Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Minnesota Chicken and Wild Rice Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Minnesota Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on August 10, 2011

      This was wonderful. The only thing I might change is to eliminate the green pepper and/or exchange it for celery. Just loved the dry sherry added in the end. Definitely will keep on my soup rotation for the fall. Luckily picked up a bag of wild rice when I visited Minnesota!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2010

      I will change my rating to a 5 once I figure out what it's missing. I have had a lot of wild rice soup living in MN and this is a great soup, but the flavoring is a little....weak. Some spice is missing I think and I followed the recipe to a Tee. I will use this again once I figure out the missing ingredient for my families taste. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      Wonderful recipe! I doubled it because I happened to have enough of everything to do so--my whole family said it was delicious, and I thought so too! Thank you for posting! : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      FABULOUS RECIPE!!! This is a much requested soup at my home now, even my kids friends now request it when visiting our home and always want 2nd and 3rd helpings. I like to add celery and broccoli when I make it, I always use leftover roasted chicken to make it (light and dark meat shredded)... it turns out awesome every time!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      Outstanding recipe that I have made serverl times. Only thing I changed was I left out the green onion, bell pepper and the sherry. Even better as leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      Wife and I had your recipe for dinner last night and it was superb!! Leftovers tasted even better after night in the fridge. I added some celery that was on hand. This is a real winner for a cold, winter night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      This was great although it needed a tad of salt also to draw out the flavor...I also substitute celery for the green pepper and added mushrooms when I added the chicken...very yummy and a great hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      Yummy soup. I didn't have any green pepper, but I added celery and then also added mushrooms with the chicken. I will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      We had guests coming for the weekend so I quadrupled the recipe. I can honestly say that his was the best soup I have ever had. We will be making it again very soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      I'm not rating this soup because, you know, I must have done something wrong. The soup had a very odd undertaste. I wonder if perhaps I put in more sherry than I should have...or if I overdid one the spices by accident. ? Don't know. I think I may try it again because the recipe sounds so yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2007

      This soup was absolutely fantastic!! I did substitute the green bell pepper for a small can of green chilies and it worked great - the hubby would eat it - - and actually loved it! Next time we make this for a dinner party - it was that good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2005

    • on March 02, 2005

      Very good!! Just may add more rice next time though. Also did as ms mac suggested..Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2004

      Very good, easy to make. I re served some of the chicken broth and added the flour so it dissolved. Kept lumps from forming

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Minnesota Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (320 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 394.1
     
    Calories from Fat 167
    42%
    Total Fat 18.5 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 9.5 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 81.7 mg
    27%
    Sodium 886.9 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 26.3 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes