11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yum! This was quick, easy, and super yummy. It's hard to please everyone... This is an everyone pleaser, kids, the husband, friends... And me. I used johnsonville hot sausage and added some crushed red pepper. Made it spicy, we like it spicy in this house. If you like it that way then I recommend adding those ;) it was awesome

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julk_1212 August 18, 2013

These are really good and not hard to make. Made as written and got 16 calzones using two 1lb loaves of bread dough, though some were a little smaller than others (I didn't cut the dough very evenly) which worked out well so my little boys can eat a whole one. Made for PRMR April 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH April 06, 2010

So yummy, easy and not messy to make. I didn't have frozen bread dough but did have a package of crescent rolls. So I rolled out half of them to make a giant square on my pizza stone, filled with the filling, sealed and baked at 350 for 15 minutes. The filling tasted great with the crescent roll and I bet would taste equally great with bread dough. Tomorrow for breakfast same mix, another batch of crescent dough and some scrambled egg - sounds divine. Thanks for a great recipe we will use again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ceezie November 17, 2009

I must've done something wrong because when I folded the dough over, it split open. I'm guessing I made the dough too thin. So in the end I served the sauce with pasta and used the dough to make some bread rolls! The sauce was delicious though. I'll have to try making these again with thicker dough.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitzy August 06, 2009

My family loved these! I made my own dough BUT I was on the phone with clients while I measured everything out and messed it all up. I don't even know what I was putting in there! Let's just say it was one screw up after another but lucky me:), I managed to salvage the dough and make these yummy little cuties. I knew they were going to be good because the delicious aromas coming from the oven filled the whole house. I was so glad they turned out ok! Aside from my dough fiasco, which had nothing to do with your great recipe, these were sooo easy to make! I will definitely be making them again. My little girl says 15 stars and DH really liked them- he ate 6 of them! Thanks for sharing this easy recipe! Made for PRMR game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Realtor by day, Chef by night May 01, 2009

I made up a whole lot of these and froze them to have later, but of course I had to try one, and it was delicious! I look forward to raiding my freezer soon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MichelliBelli January 29, 2009

I used Eating Well's Whole Wheat Pizza Dough for the crust, and we were good to go. These turned out great and we loved the last bite as much as the first! The kids can't wait to have them again, and neither can DH.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustMeMelMel September 25, 2008

I've made these a couple of times now at 1/2 recipe using 1 batch of Pizza dough for thin crust, recipe 70165. I used Kezza's Chunky Pizza Sauce recipe 123299, so I omitted the garlic, basil and oregano since this pizza sauce is loaded with them already. These are super for a lunch or dinner on the go, and are satisfying. thanks for the great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fynnie May 30, 2008

I made the calzones for dinner my family loved them yes even the kids they take time to make as i also made the dough in a bread maker. i love to cook new and different thins. always looking for new recipes. i give this one thumbs up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GinLoves2cook March 04, 2008
Mini Sausage Calzones (Oamc)