Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mini Vanilla Scones (Like Starbucks) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mini Vanilla Scones (Like Starbucks)

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on November 07, 2010

      These scones are fabulous. I used the whole stick of butter just because I felt sorry for the little piece that was left over. The grate butter method is Genius!!! This scone recipe produces nearly instant gratification... no refrigerating the dough, no rolling the dough, you just turn the dough out directly onto the baking sheet and shape it right on the sheet, bake for 15 minutes, glaze it warm and eat it warm. So easy and delicious that I had to write this review. I have never felt compelled to do so before. YUMMY!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      Every time I make these I get told how fabulous they are. I don't use sour cream because I'm a vegetarian. I substitute vanilla soy yogurt and increase the vanilla to 1 tbsp. They are absolutely delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2011

      These are really yummy. I added a healthier twist (if that's possible). I did 1/2 whole wheat 1/2 regular flour. Instead of sour cream I used 1/2 cup reg plain yogurt and 1/2 cup nf vanilla light yogurt. The texture is a little more grainy (from the whole wheat flour) but still tasty. I didn't want to mess with parchment paper and cutting triangles so I just divided the dough and put in a cupcake pan. Worked perfectly!! Will definitely make again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      My kids think these have five-star taste, but I had to give it four for direction. While I love the cheese grater tip for the butter, I will do a couple things differently next time... make two smaller rounds and separate the scones before baking. I also would have liked measurements for the glaze... my consistency was not quite right. Still, a yummy treat. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2013

      Though these are delicious they are not like Starbucks mini vanilla scones. Where Starbucks are dense and crumbly these are light and tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2012

      These scones came out wonderful =) My husband who doesn't care for sweets even liked them. I had made the Chocolate Raspberry Jam by JenSmith here on food.com and paired it with these fluffy vanilla scones. These aren't too sweet and you could add all kinds of spices, nuts, dried fruits, citrus zests, or chips to this recipe. I worked in a bakery for 6 years and these scones are way better than the dry, leaden ones we used to make. I will definately make these again and again. Maybe with a vanilla bean next time =) I have not tried the starbucks scones, but, if you like lighter, fluffier scones then these are perfect! Try sprinkling a little coarse sugar on top before baking for lovely, glittering scones!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2012

      These are very good scones! Although they don't taste exactly like Starbucks, they're pretty close. They are more cake-like than other scones I've tried, and require a lot less effort to make! These scones are very tender and moist, with the perfect amount of vanilla flavor. I've made these many times (sometimes substituting vanilla yogurt for the sour cream) and they always come out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

      These scones are very tasty, but mine turned out more cake-like than Starbucks, which I think are more dense. On the second batch, I let them sit in the warm scone pan for a few minutes before I put them in the oven, and those were even fluffier and rose even more! I think of the two batches, I preferred the first however. The flavor is delicious and I wasn't disappointed. I used a square mini scone pan that made 16 pre-shaped mini scones, and they were perfectly sized and popped right out of the pan. I did find that you have to press the dough into the corners, and the top isn't perfectly smooth - these don't "spread out" and fill the gaps and get a smooth top like cookie dough. I also had to cook them just a few extra minutes so they wouldn't be dough-y in the center. But they were quite lovely and everyone loved them (I served them at an afternoon tea).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2011

      I am thinking of all the time, energy, and effort those *other* scone recipes required and how equally delicious but incredibly easy this recipe is by comparison! Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2011

      Delicious! They were very moist and tender. I accidentially used bread flour instead of all purpose flour and still had good results. This was the second time I have made them, definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2011

      This recipe is delicious and so quick and easy. I have made it several times and it is always a hit. I just need to keep sour cream in my fridge and then I can whip them up any time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2011

      I've made these scones over and over and everyone loves them including kids. I make them llke a shortcake and just spoon them out on a cookie sheet. They are sooooo good!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2011

      YUMMY!!!! My kids love the mini vanilla scones from Starbucks so I searched for a recipe that I could make. I tried this recipe and was pleasantly surprised! Absolutely delicious! My family loved them and I did too! Will make again and again! Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2011

      Yummy!!! It tasted more like cake, moist and fluffy. I'm used to dry scones. I baked mine in a scone pan, 20 minutes and came out perfect. Kids loved them, will bake these again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2010

      Pretty good scone recipe. Might reduce the vanilla by half and add fruit or chocolate chips. I used a mini scone pan and actually had enough dough for nine, perhaps ten, scones though I only made eight. Some were a bit think when I bake them. Definitely will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      These were good, just not like Starbucks. Starbucks have that dry denser consistency, where these are lighter and fluffier. Good though, just not like Starbucks. After they came out of the oven, I too had to separate and bake a little longer, but that was fine and easy to do, and I too used milk and vanilla in the glaze instead of water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      This is an easy and great tasting recipe! However, the glaze is plain and blah. I used milk and vanilla in place of the water, and a little grated vanilla bean.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      Great recipe! The kids loved them and they were easy to make. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      Yum! These aren't exactly like the Starbucks ones, but I think they are even better!! (I now actually wonder if the Starbucks ones are a little stale and that is why they have that certain dry consistency?) Anyway, I tried this recipe a couple times after reading some of the reviews, cake flour is a bad idea (too soft & cakey), and a little more vanilla is a good idea (I used 3 tsp, but will probably do even more next time). Would love to try vanilla beans, I think that would be a great addition. Thanks for the recipe, it is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      YUMMY. I used whole milk plain yogurt instead of sour cream. I don't think I've had Starbuck's version, but I can't imagine them being that much better! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mini Vanilla Scones (Like Starbucks)

    Serving Size: 1 (870 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 189.6
     
    Calories from Fat 61
    32%
    Total Fat 6.8 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 28.5 mg
    9%
    Sodium 170.5 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.0 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 17.8 g
    71%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites