32 Reviews

These scones are fabulous. I used the whole stick of butter just because I felt sorry for the little piece that was left over. The grate butter method is Genius!!! This scone recipe produces nearly instant gratification... no refrigerating the dough, no rolling the dough, you just turn the dough out directly onto the baking sheet and shape it right on the sheet, bake for 15 minutes, glaze it warm and eat it warm. So easy and delicious that I had to write this review. I have never felt compelled to do so before. YUMMY!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
arce1104_12167132 November 07, 2010

Every time I make these I get told how fabulous they are. I don't use sour cream because I'm a vegetarian. I substitute vanilla soy yogurt and increase the vanilla to 1 tbsp. They are absolutely delicious!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wahoo7691 May 30, 2010

These are really yummy. I added a healthier twist (if that's possible). I did 1/2 whole wheat 1/2 regular flour. Instead of sour cream I used 1/2 cup reg plain yogurt and 1/2 cup nf vanilla light yogurt. The texture is a little more grainy (from the whole wheat flour) but still tasty. I didn't want to mess with parchment paper and cutting triangles so I just divided the dough and put in a cupcake pan. Worked perfectly!! Will definitely make again

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rnfirewife January 04, 2011

Though these are delicious they are not like Starbucks mini vanilla scones. Where Starbucks are dense and crumbly these are light and tender.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
peches4_505734 January 24, 2013

These scones are very tasty, but mine turned out more cake-like than Starbucks, which I think are more dense. On the second batch, I let them sit in the warm scone pan for a few minutes before I put them in the oven, and those were even fluffier and rose even more! I think of the two batches, I preferred the first however. The flavor is delicious and I wasn't disappointed. I used a square mini scone pan that made 16 pre-shaped mini scones, and they were perfectly sized and popped right out of the pan. I did find that you have to press the dough into the corners, and the top isn't perfectly smooth - these don't "spread out" and fill the gaps and get a smooth top like cookie dough. I also had to cook them just a few extra minutes so they wouldn't be dough-y in the center. But they were quite lovely and everyone loved them (I served them at an afternoon tea).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LianneGr January 24, 2012

My kids think these have five-star taste, but I had to give it four for direction. While I love the cheese grater tip for the butter, I will do a couple things differently next time... make two smaller rounds and separate the scones before baking. I also would have liked measurements for the glaze... my consistency was not quite right. Still, a yummy treat. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jocelyn Villalon April 07, 2010

These were good, just not like Starbucks. Starbucks have that dry denser consistency, where these are lighter and fluffier. Good though, just not like Starbucks. After they came out of the oven, I too had to separate and bake a little longer, but that was fine and easy to do, and I too used milk and vanilla in the glaze instead of water.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lbandbuggy February 11, 2010

This is an easy and great tasting recipe! However, the glaze is plain and blah. I used milk and vanilla in place of the water, and a little grated vanilla bean.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pungkin January 08, 2010

Yum! These aren't exactly like the Starbucks ones, but I think they are even better!! (I now actually wonder if the Starbucks ones are a little stale and that is why they have that certain dry consistency?) Anyway, I tried this recipe a couple times after reading some of the reviews, cake flour is a bad idea (too soft & cakey), and a little more vanilla is a good idea (I used 3 tsp, but will probably do even more next time). Would love to try vanilla beans, I think that would be a great addition. Thanks for the recipe, it is definitely a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrea Dawn November 03, 2009

YUM! YUM! YUM! You just saved me 2.25 every morning. I live in the South where we change all scone recipes to use shortening (6tbs) and that made the texture just perfect. I also added a touch of molasses that made it extra yummy. My 3 year old told me to make these every day for the rest of his life.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Baker September 30, 2008
Mini Vanilla Scones (Like Starbucks)