10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've made this cake twice. The second time using ice cream topping caramel which worked perfectly! The first time I used the Cajeta caramel from a can which was way too thick and globbed at the top of the cake but the cake was delicious. I took the first one for a birthday dessert at a mexican restaurant. I shared with a few servers and next thing we knew other servers were hovering our table for cake! It's a 5 star for sure and very easy to make!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xenawpgirl December 10, 2012

This cake is a true five star!! I took it to a party last summer and it was gone before the meal was served!! I'm taking it to a Cinco de Mayo party this year!!

I didn't make any changed but got the sauce at a local Mexican Grocery store.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DebbieRocker May 02, 2012

This is a fantastic recipe. I was worried about how it would come out in layers, but it did! I'm making it again for a party tomorrow night that has a Mexican theme! I'm sure it'll be a hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
racerchik March 20, 2009

This is probably my favorite cake now. It's so easy, but looks and tastes like it took a lot of work and time. For a pretty presentation, I use my zester and add long strips of orange peel to the top after it's been turned out onto the serving platter. It's the best of two worlds - cake & flan!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jackie_In_Simi September 12, 2008

After making this cake, I'm surprised that this recipe doesn't have more reviews! We love the complexity of flavors and textures. The flan is smooth and creamy with a touch of orange. The cake is moist and has a hint of lime. I used Cajeta caramel topping because it is very rich and has a distinct flavor. (Tastes like Dulce De Leche.) The cake is even better on the second day after being refrigerated overnight. Definitely a five star recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KatieNana April 30, 2008

this was awesome!!! i did forget one teensy tiny ingredient....the butter. haha...i put the cake in the oven and as soon as i closed the door i turned around and saw my little bowl of melted butter. i decided to see how it turned out and everyone loved it. next time i will remember the butter!!! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brisket in Roses October 23, 2007

we call this cake chocoflan we make it with a chocolate cake mix no orange peel. its a very good cake

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef 84 March 10, 2007

I found a recipe similar to this one in the Dallas Morning News back in May of 2004. The only difference was the addition of 1 cup of coconut to the cake batter. I make this cake often, because it is not only delicious, but also very impressive looking. It usually does not last long. It is also very simple to prepare. Enjoy!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Howe March 05, 2007

The flavor combinations on this cake are wonderful. The only problem I had was that I used canned caramel sauce which must have been too old because it was too thick to spread on the bottom of the pan. Thanks Cookiedog!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup February 05, 2007

First off, I think this is one of the most beautiful cakes that I have ever made! I love the subtle taste of the orange and lime zest in this recipe. Also, the cake itself is very moist--just how I like a cake to be. It's neat how the flan part rises up over the cake batter to make the topping. This is a very unique cake and I am glad I made it. Thanks so much, cookiedog!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Juenessa January 19, 2007
Miracle Margarita Flan Cake