14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was wonderful. The only thing I might change is to eliminate the green pepper and/or exchange it for celery. Just loved the dry sherry added in the end. Definitely will keep on my soup rotation for the fall. Luckily picked up a bag of wild rice when I visited Minnesota!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 August 10, 2011

I will change my rating to a 5 once I figure out what it's missing. I have had a lot of wild rice soup living in MN and this is a great soup, but the flavoring is a little....weak. Some spice is missing I think and I followed the recipe to a Tee. I will use this again once I figure out the missing ingredient for my families taste. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Backwoods Baker December 18, 2010

Wonderful recipe! I doubled it because I happened to have enough of everything to do so--my whole family said it was delicious, and I thought so too! Thank you for posting! : )

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jewlmaker May 12, 2010

FABULOUS RECIPE!!! This is a much requested soup at my home now, even my kids friends now request it when visiting our home and always want 2nd and 3rd helpings. I like to add celery and broccoli when I make it, I always use leftover roasted chicken to make it (light and dark meat shredded)... it turns out awesome every time!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lemon Girl January 07, 2010

Outstanding recipe that I have made serverl times. Only thing I changed was I left out the green onion, bell pepper and the sherry. Even better as leftovers!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julilynn January 21, 2009

Wife and I had your recipe for dinner last night and it was superb!! Leftovers tasted even better after night in the fridge. I added some celery that was on hand. This is a real winner for a cold, winter night.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ebbtide January 08, 2009

This was great although it needed a tad of salt also to draw out the flavor...I also substitute celery for the green pepper and added mushrooms when I added the chicken...very yummy and a great hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mizz Voila October 02, 2008

Yummy soup. I didn't have any green pepper, but I added celery and then also added mushrooms with the chicken. I will make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SeriousMoms February 11, 2008

We had guests coming for the weekend so I quadrupled the recipe. I can honestly say that his was the best soup I have ever had. We will be making it again very soon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
avsfan8657 February 03, 2008

I'm not rating this soup because, you know, I must have done something wrong. The soup had a very odd undertaste. I wonder if perhaps I put in more sherry than I should have...or if I overdid one the spices by accident. ? Don't know. I think I may try it again because the recipe sounds so yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
windy_moon January 17, 2008
Minnesota Chicken and Wild Rice Soup