Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mirj's Easy Cherry Pudding Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mirj's Easy Cherry Pudding

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on July 25, 2002

      This was very good, very easy, very inexpensive...what a winner! The first time I made it, I used a pan that was too small and had a problem with overflow (even then, it was tasty). I just made it tonight in a standard glass Pyrex loaf pan, and it was perfect. I used real butter instead of margarine, and the fruit I chose was a tin of Very Cherry Fruit Cocktail -- delicious! Thanks for this easy recipe, Mirj; it'll become a regular dessert in my home, guaranteed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2002

      This was a great recipe that I through together in a couple of minutes. I served it warm on a cold winter day with whipped cream on top and got lots of compliments. I poured in all the juice from the cherries and found the bottom a little too soupy. Definately will make again and experiment with other fruits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2002

      Excellent. I fixed this recipe one morning for something to have with coffee. I used pitted tart cherries and it turned out very well, sweet, but retained just enough tartness. I will definitely make this again. Thank you for posting this Mirjam.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2002

      Wonderful! It doesn't get any easier than this. I used cherries and loved it. Can't wait to experiment with other fruit. I used an 8x8 pan and had no problem with spillage. I put this in my "keeper" notebook. Thanks so much, Mirj!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2002

      You may have some spillage problems with the 8x5 inch dish, although I never have had any trouble with it. Just to be on the safe side, use an 8 inch square baking dish. You may get a shallower pudding, but more area for ice cream to top!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2003

      Easy and very delicious - had no cherries on hand so used canned plums. Will definitely make it again, and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2003

      WOW, this is great! I used butter and Bing cherries in syrup. It's unbelieveable anything so easy can be so good. i"ll be forever grateful, Mirj.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2003

      I have now made this with frozen cherries and used the cherry juice instead of water. They were good

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2013

      I made this for my family only I used canned plums. OMG this is delicious. While they were eating they were already planning on the next time I made it and with which fruits...lol. I served this with some homemade ice cream. Great summertime dessert. thank you .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2012

      Very simlpe, I think its a real winer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2011

      LOVE this recipe! My mom used to make this all the time, since it's so easy and inexpensive. I'm not sure how a person gets a whopping 12 servings out of an 8x8 pan; we usually get about six at our house. I adapted the recipe a little to make the recipe a little lighter, using Blue Bonnet light margarine and Splenda instead of sugar. I also used water instead of milk. This cuts the recipe from over 300 calories a serving (based on six servings) to about 180 calories. Thanks for sharing, Mirj. Now I don't have to call my mother every time I'm craving this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      I made this dessert WHILE HOLDING A BABY! It was THAT easy! I made exact per instructions - generic can of cherries in "juice" which looked like water so I just totally drained them (I wanted cake and cherries - no gummy stuff!). The cake edges were crunchy and yummy, and it was topped with Haagen-Dazs vanilla bean ice cream and WOW. It was our Thanksgiving dessert since I realized at the last minute that I hadn't planned one! Good to know I always have cans of cherries so I can make this any time. Surprisingly good - I thought it would just taste like yellow cake with cherries but it was better - I didn't even have to add extracts or spices or anything! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      Lovely. Just harvested a quart of sour cherries and since they're too tart for eating I decided to subject them to the ministrations of butter and sugar. Simple, tastes great. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      Really good. I used a can of Flathead cherries from Montana that I have been saving for years! I thickened the cherries up a bit with cornstarch. So, so good!!!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      I didn't have any margarine so I subbed butter... love butter's taste in baked goods... I did cut back the sugar to 1/2c and used half cream and water for the liquid since I was out of milk. I used a can of dark cherries in syrup and poured of most of the liquid since so many reviewers commented on how soupy theirs turned out. This made for a great simple dessert... we loved (and fought over) the crunchy edges!!! I did find it had a slight bitter aftertaste (maybe from the baking powder) but maybe it was just me... my BF loved it... Thanks for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2008

      I was worried about the amount of liquid in the sour cherries so I dumped about half of it, still was too much liquid as this was a bit soupy. But oh my, was it delicious! What a simple recipe with a great result. Next time I will drain them more (this was a large jar, not a can) and I will use sweet cherries and not sour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      this is such a super easy dessert. It's much more like a cobbler than a pudding in my opinion, and I was raised in the south and had lots of cobblers! Even if it's not exactly the same, it hits the spot when you're craving a cobbler. I've tried this with blackberries and peaches so far, both in light syrup, and used butter instead of margerine. I think I'll always have some of this in the fridge from now on! It's perfect with vanilla ice cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2007

      B"H This was a huge hit! So easy I'm making it again, only this time with blueberries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2006

      My Family loved this recipe. It was a bit like other cobblers we have tried, but by useing the real cherries instead of pie filling, it was much more tart, just what my family loves! SUPER easy recipe and very tasty! I only had to bake it for forty minutes at 350,I used cherries in "water" and I also used butter instead of margarine. Thanks Mirj for sharing this "keeper" recipe with us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2006

      This was delicious! My mother made cobbler like this when I was little , but she never used Cherry Pie filling and thats what I used. She always made peach or apple. I love the cherry!!! Thank you Mirj!!! It was easy and Oh SO Good!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mirj's Easy Cherry Pudding

    Serving Size: 1 (52 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 120.5
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    29%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 105.8 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 12.5 g
    50%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cherries in syrup

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites