125 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I am giving this 5 stars for the concept and the taste. I did these for a fun diner tonight but did 'play' with them a bit. I only had half the meat I needed and I didn't have any salsa in the house. So, I chopped up half an onion and half a red pepper and did them in with the beef and taco mixture. I did pre-bake the wontons for a couple minutes and then to stretch out the beef mixture and to give me peace of mind that the mixture wouldn't make the base too soggy I spooned a bit of re-fried beans straight from the can into the bottom of the cups. I them put the beef on top of that and then the cheese. That worked out great and the bottoms didn't feel soggy at all.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah_Jayne December 28, 2008

Big hit with my guests! I did wind up with an extra twelve - but that's better than ok! I followed the suggestions and pre-baked the won tons and also sprayed them with non-stick spray - inside the cup and the unfilled won ton. I made them up early in the day and then finished them in the oven when my guests arrived. Also, I just put the ground beef and cheese and baked them - people topped them with salsa as they ate them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DebS #2 December 26, 2008

These are simply delicious. I served them for a ladies night catering job and they were a big hit. Served with some sour cream and the ladies were fighting over them. Thanks. I could see using different ingredients to change them up some next time. A little green onion on top make for a nice garnish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
watermelonman November 24, 2008

I came across this recipe and realized I'd made it a few years ago and didn't post a review, and it is definitely worthy of one! These were great! I did bake the wontons in the mini muffin pan for a few minutes before filling. I liked them crisped up. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. Mother Earth November 19, 2008

Served at my monthly dinner party club last night and these are fantastic. Thank you so much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef *Glo November 09, 2008

Made these yesterday. I had no trouble getting the wontons in muffin tins. Just kinda brought the four corners together,stuck them in the tins and then opened them back up.I too, baked mine for a few minutes before I put the filling in. What a great little appetizer(or lunch for kids)My DS(9) ate about 10 of them!! I will definitely make again!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Z,G,L's mom October 26, 2008

Tasted like tacos. Next time gonna try to deep fry to get the wonton wrappers more crunchy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gooshbaby October 18, 2008

These were ok. They were a lot of work for what you get. I'm giving it 4 stars because my BF wolfed them down and kept raving about them. It's a very clever idea. We will most likely use the idea for other fillings.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Herb-Cat October 09, 2008

These were great and went over well with guests. Ours never got really crispy on the bottom, but they were tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meltedcountry September 08, 2008

I used WonTon skins and didn't have to cut but have also used egg roll wrappers. I precook the shells, as suggested, and make sure corners don't fold into tin (they like to flop in). I prefer the taco meat from #55575 (less messy and salty). Thanks for a successful party appetizer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roswell Recipe Reader August 04, 2008
Mini Tacos