40 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I can understand why your chopped liver is so famous. I would give this recipe 6 stars if I could. My husband is eating it out of the dish with a spoon. Thank you for sharing this recipe. I have to get back to the kitchen before he eats it all !

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorac March 24, 2002

Have people who shy away from chopped liver spent too much time with that gummy gray stuff which is, admittedly, very unappetizing? This chopped liver is different by light years! It has dimension, texture, and identifiable flavors, and looks as good as it tastes. Our only changes to this great recipe are using one onion per pound of chicken liver (we usually make two pounds) and do everything with rendered chicken fat. We also add about 1/4 cup of Madiera to get the consistency just right. Don't process it too much - you want to see the browned bits of onion and taste the occasional chunk of liver. What a delicious treat! Thanks, Mirj .... I need to make some again very soon!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Lauri~ April 07, 2009

I would give this 10 stars if I could. I love it :) Thanks for another great recipe. I made Challah from scratch and the 2 went together perfectly!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ngibsonn January 14, 2003

Use schmaltz..it's not that hard to make and makes all the difference in the world.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deanna Figueroa August 29, 2003

Wonderful, traditional recipe. I reduced the eggs to 2, just our personal preference. Served on a lettuce leaf, garnished with cherry tomatos, and alongside some challah for shmearing... My guests just loved it. Thanks Mirj

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miraklegirl August 12, 2003

Yeah! First time I made chopped liver! I broiled the livers too. I used a mini chopper so I needed to split the liver, etc. into 2 batches and then I combined them in a bowl. Really need to learn to use my big Cuisinart food processor. I used chicken fat instead of oil because I had it in the freezer so this really is the heart attack special. Used 1 tsp. kosher salt. This is delicious and I am so proud of myself. Thanks for a great recipe Mirj! PS - my Dad said "this is truly excellent!" I am going to make this for all the holidays!!! Everyone raved!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oolala November 30, 2008

Lovely, Mirj, and not at all a "heart attack on a plate"!! I made the (so easy) recipe as it stands, except made it a little un-kosher by frying the onions in a mixture of olive oil and butter. I also added a glug of medium sherry and a little balsamic vinegar to the livers (fried in olive oil). It's a lovely recipe, and so easy, but I think maybe I should have added a few extra flavours such as nutmeg and garlic. I used sea salt flakes and coarse black pepper. And I'm going to warm it up so we can have it as the main meat dish tonight, with ciabatta toast and fresh veggies, and salad. Thanks!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zurie July 25, 2013

Perfect recipe. I cut the onions in half then into thin-ish half rings and cooked them in shmaltz. Everything else I did as stated. Thanks for posting. This made our Shabbat extra special :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilysse December 27, 2008

Fabulous ! My entire extended family said it is the best chopped liver I've ever made. Broiling the liver was great, I hadn't done that before. It's so much easier than pan frying. I use schmaltz to fry the onions, which give a great flavor ! Thanx Mirj.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MyMother'sDaughter April 20, 2008

Mirj, another winner! My recipe is identical, but I fry the liver on top of the onions once they are soft. , so all the flavors mesh; then I throw it in the processor with the eggs. I've been using much less oil these days and making recipes work, and this was no exception. I used 1tbsp of oil,and fried the onions gently, and when I added the livers, I didn't need any more oil since the livers added juice to the pan. The taste was the same as it always was, and the NI changes dramatically. I hope more people try this recipe! Lovely!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AniSarit October 26, 2007
Mirj's Heart-Attack-On-A-Plate Chopped Chicken Liver