49 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Used pre-made meatballs and the sauce. No one really raved or commented on them. My husband really did not like them at all. I thought they were just "OK". I used the chili sauce and lemon juice. I most likely will not fix these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angie2B December 27, 2007

I personally do not eat red meat, but I made these with frozen meatballs from Costco and got RAVE reviews at the Christmas Eve Party I took them to. First- I zapped the meatballs in the microwave for about 8 mins. rotating in between.. Then I made the sauce- if you click on the 1 1/2 cup chili sauce it will tell you how to make it from scratch if you don't have it on hand (which is what I did), I did add a tsp. of Sriracha, and a tbsp. or so of minced garlic. Popped the meatballs along with the sauce in the crockpot for about 2 hours and man did it smell good!!! I scooped up the sauce and poured it over my rice and it was REALLY YUMMY!!! I am usually one to hate cranberry sauce, but the whole berry sauce was by far the best I have EVER had, and I will be buying it from now on.. Thanks for a KEEPER, Mirj...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Jen December 27, 2007

I made this for my Christmas party and it was a big hit. I felt that the sauce in this recipe was a little too ketchupy so I put an extra can of cranberry sauce into the mix (so I had 1 can of whole cranberry and 1 can of cranberry jelly) I also put in just a touch of kosher salt and sugar. The result was outstanding with a very nice balance of tangy and sweet. What left over sauce we had at the party was quickly consumed by dipping challah bread into it. I would recommend making the meatballs ahead of time and freezing them. It just makes things easier if you are preparing for a party.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TyrusG December 27, 2007

Very yummy!! I used Schwan's frozen italian meatballs and threw it all together in the crockpot for 4 hours on high and we were good to go!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Phoenix Food Queen December 26, 2007

Very flavorful. I wasn't sure I would like the meat with the cranberries but it was good. I made the meatballs smaller, froze them and then took them out, defrosted and added them to the sauce to simmer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WeBees November 26, 2007

sauce was great I made it with frozen meatballs,,, and everyone LOVED it!!!! it was very easy to make. thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jamiej November 18, 2007

I nabbed just the sauce recipe on this one because I wanted something to pour over Little Smokies, those obnoxious little sausages my son likes. However, I cannot wait to try the recipe over the meatballs. I think that will also be very well received.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MollyJ September 03, 2007

Mirj, I made this over the holidays and waited this long to submit my review! This was a wonderful recipe, fun for everyone to nibble on throughout the day as it was made in a crockpot. Thanks so much for a yummy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blue Peacock February 10, 2007

I'm not sure how to give these a star rating. The recipe sounded very appealing to me and it was so highly rated that I was really expecting to enjoy them. The meatballs themselves were very easy to throw together and I loved baking them instead of having to stand around the stove browning them. I did substitute dried herbs instead of fresh, but otherwise didn't change anything. I used the chili sauce rather than the ketchup, and the lemon juice rather than the citric acid, and used the whole berry cranberry sauce. Unfortunately, I really didn't care for the sauce. The chili sauce flavor overwhelmed everything else. My daughter, on the other hand, couldn't get enough of them, and my son, who never tries or likes anything new, found them appealing enough to try a bite and actually swallow it. For him that is high praise--LOL. Dh thought they were OK. With such mixed opinions, I'm choosing to just give comments without a star rating.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
helowy January 09, 2007

This is a new favorite at Christmas-time. Thank you! I doubled the sauce, and made the meatballs in the pan so they were crispy. Also didn't have parsley but it didn't matter. Big hit!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KarenWith2LittleGirls December 24, 2006
Mini-Meatballs in Cranberry Sauce