10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These things are awesome! I was weary about this one, but OMG I will make these again! Try them! I didn't have oat bran, so I ground 1 cup old fashioned oats and it appears to have worked out just fine. Only other change was adding a bit of black pepper.I got 8 rolls (ran out of filling, not dough - so next time I might make 1 1/2 X the filling to get a full 12) I never had a wellington, or a sausage roll, but whatever these are they 5 stars in my book!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma February 08, 2011

AMAZING! I have this cookbook, and have been DYING to try these for a while, and they turned out even better than I thought they would. Just a note: this full recipe actually makes 12 Wellingtons (at least for me it did, since my 1lb package of puff pasty had 2 sheets inside it) The flavor of the nut loaf is perfect! I used 3/4 tsp of poulty season in place of marjoram and thyme, and maybe added a couple tsp of Braggs Liquid Aminos to the mix as well.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kozmic Blues June 10, 2009

Overall very good. They could use a little more flavor, though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsKasi February 13, 2015

These were delicious! They had a great flavor and was a nice change of flavor for a vegetarian. my only complaint is the filling was a little dry. It looks like I'm the only person who thinks that so I may have messed up somewhere but I'm fairly positive that I followed the recipe. I will definitely make them but I think I may put my own twist on it so they aren't quite so dry. Outside of that, this recipe was fantastic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cmjennings1590 June 28, 2013

WOW, WOW, WOW! These little things are amazing! So delicious! I also used ground up oats in place of oatbran, which worked out fine. I have never eaten a real wellington, so I cant compare to the real deal, but these are flavourful, hold together perfectly and are very versatile. I loved the spices in these and will definitely make them again as that also is very easy and quick to do.<br/>Maybe I will try to sub some smoked tofu for part of the nuts just to see how that works.<br/>I served them with lettuce leaves and your Creamy Mustard Sauce (Vegan). Mmmm!<br/>Thank you so much for sharing this winner with us, WICC!<br/>Made and reviewed for Veggie Swap #58 May 2013.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula May 08, 2013

Who could I live without knowing that this was so easy and delicious! Thanks for sharing. We are having friends over next week and I'm preparing it in advance.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vin Cent April 14, 2013

These have become a staple at my house! We have them just about every week. By increasing the rice to 1 cup, there's just enough filling for 24 Wellingtons (2 boxes of frozen pastry dough).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tab Rhinotub January 19, 2013

These were delicious.Way better than I expected. I want to run out and feed them to my friends. The seasoning is perfect and they taste like a sausage roll. I added half a finely chopped onion sauteed in olive oil and few tbls of fresh parsley chopped finely. Only negative is the slight bitterness from the walnuts. I brushed my 8 square parcels with an egg wash and they browned up beautifully. This took a lot longer than 45mins to make and next time I might double the recipe. Served for dinner with pumpkin and potato mash and steamed greens. Thanks for posting :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
canthelpmyself December 12, 2010

These were very well received tonight. I made half a recipe ending up with 6 little wellingtons. They would be an excellent brown bag lunch or picnic lunch. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario August 18, 2010

Easy and very nice thinking about making mini ones for the lunch box, I got six good sized wellingtons from the mix

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginhead September 20, 2009
Mini Vegan Wellingtons