23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This dish was delicious! But then, how could you possibly go wrong with steak and mushrooms?? Add frying the steaks in butter added a nice, subtle flavor. Served with garlic mashed potatoes, it'll definitely be added into our menu cycle. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alexia & Victor June 05, 2003

Very good! I used 1 can of soup as that was what I had on hand, added my sauteed mushrooms, cream and beef broth left over from a roast. Next time if I plan ahead better I will soak the steaks on buttermilk to tenderize them

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy in Kansas August 01, 2013

What a comforting Sunday dinner. I made this tonight, except after making the sauce I added the meat back into it for a few minutes. I served this with mashed potatoes and a veggie. This is a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour February 21, 2010

I've made this recipe a couple of times now. I love the simplicity of the recipe and it reminds me of my mom's cooking. The only change that I make is that I only use 1 can of soup and I add just a bit of minced garlic. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vinomama April 07, 2008

Made this and forgot to rate it. Oooops! Delicious!!! Miss ya, Amy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caroline Cooks February 21, 2008

I made this with hamburger using 2lb of hamburger, 25 Ritz crackers, 1 cup milk, 1/2 teaspoon black pepper, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1 teaspoon garlic powder, 1/2 teaspoon Italian seasoning. Shaped the patties and then followed steps 6-14.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana in KS December 06, 2007

I made this last week and forgot to rate it! I couldn't find minute steaks, but found some thin steaks, and they worked fine. I thought they were a hint-tough, but they tasted great.. I sent the leftovers home to my in-laws, and my mother in law says I am now the gravy-queen! She liked it a lot! I made this with sweet potato casserole, but wish I would have done the cream corn/mashed pot thing, as that picture above looks so good! I'll make it with those sides next time! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mmmsweets October 08, 2007

I thought this was really good. It is the first time I have tried minute steaks and these little boogers were tough. I wrote that first and then thought- "You would have said "boogers" Amy". lol Anyway, I will try it again later with meat from a different store and see what results I get then. If it is better, I will change my rating to 5 stars. Always- Missing Amy!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mommie August 31, 2007

Another great recipe for a quick homecooked meal! I put some sliced onions in with the mushrooms when I sauteed them and used 1/2 cup of 2% milk instead of evaporated milk. I served the steaks & gravy over rice. It was delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
islandgirl77551 June 29, 2007
Minute Steak and Mushroom Sauce