have this often! It is so simple to make and very tasty. I will certainly make this again and will try it with some cheddar on top too. I made it as a side dish for brunch. It disappeared in a hurry. Kugels are fairly new to me so I am happy I started out with the expert Thanks Mirjam

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2002

      This was so good .. I spent a lot of time grating by hand though ... I didnt add enough paprika and salt, but it was still good .. thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2009

      Great kugel. Moist and makes really good leftovers too. I used extra light olive oil, kosher salt (about 1 tsp) and cracked fresh pepper. Skipped the paprika. Made a double batch for Passover. A single batch made a very full 9x13 dish, easily serving 12-16 people a single serving. Also grated everything in the food processor, skins included. My only challenge is working fast enough to keep the potatoes from getting a grayish hue from the air before I got the eggs and oil mixed in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2003

      Great kugel Mirj! It tasted like a giant latke (potato pancake for the unitiated). I intentionally oversalted the raw mixture which resulted in a perfect, flavourful kugel. I will make this again one day for my kugel loving brother. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2010

      We love this! I could eat it every day! Thanks for sharing! I lost my recipe and this is almost identical to it. Next time I will have to try it with skins on.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      Absolutely delicious. Grated the potatoes and onion by hand which took some time but well worth it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      Maybe I did something wrong? After even 1 1/2 hours of cooking, mine was mushy. The color was this purple/grey- that the kids refused to even consider. My husband and I treated it liked mashed potatoes and put on butter and cheese. The taste was good, but the color and texture were a problem. I used skin on, red potatoes and baked uncovered.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      First time kugel but will not be last. We found the amount of walnut oil to be a bit strong but I suspect that that is brand not recipe - next time will substitute some olive oil. Also will be trying another reviewer's idea of adding some garlic. Thanks Mirj

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      This was easy and really yummy! The only "bad" thing was that my first batch was eaten up so quickly I'm now on batch #2!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2007

      Thanks mirj!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2007

      I can see why you make it almost every week. Very good basic kugel. Grated the potatoes and onion by hand and as my nails were already very short we did not get any "extra" ingredients. Used 1 1/2 teaspoon salt and about 1/2 teaspoon pepper and-used 4 cloves garlic (did I ever mention that we love garlic?!) which I also grated. Hubby, not a kugel-fan, said, hmmm, not bad, not bad at all, and believe me, that is a compliment. Will certainly make again and play around with the seasoning. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2006

      Made this for dinner last night and it was a terrific side with steak. I baked it for about 1 hour 20 minutes, the one hour was just not enough in my oven. I would add more salt and pepper next time. It does indeed remind me of potato pancakes and as a matter of fact we used the leftovers the next morning in place of hash browns with our eggs. Very good that way with a little sour cream. Thanks for sharing Mirj!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2006

      Very good basic kugel that was easy to whip up as a nice side dish with ingredients I had on hand. Next time I will be sure to go much heavier on the seasonings, as my usual amount for a "season to taste" dish was nowhere near enough.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2005

      Heavenly! I am a potato freak, and was always nervous about making a kugel. I used dehydrated sliced onions, and hand-grated unpeeled potatoes for nutrients. The color was a bit odd, since my potatoes turned red before I could finish grating them. But, the taste was fantastic! I will definitely make this again and again. Thanks for a tasty dish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2005

      Having never made a kugel before, the thought that it was going to be difficult was looming over me...then I found this recipe. What could be easier??? And it was tasty too! Quick to put together and yes, I even picked out the grated fingernails. So glad I tried this...and thanks for being so patient with the history lesson, mirj! ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2005

      I added a few herbs and spices; served with a lentil hotpot and your Israeli Spinach Fritters, it was a yummy treat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2004

      I agree..tastes just like potatoe pancakes without the hassle. Great kugel Mirj, thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2012

      Mmm fantastic. It reminds me a lot of the potato kugel I had when I was little girl growing up in a Galician household-- only I think this version is even better! I made a half batch using 3 idaho potatoes, a small red onion, 2 TB olive oil, 1 egg, and 3/4 tsp sea salt with 1/4 tsp each of black pepper and smoked paprika then baked at 350 for an hour in a glass pie plate. The texture is wonderful, I recommend leaving the skins on the potatoes. I'd like to try it again with red potatoes and the addition of garlic cloves and fresh parsley for a twist. A keeper for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2011

      So easy and oh so good!!! Made exactly as written. Thanks for posting, Mirj!!! A definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mirj's Potato Kugel

    Serving Size: 1 (428 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 615.2
     
    Calories from Fat 159
    25%
    Total Fat 17.7 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 139.5 mg
    46%
    Sodium 87.9 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 100.4 g
    33%
    Dietary Fiber 12.8 g
    51%
    Sugars 6.0 g
    24%
    Protein 16.3 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes