Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mirj's Heart-Attack-On-A-Plate Chopped Chicken Liver Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mirj's Heart-Attack-On-A-Plate Chopped Chicken Liver

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on September 29, 2009

      I have never had chopped liver before but really wanted to try. I made this for dinner tonight and got some strange looks from my kids. (It didn't look like anything they had ever ate before...lol) BUT.....once they tried it they really liked it. It is really rich though and I couldn't eat too much of it. I doctored up some saltine crackers with herbs and garlic and we were in heaven. Thank you so much for sharing some entirely new to us. It was delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      My boyfried, who likes liver, LOVED this! I've never been a fan of liver and even I thought that it was good, though I didn't share my boyfriends love for it. I made as directed and added a splash of cream at the end because it was a little drier than I expected. He was very impressed and ate half of the bowl in one sitting. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2009

      I made this for dinner this evening. The only change I made was to add some garlic and a shallot. I caremelized the onions first and then added the livers into the frying pan (I hate the broiler). If there is any left at all I'll be very, very surprised. This is absolutely awesome, thanks for the new favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      Wow.. I've never made "pate" or chopped chicken livers.. I completely concur with the other reviews. VERY yummy, and EASY! The caramelized onion adds a lot of flavor and the boiled eggs lighten it up a bit. I added a tbs of fat from frying some wings earlier in the evening (making this for a party tonite) because it seemed a little stiff. I think my kids will even eat this. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      Wow! I couldn't believe that such an easy recipe could turn out so fantastic. I diced up 3 very large onions, thought it was too much, but the result was extraordinary. I would've liked to get a courser mix,as I was in a hurry to taste this, but I have no complaints and many praises for this recipe. I can't wait to try it publicly for my next party ( which means I didn't want to share the initial batch because it was so addicting). Thank you very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      I used some leftover calves' liver from a previous night, and went out to the store to get chicken fat (schmaltz) to fry the onions in instead of oil. This was the best chopped liver I've ever had! I served it on top of Carr's water crackers and sprinkled a touch of flake salt and cracked pepper before serving. Thanks for a fantastic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      Just llike my Bubbe's chopped liver! YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      This is actually healthy for you (well according to my diet-Paleolithic), bar the salt - but I'll make it without salt and can eat it all I want (and have no problem spooning it out and eating it just like that!). Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2008

      Unbelievable! I made it for Passover and people loved it. Followed the recipe exactly. Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2008

      This is the best chopped liver I have ever had! I could go on & on but you've probably heard it all before. Thank you for such a wondeful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      Loved it! I grew up in a Jewish neighborhood and this tastes like home. Beware - it makes way more than 8 servings! I'm freezing my leftovers, we'll enjoy again in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      Hmm, I thought I had reviewed this, but I guess not. I made it for the holidays, and my husband has been begging me to make it again. My jewish BIL gave it his thumbs up. Really, it's pretty easy to make, and delicious to eat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      Mirj, Your recipe is very similar to mine. The only difference is that I don't measure, but the ingredients are the same. For many years in making this recipe, I used to mash everything by hand with a fork and a potato masher, and it wasn't easy! But now I use the food processor. I've been making it for our seder as an appetizer, but occasionally, make it during the year as well, and serve it as hors d'oevres on Triscuits. Everyone that likes chopped liver raves about it. It is a wonderful recipe and I am glad you posted it for others to use. And truly, it isn't that bad for you! There are other recipes that are a lot worse, health-wise!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      what a great recipe! another one that you should eat in the ER or a cardiologists office, lol. this is jewish soul food at its best. i did use less oil for the onions and broiled the livers. excellent!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2007

      Yum. Exactly what I was expecting it to be. I did not know it was so easy to make and really not that bad for you (I used less oil for the onions than the recipe called for).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2006

      My ex mother-in-law, always made the best chicken livers. Till I tasted this. Fantastic. This dish has become a staple with me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2006

      Awesome! My family's only complaint was that I didn't make a double batch. I followed the recipe as is and wouldn't change a thing. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2005

      Incredibly outstanding! Everyone asked for the recipe. I think this one of the least fattening versions of chopped liver I've ever made. I used only 2T. of oil for 8 onions. I broiled 2 lbs.of liver and added 4 hard boiled eggs. It was perfect. Thanks Mirj for sharing so may of your recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2005

      Recipe is darn good--I just don't agree with the title.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2005

      Prepared this as an appetizer at my daughters birthday dinner..followed recipe to a T. Served with an assortment of crackers..enjoyed a few spoonfuls straight out of the processor as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mirj's Heart-Attack-On-A-Plate Chopped Chicken Liver

    Serving Size: 1 (144 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 188.9
     
    Calories from Fat 110
    58%
    Total Fat 12.2 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 288.8 mg
    96%
    Sodium 73.5 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.9 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 13.3 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites